Ohio Public Radio http://wcbe.org en Report Tackles Native-American Mascots http://wcbe.org/post/report-tackles-native-american-mascots <p>A report by a progressive-leaning research institute in Washington says all schools and professional teams around the country should retire any sports mascots that adversely affect the well-being of Native Americans. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:39:55 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 60176 at http://wcbe.org Report Tackles Native-American Mascots Troubled Charter School Chain Subject Of Federal, State Probes http://wcbe.org/post/troubled-charter-school-chain-subject-federal-state-probes <p>Ohio Department of Education officials say they have forwarded allegations of sexual misconduct, test tampering and other possible criminal misdeeds at a Dayton charter school to Montgomery County Children Services and Dayton police. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:22:49 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 59727 at http://wcbe.org Troubled Charter School Chain Subject Of Federal, State Probes State Sets Record Returning Unclaimed Funds http://wcbe.org/post/state-sets-record-returning-unclaimed-funds <p>Ohio Department of Commerce spokesperson Brian Hoyt says a record amount of unclaimed funds were returned to residents in the last fiscal year. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 11:32:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 59570 at http://wcbe.org State Sets Record Returning Unclaimed Funds Ohio Veterans Urged To Take Advantage Of Bonus http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-veterans-urged-take-advantage-bonus <p>In 2009, Ohio voters approved a ballot measure that provides bonuses for Ohioans who have served in the U.S. Military since 9/11.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 12:16:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58994 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Veterans Urged To Take Advantage Of Bonus New Funding Model Starts For Community Colleges http://wcbe.org/post/new-funding-model-starts-community-colleges <p>The way community colleges in Ohio earn the money they receive from the state has changed.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:47:42 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Andy Chow 58774 at http://wcbe.org Prosecutors Announce Largest Federal Murder Indictment In Ohio History http://wcbe.org/post/prosecutors-announce-largest-federal-murder-indictment-ohio-history <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">17 alleged members of the Short North Posse are accused of 12 unsolved murders and 23 attempted murders in six central Ohio cities since 2005.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:20:05 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58769 at http://wcbe.org Nursing Home Owner Indicted On Fraud, Corruption Charges http://wcbe.org/post/nursing-home-owner-indicted-fraud-corruption-charges <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">The owner of a Zanesville nursing home faces dozens of criminal charges after an investigation revealed allegations of corrupt activity and fraud.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 27 Jun 2014 22:40:14 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58562 at http://wcbe.org Agriculture Department Begins Spraying For Gypsy Moths http://wcbe.org/post/agriculture-department-begins-spraying-gypsy-moths <p>Some Central Ohio residents were scared by low flying planes this morning. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 02:58:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58289 at http://wcbe.org Agriculture Department Begins Spraying For Gypsy Moths Bill Would Protect Doctors From Laws They Think Could Be Bad For Patients http://wcbe.org/post/bill-would-protect-doctors-laws-they-think-could-be-bad-patients <p>Recent laws prescribe things that Ohio doctors must say or do when dealing with patients, especially in cases where abortions are being performed. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:49:12 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58241 at http://wcbe.org Governor Signs Human Trafficking Bill http://wcbe.org/post/governor-signs-human-trafficking-bill <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">Ohio Governor John Kasich signed a bill into law earlier today that increases penalties for people who are convicted of purchasing sex from minors.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:35:15 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58163 at http://wcbe.org Governor Signs Human Trafficking Bill Toledo’s Last Abortion Clinic Moves A Step Closer To Closure http://wcbe.org/post/toledo-s-last-abortion-clinic-moves-step-closer-closure <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The last abortion clinic in Toledo could be shut down by the state soon.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:38:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57958 at http://wcbe.org Toledo’s Last Abortion Clinic Moves A Step Closer To Closure Former President Clinton Speaks To Ohio Democrats http://wcbe.org/post/former-president-clinton-speaks-ohio-democrats <p style="margin-bottom: 1.5em; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 13px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; vertical-align: baseline; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">An estimated 25 hundred Ohio Democratis gathered in Columbus over the weekend for the party's fundraising dinner. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 13:35:37 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57814 at http://wcbe.org Cleveland Clinic’s Cosgrove Withdraws Name From Running For Top VA Position http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-clinic-s-cosgrove-withdraws-name-running-top-va-position <p style="border-bottom: 0px; border-left: 0px; padding-bottom: 0px; line-height: 19.2px; padding-left: 0px; padding-right: 0px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; margin-bottom: 1.5em; font-size: 13px; vertical-align: baseline; border-top: 0px; border-right: 0px; padding-top: 0px">After days of national speculation about whether the Cleveland Clinic's Toby Cosgrove would take the top position at the embattled U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, he announced over the weekend that he's withdrawing his name from consideration.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:44:32 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57405 at http://wcbe.org Epidemic Of Knee Injuries In Young Female Athletes http://wcbe.org/post/epidemic-knee-injuries-young-female-athletes <p>Girls are up to 10 times more likely than boys to suffer knee injuries in sports like soccer and basketball. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:39:43 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57403 at http://wcbe.org Bill Would Ban Requirement That Servers Pool Their Tips http://wcbe.org/post/bill-would-ban-requirement-servers-pool-their-tips <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">Restaurants have been changing the rules on how much their workers are paid. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:29:19 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57318 at http://wcbe.org Healthcare Colleague Endorses Cosgrove To Head VA http://wcbe.org/post/healthcare-colleague-endorses-cosgrove-head-va <p>Acting Veterans Affairs Secretary Sloan Gibson will be looking for answers when he visits the troubled V-A hospital in Phoenix, which has been at the heart of allegations of delayed treatment and even fatalities there. President Obama last week elevated Gibson to the post while the White House searches for a permanent replacement.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:46:42 +0000 Mike Foley, Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 57254 at http://wcbe.org Husted Challenges GOP Lawmakers To Get Moving On Redistricting, Online Voter Registration http://wcbe.org/post/husted-challenges-gop-lawmakers-get-moving-redistricting-online-voter-registration <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted is challenging his fellow Republicans in the Legislature for inaction on several fronts – including redistricting and on-line voter registration.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:35:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & M.L. Schultze 57252 at http://wcbe.org Women’s Bus Tour Rolls Through The Buckeye State http://wcbe.org/post/women-s-bus-tour-rolls-through-buckeye-state <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">Some US Congresswomen are rolling through Ohio on a bus tour through the Midwest, talking about the challenges women face in the workplace.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 15:13:41 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 57194 at http://wcbe.org Women’s Bus Tour Rolls Through The Buckeye State Mandel And Renacci Are Expected To Play Big Roles In The Trial Of An Ohio Businessman http://wcbe.org/post/mandel-and-renacci-are-expected-play-big-roles-trial-ohio-businessman <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">The trial of the Northeast Ohio businessman accused of funneling hundreds of thousands of dollars into the political campaigns of Ohio Treasurer Josh Mandel and Congressman Jim Renacci gets underway today.</span></p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 13:47:12 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & M.L. Schultze 57061 at http://wcbe.org House Committee Passes Energy Bill http://wcbe.org/post/house-committee-passes-energy-bill <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">A controversial energy bill takes another step after legislators passed it out of a House committee.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 28 May 2014 13:39:04 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 56800 at http://wcbe.org