Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) http://wcbe.org en New Website Compiles 150 Years Of Ohio Elections Data http://wcbe.org/post/new-website-compiles-150-years-ohio-elections-data <p>There’s plenty of data on Ohio elections, but it’s often not organized beyond contest, candidate and year. But now there’s a website that’s taken 150 years of Ohio election results to make that data more understandable, more useful, and to some, even more fascinating than it already is.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 13:32:30 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 57058 at http://wcbe.org Critic Says Issue 1 Includes A Tax Increase, But Budget Director Says That’s Not True http://wcbe.org/post/critic-says-issue-1-includes-tax-increase-budget-director-says-s-not-true <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The&nbsp;only issue on Tuesday’s statewide ballot has no organized opposition.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">But </span><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">the bond issue to raise money for local infrastructure construction and repair projects does have a few critics in the Tea Party.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 05 May 2014 16:43:01 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 55482 at http://wcbe.org May Primaries Could Still Happen http://wcbe.org/post/may-primaries-could-still-happen <p>Candidates hoping to appear on the May ballot&nbsp; need to file the paperwork by February 5. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 23:36:52 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 49728 at http://wcbe.org Commission Could Offer Redistricting Plan http://wcbe.org/post/commission-could-offer-redistricting-plan <p>The panel of lawmakers and private citizens that will be asked to recommend changes to Ohio’s Constitution is looking at the way the lines for legislative districts are drawn. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 14:36:58 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 46681 at http://wcbe.org Case Could Have Implications For Snowbirds http://wcbe.org/post/case-could-have-implications-snowbirds <p>As the weather gets colder, there are more than a few Ohioans who are right now planning their annual extended stays in Florida or other warm climates. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 17:51:51 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 46281 at http://wcbe.org Federal Court To Weigh Ohio's Execution Drug Cocktail http://wcbe.org/post/federal-court-weigh-ohios-execution-drug-cocktail In Ohio on Friday, a hearing in federal court could decide whether that state will become the first to use a particular cocktail of deadly drugs to execute an inmate. It's the latest chapter in what's become a troubled history of capital punishment in that state.<p>While Texas is far and away the busiest state in the nation for executions, Ohio is just seven spots behind it. It has carried out 52 executions since 1999 and three so far this year, with another one scheduled in two weeks. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 20:50:00 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 45742 at http://wcbe.org Federal Court To Weigh Ohio's Execution Drug Cocktail Tea Partiers Preview 2014 Elections At Convention http://wcbe.org/post/tea-partiers-preview-2014-elections-convention <p>Tea Party activists are being told they have a lot of opportunity in next year&rsquo;s elections, as they continue to oppose Republicans on several issues. Mon, 30 Sep 2013 14:59:49 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 44002 at http://wcbe.org Last Of The Early Voters In Ohio Make A Scene http://wcbe.org/post/last-early-voters-ohio-make-scene For thousands of voters in Ohio, Election Day is going to be a day of rest — because they worked hard to vote on Sunday.<p>Thousands stood in long lines at voting sites in northeast Ohio, in southwest Ohio and in central Ohio. But the Franklin County Early Voting Center may have had the most carnival-like atmosphere.<p>It was set up along a six-lane thoroughfare near an interstate in an old department store. The idea was to create easy access with lots of free parking. But that wasn't the case on Sunday. Mon, 05 Nov 2012 23:07:00 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 25407 at http://wcbe.org Last Of The Early Voters In Ohio Make A Scene Some Ohio Transportation Officials Still Not Sold On Leasing Turnpike http://wcbe.org/post/some-ohio-transportation-officials-still-not-sold-leasing-turnpike <P>The Ohio Department of Transportation trucked in a speaker from next door in Indiana, to talk about how Indiana’s lease of its turnpike is paying off for that state. Wed, 31 Oct 2012 16:54:54 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 25140 at http://wcbe.org Update On School Data Tampering Investigation http://wcbe.org/post/update-school-data-tampering-investigation <P>The state auditor says he’s finished a second round of an investigation into whether more Ohio schools are altering attendance data, possibly to improve their appearance on state report cards. Wed, 24 Oct 2012 16:33:52 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 24754 at http://wcbe.org There's A Reason They Call It A Battleground State http://wcbe.org/post/theres-reason-they-call-it-battleground-state Ohio has been a key swing state in the last three presidential races. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 18:45:00 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 24704 at http://wcbe.org There's A Reason They Call It A Battleground State Ohio Senate Race Gets Nasty Amid Flood Of Ads And Cash http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-senate-race-gets-nasty-amid-flood-ads-and-cash <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4h0fCsr0NEw</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0SGsDB0Hfc</p> Thu, 20 Sep 2012 16:04:00 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 23009 at http://wcbe.org