Bill Chappell http://wcbe.org en Kurdish Leaders Boycott Iraqi Government Meetings http://wcbe.org/post/kurdish-leaders-boycott-iraqi-government-meetings A dispute between Iraq's Shiite-led central government and the semi-autonomous Kurdish region is boiling over, as Kurdish ministers withdrew from all cabinet meetings. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 12:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59208 at http://wcbe.org Kurdish Leaders Boycott Iraqi Government Meetings Hackers In China Reportedly Targeted U.S. Federal Workers http://wcbe.org/post/hackers-china-reportedly-targeted-us-federal-workers Chinese hackers successfully accessed U.S. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:26:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59205 at http://wcbe.org What Happens When Israeli Mourners Visit A Palestinian Family http://wcbe.org/post/what-happens-when-israeli-mourners-visit-palestinian-family The family of slain Palestinian teenager <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/06/329156809/israel-arrests-6-in-teens-death-holds-victims-u-s-cousin">Mohammed Abu Khdeir</a> received condolences from an unlikely source Tuesday: Israelis who had asked to come and mourn with them.<p>The scene was predictably awkward, even painfully so. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:17:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59156 at http://wcbe.org What Happens When Israeli Mourners Visit A Palestinian Family Flop Life: What If We All Acted Like We Were In The World Cup? http://wcbe.org/post/flop-life-what-if-we-all-acted-we-were-world-cup <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvsuYssoTw0</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 16:04:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59153 at http://wcbe.org Flop Life: What If We All Acted Like We Were In The World Cup? As Deadline Nears, Snowden Seeks To Extend His Stay In Russia http://wcbe.org/post/deadline-nears-snowden-seeks-extend-his-stay-russia Edward Snowden remains a fugitive from U.S. authorities over leaking secret documents about its surveillance programs. Now he's asking Russia to extend the one-year term of asylum the country granted the former NSA contract worker last summer.<p>Snowden's asylum, which was granted last August, is set to expire at the end of this month. His lawyer, Anatoly Kucherena, says they've filed papers for an extension.<p>"We have gone through the course of receiving temporary asylum. On July 31, this term ends. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 15:43:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59147 at http://wcbe.org 5,000 Years Old: Ancient Yew Tree Identified In Wales http://wcbe.org/post/5000-years-old-ancient-yew-tree-identified-wales It might be the oldest tree in Britain. A yew tree that sprawls over a churchyard in Wales is more than 5,000 years old, according to experts. While it's not exceptionally tall, the tree has a wide canopy. And it dates back to the era of Egypt's pharaohs.<strong> </strong><p>From NPR's London bureau, Rich Preston reports:<p><blockquote><p>"The 60-foot-wide yew tree sits in the grounds of St Cynog's churchyard near Swansea in Wales. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:53:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59146 at http://wcbe.org Defending Tour De France Champ Froome Quits Race http://wcbe.org/post/defending-tour-de-france-champ-froome-quits-race Chris Froome, who raced to the top of the podium in Paris last July, is out of this year's Tour de France after falling in treacherous conditions on today's stage of the bicycle race.<p>Today's stage had been predicted to be harrowing, owing to the course's inclusion of cobblestones. But Froome went down twice before the race even reached that point, leaving his riding kit torn on both thighs and one shoulder, where a bloody wound could be seen.<p>It was the second bad day for Froome, who also fell Tuesday. That crash left him with an injured wrist. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:14:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59142 at http://wcbe.org Defending Tour De France Champ Froome Quits Race Brazil Reels From Thrashing That Bounced It From World Cup http://wcbe.org/post/brazil-reels-thrashing-bounced-it-world-cup "The worst game I saw in my life" is how one Brazilian fan describes it. Another says it's simply a tragedy. Some angry fans burned Brazil's flag in the street.<p>To say Brazil's <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/08/329898310/not-a-misprint-germany-leads-brazil-5-0-at-halftime">7-1 loss to Germany</a> stunned the host country would risk giving the impression that its fans aren't feeling intense pain after this loss. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 13:19:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59138 at http://wcbe.org Brazil Reels From Thrashing That Bounced It From World Cup Israel Continues Gaza Offensive, Hints At Ground Operation http://wcbe.org/post/israel-strikes-gaza-hamas-rockets-show-increased-range <strong><em>Update at 2:42 p.m. ET</em></strong><p>Israeli leaders are signaling that a ground invasion might be imminent as the offensive on Gaza intensifies, killing at least 53 people and wounding 465 others.<p>The toll comes from the Palestinian Authority's Health Ministry.<p>Reporter Daniel Estrin tells NPR's Newscast unit that Israel's military struck at least 200 Hamas targets on the second day of its offensive on the Gaza Strip. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59135 at http://wcbe.org Israel Continues Gaza Offensive, Hints At Ground Operation Police Use Dog To Find Memory And Hard Drives In Search http://wcbe.org/post/police-use-dog-find-memory-hard-drives-search Police in Rhode Island have a secret weapon to fight child pornography: a 2-year-old Labrador named Thoreau, who's been trained to sniff out computer hard drives. The dog is credited with finding a thumb drive that was hidden deep inside a metal cabinet last month.<p>Thoreau was trained by the Connecticut State Police, <a href="http://www.providencejournal.com/breaking-news/content/20140705-new-methods-to-combat-growth-of-internet-child-porn-in-rhode-island.ece">the Providence Journal</a> reports. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 16:47:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59084 at http://wcbe.org Police Use Dog To Find Memory And Hard Drives In Search Senator Asks U.S. To Investigate Possible Cuban Plot Against Him http://wcbe.org/post/senator-asks-us-investigate-possible-cuban-plot-against-him Did fake accusations that Sen. Robert Menendez had visited underage prostitutes come from Cuba's intelligence agency? Tue, 08 Jul 2014 16:26:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59080 at http://wcbe.org Senator Asks U.S. To Investigate Possible Cuban Plot Against Him Roller Coaster Stops Rolling, Traps Riders High In The Air http://wcbe.org/post/rollercoaster-stops-rolling-traps-riders-high-air <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCB_ysHfOdE</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 14:10:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59068 at http://wcbe.org U.N. Urges U.S. To Treat Migrants As Refugees http://wcbe.org/post/un-urges-us-treat-migrants-refugees People who enter the U.S. and nearby countries illegally from El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras should not be forced to return home and should be treated as refugees, a U.N. agency says. The U.N. High Commissioner for Refugees says people from those countries are subject to persecution.<p>From Geneva, Lisa Schlein reports for our Newscast unit:<p><blockquote><p>"The United States isn't the only country being flooded by migrants from Central America. U.N. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:59:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59069 at http://wcbe.org U.N. Urges U.S. To Treat Migrants As Refugees Ukraine And Militants Continue A Standoff In Donetsk http://wcbe.org/post/ukraine-and-militants-continue-stand-donetsk Coming off of two victories this weekend, Ukraine is calling for pro-Russian separatists to lay down their arms in Donetsk before taking part in peace talks. Rebels in the city are reportedly preparing to resist Ukraine's forces.<p>Plans for talks about a cease-fire are now in limbo, as President Petro Poroshenko and the militants also disagree on the location. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 13:07:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59065 at http://wcbe.org Ukraine And Militants Continue A Standoff In Donetsk Powerful Typhoon Whips Japan's Okinawa Islands http://wcbe.org/post/powerful-typhoon-whips-japans-okinawa-islands Bringing winds that gust higher than 100 mph, Typhoon Neoguri is bearing down on the Okinawa island chain in southern Japan. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:50:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59059 at http://wcbe.org Powerful Typhoon Whips Japan's Okinawa Islands Israel Expands Attacks On Gaza As Rockets Target Israeli Cities http://wcbe.org/post/israel-expands-attacks-hamas-gaza <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Hmmdz-RI6A</p> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:01:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59050 at http://wcbe.org Israel Expands Attacks On Gaza As Rockets Target Israeli Cities Meeting Abuse Victims, Pope Francis Begs Forgiveness http://wcbe.org/post/meeting-abuse-victims-pope-francis-begs-forgiveness Pope Francis spent parts of Sunday and Monday meeting with six people who had been sexually abused by priests, speaking with them about the lingering effects of their experiences and asking for their forgiveness.<p>The sessions brought the first official meetings with abuse survivors for Francis; his predecessor, Pope Benedict, met with the victims on several occasions.<p>From Rome, NPR's Sylvia Poggioli reports:<p><blockquote><p>"Pope Francis met three women and three men, two each from Britain, Germany and Ireland. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 17:30:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59009 at http://wcbe.org Will You Ride The World's Tallest Water Slide? http://wcbe.org/post/will-you-ride-worlds-tallest-water-slide <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NG-uY2wze2Y</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6o2kGw0GbA0</p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 16:17:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59007 at http://wcbe.org Will You Ride The World's Tallest Water Slide? Dozens Of Women Reportedly Escape Nigeria's Boko Haram http://wcbe.org/post/dozens-women-escape-boko-haram-hundreds-still-held More than 60 women and girls who had been abducted by Nigerian extremist group Boko Haram have reportedly escaped to freedom, after their captors left for a raid. More than 200 schoolgirls abducted in April remain missing.<p>Nigerian officials say 68 women were abducted two weeks ago in the country's northeast. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 13:23:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 59000 at http://wcbe.org TSA Tightens Rules For Devices At Overseas Airports http://wcbe.org/post/tsa-tightens-rules-devices-overseas-airports <strong><em>Update at 4:54 p.m. ET</em></strong><p>People flying to the U.S. on international flights may want to keep their cellphones charged: Under a new policy, these and other devices might not be allowed on the plane if they can't power up.<p>The Transportation Security Administration says its new guideline is aimed at certain airports that have direct flights to the U.S. Officials at those overseas facilities should require passengers to turn on electronic devices before they're allowed to board, the TSA says.<p>The agency didn't specify which airports it's concerned about. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 12:25:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 58997 at http://wcbe.org TSA Tightens Rules For Devices At Overseas Airports