Mike Foley http://wcbe.org en The Independents' Day Festival Special http://wcbe.org/post/independents-day-festival-special <p>From WCBE's&nbsp;July 4th&nbsp;programming lineup, here's the special on the Independents' Day Festival. The three-hour show includes music performances from last year's festival, some recent Live From Studio A sessions, comments from some of the vendors that participate, some reflection on the festival's growth from one of the founders and a preview of this year's edition in Franklinton. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 14:55:14 +0000 Mike Foley 59144 at http://wcbe.org The Independents' Day Festival Special Ohio Firefighter Critical After Lightning Strike http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-firefighter-critical-after-lightning-strike <p>Authorities say a Columbus firefighter remained in critical condition two days after being struck by lightning outside Crew stadium.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 16:49:19 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58639 at http://wcbe.org Chief Of Staff To Stivers Resigns http://wcbe.org/post/chief-staff-stivers-resigns <p>The chief of staff for Republican Congressman Steve Stivers of Columbus has resigned, citing poor judgment in his personal life after a graphic photo of him appeared online.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:38:18 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58381 at http://wcbe.org Chief Of Staff To Stivers Resigns Clean Air Act Plea In Ohio Air Conditioner Thefts http://wcbe.org/post/clean-air-act-plea-ohio-air-conditioner-thefts <p>A Columbus man has pleaded guilty to violating the Clean Air Act by releasing a refrigerant into the air during the theft of dozens of air conditioning units.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 25 Jun 2014 13:35:36 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58380 at http://wcbe.org Nominations Sought For Ohio Veterans Hall Of Fame http://wcbe.org/post/nominations-sought-ohio-veterans-hall-fame <div>Officials with the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame say time is running out to nominate veterans for the hall's 2014 class.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:54:43 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 58250 at http://wcbe.org Rose Back For A Day To Manage Minor League Squad http://wcbe.org/post/rose-back-day-manage-minor-league-squad <p>Pete Rose returns to manage a baseball team, but just for one game. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 16:34:33 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 57824 at http://wcbe.org Rose Back For A Day To Manage Minor League Squad Cancelled: Missing Adult Alert For Springfield Man http://wcbe.org/post/cancelled-missing-adult-alert-springfield-man <div>Update: 6/16/2014 2pm Mr. Titus was found safe, and the alert has been&nbsp;cancelled.&nbsp;</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Ohio officials have expanded a regional Endangered Missing Adult Alert statewide.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 16 Jun 2014 15:16:06 +0000 Mike Foley 57818 at http://wcbe.org Cancelled: Missing Adult Alert For Springfield Man Remembering Payne Stewart http://wcbe.org/post/remembering-payne-stewart <p>It's hard for golf fans, even casual ones, to not think about Payne Stewart as the US Open returns to Pinehurst this week.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 14:37:11 +0000 Mike Foley 57418 at http://wcbe.org Remembering Payne Stewart OSU, YSU, BGSU Get Bomb Dogs In Pilot Program http://wcbe.org/post/osu-ysu-bgsu-get-bomb-dogs-pilot-program <p>Three universities are receiving bomb-sniffing dogs through a pilot program Ohio officials eventually hope to expand throughout the state's universities.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:29:08 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 57402 at http://wcbe.org Portman To Tour Columbus VA Hospital, Speak At CMC http://wcbe.org/post/portman-tour-columbus-va-hospital-speak-cmc <p>U.S. Senator Rob Portman of Ohio plans to tour a Veterans Affairs clinic in Columbus this morning and meet with area veterans.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:24:25 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 57317 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Zoo Ends Plans For Downtown Campus http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-zoo-ends-plans-downtown-campus <p>Franklin County voters won't be asked again to pay for a downtown expansion of the Columbus Zoo. &nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 14:17:06 +0000 Mike Foley 57256 at http://wcbe.org Healthcare Colleague Endorses Cosgrove To Head VA http://wcbe.org/post/healthcare-colleague-endorses-cosgrove-head-va <p>Acting Veterans Affairs Secretary Sloan Gibson will be looking for answers when he visits the troubled V-A hospital in Phoenix, which has been at the heart of allegations of delayed treatment and even fatalities there. President Obama last week elevated Gibson to the post while the White House searches for a permanent replacement.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:46:42 +0000 Mike Foley, Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 57254 at http://wcbe.org OSU Medical Facility Planned For Upper Arlington http://wcbe.org/post/osu-medical-facility-planned-upper-arlington <p>Ohio State University plans to bring a medical center to Upper Arlington. &nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 16:35:22 +0000 Mike Foley 57130 at http://wcbe.org OSU Medical Facility Planned For Upper Arlington Central Ohio Mumps Outbreak Tops 400 http://wcbe.org/post/central-ohio-mumps-outbreak-tops-400 <p>Public health officials say a mumps outbreak in central Ohio has reached 404 cases across three counties. Columbus health officials updated the running total of cases, with 220 of those linked to Ohio State University.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 14:24:32 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 57126 at http://wcbe.org Water Safety Urged After 3 Toddlers Drown http://wcbe.org/post/water-safety-urged-after-3-toddlers-drown <div>Central Ohio Authorities are urging extra vigilance for parents and care providers of small children after the accidental drownings of toddlers in three separate incidents over the weekend.&nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 03 Jun 2014 14:22:05 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 57125 at http://wcbe.org College Student's Death A Suspected Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/college-students-death-suspected-suicide <p>Police say a body found in a vacant building is that of a University of Cincinnati student who had been missing for more than a week. Wed, 28 May 2014 13:30:59 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 56798 at http://wcbe.org Bucyrus Mayor Dies After Council Meeting http://wcbe.org/post/bucyrus-mayor-dies-after-council-meeting <p>Bucyrus officials say the mayor of the northern Ohio town died shortly after attending a city council meeting last night.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 14:26:46 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 56387 at http://wcbe.org Bucyrus Mayor Dies After Council Meeting Ohio Inducts 12 More Into Senior Citizens Hall http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-inducts-12-more-senior-citizens-hall <div>Ohio officials have honored 12 people with inductions into the state Senior Citizens Hall of Fame.</div><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 14:12:15 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 56385 at http://wcbe.org Ohio's Bar On College-Athlete Unions Moves Forward http://wcbe.org/post/ohios-bar-college-athlete-unions-moves-forward <p>An Ohio Senate committee has approved legislation saying college athletes are not employees under state law.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 14:07:28 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 56383 at http://wcbe.org Officials: 1.8M Pounds Of Ground Beef Recalled http://wcbe.org/post/officials-18m-pounds-ground-beef-recalled <div>Officials say a Detroit-based business is recalling about 1.8 million pounds of ground beef products sold for restaurant use in four states that may be contaminated with the bacteria E. coli.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></div><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 14:33:09 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 56242 at http://wcbe.org