Alison Holm http://wcbe.org en CCS 3rd-Graders Re-Take Reading Test; District Tries To Round Up More http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-3rd-graders-re-take-reading-test-district-tries-round-more <p><span lang="EN">641 Columbus City Schools third-graders got another crack at the reading portion of the state assessment test today. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 23:17:07 +0000 Alison Holm 59117 at http://wcbe.org CCS 3rd-Graders Re-Take Reading Test; District Tries To Round Up More CCS Officials Go Door-To-Door To Get Third-Graders In Summer School http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-officials-go-door-door-get-third-graders-summer-school <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools employees and an army of volunteers are literally going door-to-door this week in what is being called&nbsp;a "Summer School Blitz", designed to get students who haven't passed the third grade reading assessment back into class.&nbsp; Wed, 25 Jun 2014 00:01:12 +0000 Alison Holm 58358 at http://wcbe.org CCS Officials Go Door-To-Door To Get Third-Graders In Summer School Blue Jackets Trade Umberger For Flyers' Scott Hartnell http://wcbe.org/post/blue-jackets-trade-umberger-flyers-scott-hartnell <p><span lang="EN">The Columbus Blue Jackets have acquired left wing Scott Hartnell from the Philadelphia Flyers in exchange for former Flyer R.J.&nbsp; Umberger and a fourth-round pick in the 2015 draft. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 02:31:23 +0000 Alison Holm 58287 at http://wcbe.org Blue Jackets Trade Umberger For Flyers' Scott Hartnell 74% Of CCS Third-Graders Pass Reading Test Needed For Promotion http://wcbe.org/post/74-ccs-third-graders-pass-reading-test-needed-promotion <p><font size="3">The Columbus City Schools' focus on getting third graders reading at grade level is paying off - but the promotion of some students is still in question. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 02:06:47 +0000 Alison Holm 57875 at http://wcbe.org 74% Of CCS Third-Graders Pass Reading Test Needed For Promotion Preview Of This Weekend's Columbus Arts Festival http://wcbe.org/post/preview-weekends-columbus-arts-festival <p>The Columbus Arts Festival opens today, bringing more than 400 artists, performers and demonstrators - as well as an estimated 400-thousand visitors to the banks of the Scioto in downtown Columbus. &nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 13:37:32 +0000 Alison Holm 57319 at http://wcbe.org Preview Of This Weekend's Columbus Arts Festival Proposed Bill Would Require World History High School Course http://wcbe.org/post/proposed-bill-would-require-world-history-high-school-course <p><span lang="EN">High school students in Ohio would have to take a world history and civilizations class before graduating under a bill passed by the state Senate. Thu, 15 May 2014 00:33:36 +0000 Alison Holm 56012 at http://wcbe.org CCS Approves $22.7 Million In Budget Cuts, Adds New Summer Programs http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-approves-227-million-budget-cuts-adds-new-summer-programs <p><font size="3">The Columbus City Schools board last night approved a new round of cuts intended to close a 50 million dollar gap, and discussed plans for new summer school programs. Alison Holm has more. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:30:00 +0000 Alison Holm 55578 at http://wcbe.org CCS Approves $22.7 Million In Budget Cuts, Adds New Summer Programs 3 Central Ohio Schools Part Of Federal Sexual Abuse Investigation http://wcbe.org/post/3-central-ohio-schools-part-federal-sexual-abuse-investigation <p><span lang="EN">Ohio State, Denison and Wittenberg Universities are on the list of 55 schools in the U.S. under investigation for their handling of sexual abuse complaints, according to a federal Education Department report released today. Thu, 01 May 2014 23:58:40 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 55332 at http://wcbe.org 3 Central Ohio Schools Part Of Federal Sexual Abuse Investigation Columbus City Schools Receive Financial Update http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-city-schools-receive-financial-update <p>An update on the 5-year financial forecast shows the Columbus City Schools sitting a little more comfortably than originally projected last fall. &nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 Apr 2014 16:24:23 +0000 Alison Holm 54813 at http://wcbe.org Two Reportedly Injured In Southeast Columbus Shooting http://wcbe.org/post/two-reportedly-injured-southeast-columbus-shooting <p>Columbus police are reporting that two people were shot this afternoon in the area of Liberty Elementary and Independence High School in southeast Columbus. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 20:55:45 +0000 Alison Holm 54140 at http://wcbe.org Mumps Cases Confirmed In Twelve Ohio Counties http://wcbe.org/post/mumps-cases-confirmed-twelve-ohio-counties <p><span lang="EN">The number of cases of mumps in Central Ohio has risen to 111, with 89 linked to Ohio State University. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:46:18 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 53567 at http://wcbe.org Health Officials Encourages Vaccinations As Mumps Cases Rises To 63 http://wcbe.org/post/health-officials-encourages-vaccinations-mumps-cases-rises-63 <p><span lang="EN">The number of cases in the outbreak of mumps that first surfaced in the OSU area has risen to 63 across Franklin County. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 02:31:19 +0000 Alison Holm 53220 at http://wcbe.org Health Officials Encourages Vaccinations As Mumps Cases Rises To 63 CCS Board Votes To Terminate 3 More Principals In Data Scrubbing Scandal http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-board-votes-terminate-3-more-principals-data-scrubbing-scandal <p>The Columbus City Schools board voted unanimously last night to cut three principals involved in the districts data-scrubbing scandal, despite last minute appeals from its constituents. Alison Holm reports. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 08:58:00 +0000 Alison Holm 52893 at http://wcbe.org CCS Board Votes To Terminate 3 More Principals In Data Scrubbing Scandal 16 Mumps Cases Confirmed At Ohio State; Number Could Climb http://wcbe.org/post/16-mumps-cases-confirmed-ohio-state-number-could-climb <p><span lang="EN">16 cases of the mumps have been confirmed in an outbreak at Ohio State University, but officials say that number could climb. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:46:31 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52428 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Shuts Down Drilling Site After Early Morning Earthquakes http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-shuts-down-drilling-site-after-early-morning-earthquakes <p><span lang="EN">State regulators ordered a gas drilling company to halt operations today after four minor earthquakes shook an area 20 miles south east of Youngstown. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:10:46 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52427 at http://wcbe.org Board Votes On School Closures http://wcbe.org/post/board-votes-school-closures <p>The Columbus City Schools board voted unanimously last night to close four schools and relocate a fifth.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 15:06:09 +0000 Alison Holm 52148 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Signs Bill Banning E-Cigarette Sales To Minors http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-signs-bill-banning-e-cigarette-sales-minors <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Governor John Kasich has signed a bill that aims to keep electronic cigarettes out of the hands of those under age 18. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 21:24:40 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52117 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Investigations Reintroducing Sturgeon To Lake Erie http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-investigations-reintroducing-sturgeon-lake-erie <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Natural Resources is looking into whether it can reintroduce breeding populations of sturgeon to Lake Erie. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 01:15:08 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52061 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Investigations Reintroducing Sturgeon To Lake Erie Independence HS, Siebert ES Pulled From School Closure Recommendations http://wcbe.org/post/independence-hs-siebert-es-pulled-school-closure-recommendations <p><span lang="EN">The Columbus City School Board is scheduled to vote on a raft of school closures at tomorrow's board meeting, but it looks like Independence High School and Siebert Elementary School may get a reprieve. Mon, 03 Mar 2014 22:50:46 +0000 Alison Holm 52055 at http://wcbe.org Independence HS, Siebert ES Pulled From School Closure Recommendations Industry Report Says Ohio Has Lowest Auto Insurance In The Nation http://wcbe.org/post/industry-report-says-ohio-has-lowest-auto-insurance-nation <p><span lang="EN">Ohio has the lowest car insurance rates in the country, according to a industry report released today, despite a dramatic increase last year. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 01:33:51 +0000 Alison Holm 51844 at http://wcbe.org