Jim Letizia http://wcbe.org en Hamilton County Group Calls Sales Tax Proposal Burdensome http://wcbe.org/post/hamilton-county-group-calls-sales-tax-proposal-burdensome <p><span lang="EN">A Cincinnati anti-tax group is calling a proposed county sales tax to fund Music Hall and Union Terminal renovations a major burden on the community. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:09:34 +0000 Jim Letizia 59314 at http://wcbe.org Hamilton County Group Calls Sales Tax Proposal Burdensome Ohio Company Wins Rights To Shipwreck's Gold http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-company-wins-rights-shipwrecks-gold <p><span lang="EN">A fugitive treasure hunter's company has lost its fight to stop deep-sea explorers from bringing up gold and other artifacts from a ship that sank off the South Carolina coast in 1857. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 15:05:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59313 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Company Wins Rights To Shipwreck's Gold Ex Chauncey Police Chief Charged In Drug Ring http://wcbe.org/post/ex-chauncey-police-chief-charged-drug-ring <p><span lang="EN">Athens County prosecutors say former Chauncey Police Chief Charles Wachenschwanz has been indicted on seven counts, including racketeering, drug and weapons charges. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 14:59:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 59312 at http://wcbe.org Ex Chauncey Police Chief Charged In Drug Ring OSU Gridiron Legend Stillwagon Suing Delaware For False Arrest http://wcbe.org/post/osu-gridiron-legend-stillwagon-suing-delaware-false-arrest <p><span lang="EN">Former Ohio State football player Jim Stillwagon has filed a federal lawsuit against the City of Delaware and the police officer who arrested him for an alleged road-rage shooting in 2012. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:31:48 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59302 at http://wcbe.org OSU Gridiron Legend Stillwagon Suing Delaware For False Arrest Suspect Killed, Probation Officer Wounded At Columbus Condominium http://wcbe.org/post/suspect-killed-probation-officer-wounded-columbus-condominium <p><span lang="EN">A Franklin County probation officer was shot and wounded on Columbus' South side Thursday morning, and Columbus police say the suspected shooter was killed. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:24:11 +0000 Jim Letizia 59301 at http://wcbe.org Anchor Hocking To Recall Some Laid-Off Workers In Lancaster http://wcbe.org/post/anchor-hocking-recall-some-laid-workers-lancaster <p><span lang="EN">Glass maker Anchor Hocking says its Lancaster plant will resume production next week following a spill of molten glass earlier this week. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:13:01 +0000 Jim Letizia 59300 at http://wcbe.org Anchor Hocking To Recall Some Laid-Off Workers In Lancaster More Food-Related Problems Found At Local Prison http://wcbe.org/post/more-food-related-problems-found-local-prison <p><span lang="EN">State prisons department inspectors say they found gnats and ants this week in the kitchen of the Ohio Reformatory for Women in Marysville. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:03:45 +0000 Jim Letizia 59296 at http://wcbe.org More Food-Related Problems Found At Local Prison New CCS Treasurer To Be Named Next Week http://wcbe.org/post/new-ccs-treasurer-be-named-next-week <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools officials say they will name former Worthington City Schools treasurer Stan Bahorek as the district's new treasurer next week. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:56:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 59295 at http://wcbe.org New CCS Treasurer To Be Named Next Week Researchers Near Breakthrough Fighting Drug-Resistant Bacteria http://wcbe.org/post/researchers-near-breakthrough-fighting-drug-resistant-bacteria <p><span lang="EN">Researchers at Ohio State and Harvard Universities say they are on the cusp of a breakthrough in fighting E. coli and other drug-resistant bacteria. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:52:54 +0000 Jim Letizia 59294 at http://wcbe.org Researchers Near Breakthrough Fighting Drug-Resistant Bacteria Ohio Soldier Killed In Traffic Accident http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-soldier-killed-traffic-accident <p><span lang="EN">Funeral services are scheduled&nbsp;today for a U.S. Marine from Ohio who was killed in a crash while on leave. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:46:12 +0000 Jim Letizia 59293 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Soldier Killed In Traffic Accident Man Charged With Raping Teen In Columbus Recreation Center http://wcbe.org/post/man-charged-raping-teen-columbus-recreation-center <p><span lang="EN">Columbus police say they have charged a man with sexually assaulting a girl at a&nbsp;municipal recreation center. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:42:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 59292 at http://wcbe.org Man Charged With Raping Teen In Columbus Recreation Center Columbus Boy Dies In Backyard Pool Accident http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-boy-dies-backyard-pool-accident <p><span lang="EN">Columbus Police say a 2-year-old boy died after he was pulled from a swimming pool last night at his home on the Southwest side. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:32:56 +0000 Jim Letizia 59291 at http://wcbe.org State Seeks Dismissal Of Lawsuit Prompted By Botched Execution http://wcbe.org/post/state-seeks-dismissal-lawsuit-prompted-botched-execution <p><span lang="EN">The state is asking a federal judge to dismiss a lawsuit filed by the family of Dennis McGuire, who repeatedly gasped and snorted during his January execution. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:29:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59289 at http://wcbe.org State Seeks Dismissal Of Lawsuit Prompted By Botched Execution CCS Treasurer Search Down To Two Candidates http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-treasurer-search-down-two-candidates <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools officials have chosen two finalists from a pool of 17 people who applied to become the district's treasurer. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:51:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 59232 at http://wcbe.org CCS Treasurer Search Down To Two Candidates Tanker Truck Overturns In Fairfield County http://wcbe.org/post/tanker-truck-overturns-fairfield-county <p><span lang="EN">Fairfield County Sheriff's deputies say the driver of a tanker truck was injured this morning when his vehicle overturned near the intersection of state Route 188 and Royalton Road in Hocking Township. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:46:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 59231 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Investigators Seek Additional Victims Of Alleged Rapist http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-investigators-seek-additional-victims-alleged-rapist <p><span lang="EN">Columbus police are seeking more victims of an accused serial rapist. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:32:48 +0000 Jim Letizia 59204 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Investigators Seek Additional Victims Of Alleged Rapist OU Opens College In Dublin http://wcbe.org/post/ou-opens-college-dublin <p><span lang="EN">Ohio University opened a college of osteopathic medicine yesterday in Dublin with a class of 50 future primary-care doctors. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:28:45 +0000 Jim Letizia 59203 at http://wcbe.org OU Opens College In Dublin Columbus Zoo Delays Levy Request http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-zoo-delays-levy-request <p><span lang="EN">There will not be a Columbus Zoo levy on the November ballot. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:24:26 +0000 Jim Letizia 59202 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Zoo Delays Levy Request Fairfield County Man Charged In Fundraising Scam http://wcbe.org/post/fairfield-county-man-charged-fundraising-scam <p><span lang="EN">At least nine Fairfield County businesses and residents are out hundreds of dollars through a fundraising scam. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:18:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 59201 at http://wcbe.org Fairfield County Man Charged In Fundraising Scam Former Cleveland Indian Veryzer Passes Away http://wcbe.org/post/former-cleveland-indian-veryzer-passes-away <p><span lang="EN">Former Cleveland Indians infielder TomVeryzer died this week at the age of 61. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:15:05 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59200 at http://wcbe.org Former Cleveland Indian Veryzer Passes Away