Morning Edition http://wcbe.org en 'How To Survive The Bulls' Co-Author Gets Gored http://wcbe.org/post/how-survive-bulls-co-author-gets-gored On Wednesday, Bill Hillmann, one of the authors of Fiesta: How to Survive the Bulls of Pamplona, was reportedly gored in the leg. His injuries were not life threatening. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:29:00 +0000 editor 59304 at http://wcbe.org New York City Considers Licensing Costumed Peformers http://wcbe.org/post/new-york-city-considers-licensing-costumed-peformers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. New York City is considering a crackdown on Superman. Lawmakers say too many people dress like the man of steel or like Batman. Superheroes or "Sesame Street" characters offer to pose for pictures tourists in Times Square - problem is, many then demand money from the tourists, and in one case, Elmo launched into an anti-Semitic tirade - not good. The proposal under consideration would require costume performers to be licensed. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:07:00 +0000 editor 59298 at http://wcbe.org Gaza Residents Deal With Fourth Night Of Israeli Air Strikes http://wcbe.org/post/gaza-residents-deal-fourth-night-israeli-air-strikes Steve Inskeep talks to Palestinian-American business consultant and political commentator Sami Abdel-Shafi about living in Gaza while under attack from Israel. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:02:00 +0000 editor 59299 at http://wcbe.org Germany Asks Top CIA Spy In Country To Leave http://wcbe.org/post/germany-asks-top-cia-spy-country-leave The move comes after German investigators discovered a second citizen suspected of spying for the U.S. Renee Montagne talks to James Bamford, who writes about U.N. intelligence agencies and the NSA. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 59286 at http://wcbe.org NSA Implementing Fix To Prevent Snowden-Like Security Breach http://wcbe.org/post/nsa-implementing-fix-prevent-snowden-security-breach A year after Edward Snowden's digital heist, the NSA's chief technology officer says steps have been taken to stop future incidents. But he says there's no way for the NSA to be entirely secure. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 59287 at http://wcbe.org Ukrainian Army Takes Back Areas From Pro-Russian Separatists http://wcbe.org/post/ukrainian-army-takes-back-many-areas-pro-russian-separatists Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Just weeks ago, it looked like Russia might extend its control of the Ukrainian region of Crimea to other areas of Ukraine. But now the Ukrainian Army has pushed out pro-Russian separatists from most of the cities and towns the rebels had seized. And the Kremlin, once so vocal, has gone quiet.<p>For a look at the turnaround, we reached Professor Stephen Sestanovich. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 59288 at http://wcbe.org Hottest Burger In Britain Burns 2 Journalists http://wcbe.org/post/last-word-business-252 Two journalists from a newspaper in Brighton, England, went to the hospital after sampling the Hot Chili Burger. The heat is in the sauce, which is rated about 3,000 times hotter than Tabasco sauce. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 editor 59290 at http://wcbe.org HBO Scores Big In Emmy Nominations http://wcbe.org/post/hbo-scores-big-emmy-nominations David Greene talks to TV Guide magazine executive editor Michael Schneider about Thursday's announcement of the 66th Emmy Award nominations. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 15:39:00 +0000 editor 59235 at http://wcbe.org Fake Edward Snowden Joins Tinder http://wcbe.org/post/fake-edward-snowden-joins-tinder The popular dating app Tinder has a new user: Edward Snowden. Actually, just the username Lonely Ed with the profile picture of the NSA leaker looking for love from Moscow. It was the brainchild of <a href="http://vimeo.com/rosscohen" target="_blank">Ross Cohen</a>, a writer and director in Los Angeles. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 59207 at http://wcbe.org Duke Bourbon Raises Challenge From University http://wcbe.org/post/duke-bourbon-raises-challenge-university Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Good morning. I'm Steve Inskeep. Selling American whiskey is all about marketing. You can buy bottles with scenes of prohibition or that evoke the old West, and you may someday see a bottle featuring the image of John Wayne. The actor was known as the duke, and his heirs wants to call their product Duke Bourbon. The only problem is an objection from Duke University - no relation. The school has raised a legal challenge, contending the whiskey would tarnish the Duke name. It's MORNING EDITION. Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:47:00 +0000 editor 59206 at http://wcbe.org 'Breaking Bad' Expected To Get Emmy Nod For Final Season http://wcbe.org/post/breaking-bad-expected-get-emmy-nod-final-season Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>In Hollywood this morning we find out who the nominees are for this year's Emmys. MORNING EDITION's David Greene talked to Kim Masters, editor-at-large at The Hollywood Reporter, about who in television might get that age-old honor of just being nominated.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Kim, welcome back to the program. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:08:00 +0000 editor 59197 at http://wcbe.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide http://wcbe.org/post/chinas-booming-real-estate-market-finally-begins-slide After years of stunning growth, China's go-go real estate market is now in retreat.<p>Prices fell last month in 79 out of 100 cities, according to the China Real Estate Index run by SouFun Holdings, a real estate website. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Frank Langfitt 59192 at http://wcbe.org China's Booming Real Estate Market Finally Begins To Slide University Of Michigan Plant Is Definitely A Late Bloomer http://wcbe.org/post/university-michigan-plant-definitely-late-bloomer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And let's go from still life to real life. A plant that may be the ultimate late bloomer. An 80-year-old plant at the University of Michigan is blossoming for the first time.<p>MIKE PALMER: This plant is an American agave that was brought back from an expedition in 1934 from Mexico.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>That's Mike Palmer, of the Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum.<p>PALMER: It kind of looks like an octopus with variegated foliages and they've asked me for years, when is it going to bloom? Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 59189 at http://wcbe.org FBI, NSA Spied On American Muslims, Report Says http://wcbe.org/post/fbi-nsa-spied-american-muslims-report-says Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. It's been more than a year since Edward Snowden fled the country with top-secret, digital documents from the National Security Agency, and revelations about what he took keep coming. The latest appeared yesterday, in the online publication The Intercept. Its headline is, "Meet The Muslim-American Leaders The FBI And NSA Have Been Spying On," and it was co-written by Glenn Greenwald. Five prominent Muslim citizens are profiled. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 David Welna 59190 at http://wcbe.org Detroit Shuts Off Water As It Tries To Collect Millions Owed http://wcbe.org/post/detroit-shuts-water-it-tries-collect-millions-overdue-bills Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>Let's follow up now on the water war in Detroit. So far this year, the water utility has shut off the spigots to 17,000 customers. It wants people to do pay their overdue bills. Many residents are upset with how the city is doing this and ask if some are getting special treatment. Here's Sarah Cwiek of Michigan Radio.<p>SARAH CWIEK, BYLINE: People are going thirsty in Detroit, a city with more direct access to fresh clean water than virtually any place in the world. That irony shows up in numerous ways. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 59191 at http://wcbe.org Rejoice! Chocodiles Are Back http://wcbe.org/post/last-word-business-251 Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And our last word in business today is Chocodile.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The Chocodile is part of an American comeback story. Hostess, the snack food company that makes the legendary yellow spongy Twinkie, was saved from bankruptcy last year.<p>MONTAGNE: In June, the company got a new CEO, and this week, it announced the return of the Chocodile.<p>INSKEEP: For years the chocolate covered Twinkies were only available in a few markets, prompting a black market of Chocodiles at crazy markups. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 editor 59198 at http://wcbe.org J.K. Rowling Posts New Harry Potter Short Story http://wcbe.org/post/jk-rowling-posts-new-harry-potter-short-story Harry Potter is attending the Quidditch World Cup with his family, as well as Ron and Hermione. He is in his 30s, with "a couple of threads of silver" in his hair and a mysterious cut on his cheek. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:58:00 +0000 editor 59133 at http://wcbe.org iPhone From Oklahoma Ends Up In Grain Shipment To Japan http://wcbe.org/post/iphone-oklahoma-ends-grain-shipment-japan A Japanese worker found the phone and tracked down the American owner. Farmer Kevin Whitney recovered the phone, which had pictures of his daughter's wedding on it. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 10:50:00 +0000 editor 59134 at http://wcbe.org Afghan Civilians Suffer During Violent Year http://wcbe.org/post/afghan-civilians-suffer-during-violent-year There is renewed fighting in Kandahar as the outcome of the Afghan presidential election remains uncertain. And a new U.N. report says civilian casualties are up significantly from a year ago. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 59129 at http://wcbe.org Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://wcbe.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 59130 at http://wcbe.org