Absentee Ballots http://wcbe.org en Gubernatorial Candidate Critical Of New Elections Rules http://wcbe.org/post/gubernatorial-candidate-critical-new-elections-rules <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">Democratic gubernatorial candidate and Cuayhoga County executive Ed FitzGerald is criticizing a pair of new elections rules, saying they infringe on voting rights. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 00:49:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51910 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Governor Signs 2 Contentious Election Bills http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-governor-signs-2-contentious-election-bills <div>Republican Gov. John Kasich&nbsp;has signed into law two election-related bills heavily criticized by Democrats.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:52:50 +0000 Associated Press 51570 at http://wcbe.org State Democratic Party Chair Predicts Lawsuit Over Absentee-Ballot Legislation http://wcbe.org/post/state-democratic-party-chair-predicts-lawsuit-over-absentee-ballot-legislation <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Democratic Party chair and&nbsp;State Representative Chris Redfern&nbsp;says he expects the organization to file a federal lawsuit over an absentee-ballot measure passed by the Republican-controlled Legislature. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:02:40 +0000 Associated Press 51487 at http://wcbe.org House Approves Bill Restricting Voter Access To The Polls http://wcbe.org/post/house-approves-bill-restricting-voter-access-polls <p>The Ohio House has approved proposals to trim early voting hours and set rules for mailing unsolicited absentee ballot applications. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 15:28:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51442 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Senate Approves Absentee Ballot Bill http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-senate-approves-absentee-ballot-bill <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Senate has approved a bill restricting who may send unsolicited absentee ballot applications to voters and for what election years. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 11:57:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 46073 at http://wcbe.org Debate Over How To Handle Absentee Ballots Continues http://wcbe.org/post/debate-over-how-handle-absentee-ballots-continues <p>Last year, all Ohio voters got absentee voter applications – whether they requested them or not – as a way to settle a fight over whether counties could send out those forms unsolicited. Mon, 21 Oct 2013 22:40:42 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 45135 at http://wcbe.org Absentee Ballot Analysis http://wcbe.org/post/absentee-ballot-analysis <P>An analysis of absentee ballot requests by a University of Dayton history professor shows a significant shift in Republican enthusiasm since 2008. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 13:52:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 24437 at http://wcbe.org Early And Absentee Voting Numbers http://wcbe.org/post/early-and-absentee-voting-numbers <P>More than a million of Ohio's nearly 8 million registered voters have taken steps to cast a ballot. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 13:50:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 24436 at http://wcbe.org