Ohio Department of Education http://wcbe.org en Kasich Standing By Ross Amid Dayton Charter School Problems http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-standing-ross-amid-dayton-charter-school-problems <p>Republican Ohio Governor John Kasich is standing by the head of the state education department in the wake of the controversy surrounding a Dayton charter school. Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:05:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 60124 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Standing By Ross Amid Dayton Charter School Problems Appeals Court Issues Stay Of Judge's Order In VLT Academy Case http://wcbe.org/post/appeals-court-issues-stay-judges-order-vlt-academy-case <p>An appeals court has put on hold a judge's order that the Ohio Department of Education sponsor a downtown Cincinnati charter school to keep it operating. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:05:01 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59915 at http://wcbe.org Appeals Court Issues Stay Of Judge's Order In VLT Academy Case Troubled Charter School Chain Subject Of Federal, State Probes http://wcbe.org/post/troubled-charter-school-chain-subject-federal-state-probes <p>Ohio Department of Education officials say they have forwarded allegations of sexual misconduct, test tampering and other possible criminal misdeeds at a Dayton charter school to Montgomery County Children Services and Dayton police. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:22:49 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 59727 at http://wcbe.org Troubled Charter School Chain Subject Of Federal, State Probes Officials Encourage Greater Participation In Summer Meal Program http://wcbe.org/post/officials-encourage-greater-participation-summer-meal-program <p>Federal and state officials are trying to get more low-income children to participate in free or reduced-price meal programs this summer. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:47:59 +0000 Jim Letizia 59660 at http://wcbe.org Officials Encourage Greater Participation In Summer Meal Program Judge Orders State To Sponsor Charter School Facing Closure http://wcbe.org/post/judge-orders-state-sponsor-charter-school-facing-closure <p>A Hamilton County judge has ordered the Ohio Department of Education to sponsor a charter school in order to keep it operating. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 10:47:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59559 at http://wcbe.org Judge Orders State To Sponsor Charter School Facing Closure State School Board Hears Allegations Of Sex Abuse, Test Tampering At Charter School http://wcbe.org/post/state-school-board-hears-allegations-sex-abuse-test-tampering-charter-school <div>State school board members in Ohio say they are shocked at accounts of sex games, test tampering and other potentially criminal misdeeds at a Dayton charter school, and they pledge to investigate.&nbsp;</div><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 22:57:21 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 59541 at http://wcbe.org State School Board Hears Allegations Of Sex Abuse, Test Tampering At Charter School State Wants Five Dozen CCS Employees To Give Up Their Licenses http://wcbe.org/post/state-wants-five-dozen-ccs-employees-give-their-licenses <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Education is giving 60 principals, assistant principals and other Columbus City Schools administrators a chance to give up their teaching licenses voluntarily or face a costly process to have them revoked. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:18:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 58447 at http://wcbe.org State Wants Five Dozen CCS Employees To Give Up Their Licenses Ohio Panel Picks Finalists For 34 Education Grants http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-panel-picks-finalists-34-education-grants <div>A state panel has selected more than 100 schools and educational entities as finalists for grants from an innovation fund established by Gov. John Kasich.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 14:30:39 +0000 Associated Press 58239 at http://wcbe.org State Report Cards Being Recalculated For Districts Involved In Data Scrubbing http://wcbe.org/post/state-report-cards-being-recalculated-districts-involved-data-scrubbing <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Education says report cards for the Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus and Toledo districts for the 2011-12 school year will be recalculated. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 23:53:32 +0000 Associated Press 57230 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Department of Education “Hit List” Claim http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-department-education-hit-list-claim <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">A month ago, questions were raised about an alleged list of people at the Ohio Department of Natural Resources who were supposed to be treated as enemies.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:42:53 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 53299 at http://wcbe.org New Third Grade Literacy Testing Coming Soon http://wcbe.org/post/new-third-grade-literacy-testing-coming-soon <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Education says third-graders will have three new ways to show they read well enough to move on to the fourth grade. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 10:53:13 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52578 at http://wcbe.org Governor And Legislators Call For More Calamity Days This Year http://wcbe.org/post/governor-and-legislators-call-more-calamity-days-year <p>Governor Kasich is calling on Ohio lawmakers to give the state’s schools extra snow days this year. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 03:34:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 50164 at http://wcbe.org ODE Begins Issuing Reports On Data Scrubbing Investigations http://wcbe.org/post/ode-begins-issuing-reports-data-scrubbing-investigations <p><span lang="EN">Ohio education officials have confirmed seven of eight school districts identified by the state auditor improperly reported attendance data or engaged in other questionable practices. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 22:51:16 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 49486 at http://wcbe.org Third Grade Reading Test Results Released http://wcbe.org/post/third-grade-reading-test-results-released <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Department of Education says today 26 percent of third-graders scored below a new literacy target on reading tests taken in the fall. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 17:31:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48040 at http://wcbe.org Panel Picks Finalists For Education Grants http://wcbe.org/post/panel-picks-finalists-education-grants <p>A state panel has selected more than 150 schools and educational entities in Ohio as finalists for grants from a new innovation fund established by Gov. John Kasich. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 23:26:53 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 47691 at http://wcbe.org Think Tank Says Report Shows Costs Of Educating Poor Students http://wcbe.org/post/think-tank-says-report-shows-costs-educating-poor-students <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">An education-funding think tank is releasing new district comparisons it says more accurately reflect the costs of educating poor students. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 17:36:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 46773 at http://wcbe.org Why State School Reports Aren’t So Helpful to Parents http://wcbe.org/post/why-state-school-reports-aren-t-so-helpful-parents <p>Ohio collects data about school performance, most of it based on standardized tests. Wed, 02 Oct 2013 18:25:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 44169 at http://wcbe.org AP Test Scores Rising In Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/ap-test-scores-rising-ohio <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Department of Education says 9 percent more high school students scored a three or better on advanced-placement exams for college credit last year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 23:41:19 +0000 Jim Letizia 43865 at http://wcbe.org Feds: Ohio Must Provide Autism Treatment http://wcbe.org/post/feds-ohio-must-provide-autism-treatment <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. Department of Education is telling state education officials an intensive treatment for autism must be made available to any child who is considered a good candidate. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 16:39:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43088 at http://wcbe.org State's Report Cards For Schools Have New Look http://wcbe.org/post/states-report-cards-schools-have-new-look <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Department of Education says its website has been overwhelmed with visitors seeking access to new school district report cards since their release on Thursday. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 01:47:46 +0000 Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 41807 at http://wcbe.org