Sherrod Brown http://wcbe.org en February Foreclosure Activity Declines http://wcbe.org/post/february-foreclosure-activity-declines <p>Foreclosure activity in Ohio fell in February by 6 percent as compared with the previous month. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 11:27:43 +0000 Jim Letizia 52656 at http://wcbe.org Federal Lawmakers From Ohio Express Concern Over Syria http://wcbe.org/post/federal-lawmakers-ohio-express-concern-over-syria <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Congress will decide whether to approve President Obama's request to use military force in Syria when it returns to session next week . Fri, 06 Sep 2013 10:17:04 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 42620 at http://wcbe.org Brown Backing Currency Protection Bill http://wcbe.org/post/brown-backing-currency-protection-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Democratic U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio is co-sponsoring legislation designed to to better protect businesses from foreign currency manipulation. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 11:00:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 37116 at http://wcbe.org Crackdown On Cell Phone Theft Introduced http://wcbe.org/post/crackdown-cell-phone-theft-introduced <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>With reports of thefts of smartphones circulating online, Democratic U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio is proposing a bill to make it a felony to resell stolen cell phones. Thu, 30 May 2013 14:09:13 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 36611 at http://wcbe.org Ending Wall Street Subsidies http://wcbe.org/post/ending-wall-street-subsidies <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Democratic U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown of Ohio is co-sponsoring bi-partisan legislation calling for the end of federal subsidies for big banks. Tue, 21 May 2013 10:51:40 +0000 Jim Letizia 36021 at http://wcbe.org Senators Want POTUS To Talk Jobs and Business Tonight http://wcbe.org/post/senators-want-potus-talk-jobs-and-business-tonight <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio's two U.S. Senators are speaking about what they hope to hear in President Obama's State of the Union address tonight. Tue, 12 Feb 2013 17:32:30 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 30540 at http://wcbe.org Senators Weigh In On Gun Restrictions http://wcbe.org/post/senators-weigh-gun-restrictions <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio’s two U.S. Senators are indicating their support of certain gun restrictions. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 17:30:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 29123 at http://wcbe.org Mandel Proposes Replacement For Health Care Law http://wcbe.org/post/mandel-proposes-replacement-health-care-law <P>Republican U.S Senate Candidate Josh Mandel has released a 10 point plan that would be an alternative to the federal health care law. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 16:26:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 24694 at http://wcbe.org 2nd Senate Debate Held In Columbus http://wcbe.org/post/2nd-senate-debate-held-columbus <P>The second debate in the U.S. Senate race last night in Columbus was heated. Fri, 19 Oct 2012 13:32:53 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 24500 at http://wcbe.org U.S. Senate Race Remains Nasty, Expensive http://wcbe.org/post/us-senate-race-remains-nasty-expensive <P><SPAN lang=EN>Republican State Treasurer and U.S Senate candidate Josh Mandel says changes </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>are needed in Washington to push action on the budget deficit and national </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>debt. Fri, 28 Sep 2012 13:41:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 23461 at http://wcbe.org Mandel promises to limit term http://wcbe.org/post/mandel-promises-limit-term <p>Republican Josh Mandel says he would limit himself to two terms in office if elected as a U.S. Senator. Tue, 25 Sep 2012 22:45:43 +0000 Alison Holm & Associate Press 23298 at http://wcbe.org Business Group Targets Sherrod Brown http://wcbe.org/post/business-group-targets-sherrod-brown <P><SPAN lang=EN>The U.S. Chamber of Commerce is criticizing Democratic U.S. Senate incumbents </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>in Ohio and Montana in a new round of tv ads designed to help Republicans </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>gain control of the chamber. Tue, 18 Sep 2012 13:44:36 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 22853 at http://wcbe.org Brown boasts of Ohio's improved economy at convention http://wcbe.org/post/brown-boasts-ohios-improved-economy-convention <P>Republicans have been very effective in tying the slow economy to president Obama.&nbsp; But in Ohio the recovery is more noticeable than in most states.&nbsp; At the Democratic National Convention, U.S. Senator Sherrod brown is trying to spread that message.&nbsp; for Ohio Public Radio, WKSU's Mark Urycki reports from Charlotte. Wed, 05 Sep 2012 23:36:42 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Mark Urycki, WKSU 22175 at http://wcbe.org Some Vets Criticize Mandel Over "Un-American" Comment http://wcbe.org/post/some-vets-criticize-mandel-over-un-american-comment <P><SPAN lang=EN>Some Ohio veterans are speaking out against fellow vet and current Republican </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>U.S. Senate candidate Josh Mandel. Fri, 31 Aug 2012 13:55:48 +0000 Jim Letizia 21907 at http://wcbe.org FOP endorses Sherrod Brown in U.S. Senate race http://wcbe.org/post/fop-endorses-sherrod-brown-us-senate-race <p>U-S Senator Sherrod Brown got an endorsement last week that he hopes will help him defeat Republican challenger Josh Mandel this fall. Ohio Public Radio&rsquo;s Jo Ingles reports.</p><p> Tue, 24 Jul 2012 02:21:21 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 19367 at http://wcbe.org Record-breaking spending in Ohio Senate campaign http://wcbe.org/post/record-breaking-spending-ohio-senate-campaign <p>Ohio&#39;s largest police union has thrown its support behind democratic incumbent Sherrod Brown in the state&#39;s closely watched campaign for U.S. Senate. It marks the first time in 24 years the fraternal order of police has endorsed a democrat for senate. In a statement, president Jay McDonald cited Brown&#39;s opposition to the governor&#39;s collective bargaining overhaul as a key factor in its endorsement. The FOP chose brown over republican opponent and state treasurer Josh Mandel. The race continues to draw attention in and outside of The Buckeye&nbsp;State. And as Ohio Public Radio&#39;s Karen Kasler&nbsp;reports, it&#39;s already setting records.</p><p> Wed, 18 Jul 2012 21:27:03 +0000 Alison Holm & Ohio Public Radio 19078 at http://wcbe.org