Ohio Turnpike http://wcbe.org en OHP: Speed And Weather Caused Turnpike Crashes http://wcbe.org/post/ohp-speed-and-weather-caused-turnpike-crashes <p><span lang="EN">A preliminary investigation into the cause of a series of fatal Ohio Turnpike crashes earlier this month blames drivers' speeds, road conditions and weather.&nbsp; Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:36:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 53052 at http://wcbe.org Turnpike Crash Victims Identified http://wcbe.org/post/turnpike-crash-victims-identified <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol has identified the three people killed and the trooper who was injured in Wednesday's chain-reaction crashes on the Ohio Turnpike. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 15:54:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 52609 at http://wcbe.org Major Ohio Turnpike Crash Kills Three http://wcbe.org/post/major-ohio-turnpike-crash-kills-three <p><span lang="EN">The State Highway Patrol says three people died Wednesday in crashes involving at least 50 vehicles across a 2-mile section&nbsp;of the eastbound lanes of the Ohio Turnpike between Toledo and Cleveland. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 11:37:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52585 at http://wcbe.org Major Ohio Turnpike Crash Kills Three Local Roawork To Resume Next Year http://wcbe.org/post/local-roawork-resume-next-year <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Work on central Ohio's largest road construction projects will start again next year. Fri, 02 Aug 2013 11:04:53 +0000 Jim Letizia 40534 at http://wcbe.org Governor Signs Transportation Bill http://wcbe.org/post/governor-signs-transportation-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Governor John Kasich yesterday signed into law his 7.6 billion dollar state transportation budget. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 11:55:33 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 33304 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Senate Approves Raising Highway Speed Limit http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-senate-approves-raising-highway-speed-limit <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Senate has approved a proposal to increase the speed limit on rural interstate highways to 70 mph. Thu, 21 Mar 2013 11:04:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 32656 at http://wcbe.org House Approves Transportation Budget http://wcbe.org/post/house-approves-transportation-budget <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio House has approved a two-year transportation budget that outlines 7.1 billion dollars for state agencies that build highways, fund infrastructure projects and protect public safety. Two-thirds of the funding would be for the Ohio Department of Transportation. The rest is for the Department of Public Safety, the Public Works Commission and the Development Services Agency. The measure would allow reimbursement to counties when utilities are relocated for state transportation projects. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 12:15:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31548 at http://wcbe.org House Panel Approves Turnpike Bond Sale http://wcbe.org/post/house-panel-approves-turnpike-bond-sale <P>The Ohio House Finance Committee has approved Republican Governor John Kasich's proposal to raise 1.5 billion dollars for state highway projects through Ohio Turnpike bonds. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 11:56:59 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31448 at http://wcbe.org Democrats Criticize Turnpike Bill http://wcbe.org/post/democrats-criticize-turnpike-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Minority Democrats in the Ohio House say key public promises made by Governor John Kasich are absent from a bill authorizing the sale of 1.5 billion dollars in Ohio Turnpike bonds to fund </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>highway projects. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 12:56:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 31318 at http://wcbe.org Governor Announces Plan For Turnpike http://wcbe.org/post/governor-announces-plan-turnpike <P><SPAN lang=EN>Governor John Kasich wants to fund highway construction projects by increasing tolls on the Ohio's Turnpike. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 13:17:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 27420 at http://wcbe.org Turnpike Leasing Announcement Expected http://wcbe.org/post/turnpike-leasing-announcement-expected <P><SPAN lang=EN>An announcement that the state plans to lease the Ohio Turnpike is expected </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>by the end of the week. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 12:17:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 27222 at http://wcbe.org Residents unconvinced about benefits of a privatized Ohio Turnpike http://wcbe.org/post/residents-unconvinced-about-benefits-privatized-ohio-turnpike <p>Residents living near the Ohio Turnpike aren&#39;t convinced about the benefits state officials say would come by privatizing the toll road. The first public meeting about the plan came last night in Elyria, where Lorain County Commissioner Ted Kalo expressed concerns about increased tolls and sloppy maintenance.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 18 Jul 2012 21:52:57 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 19083 at http://wcbe.org