Ohio Governor John Kasich http://wcbe.org en Alliance Data Announces New Center And 700 New Jobs For Columbus http://wcbe.org/post/alliance-data-announces-new-center-and-700-new-jobs-columbus <p><span lang="EN">A company that provides credit-card services and loyalty programs says it is expanding operations in Ohio and expects to add 700 new jobs. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:21:32 +0000 Associated Press 58338 at http://wcbe.org Alliance Data Announces New Center And 700 New Jobs For Columbus Defense Attorneys Want Kasich To Testify During Corruption Trial http://wcbe.org/post/defense-attorneys-want-kasich-testify-during-corruption-trial <p><span lang="EN">Republican Ohio Governor John Kasich is fighting a subpoena to testify for the defense at the federal trial of a businessman accused of using employees and others to funnel illegal campaign contributions to two GOP politicians. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 15:25:37 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 58325 at http://wcbe.org Defense Attorneys Want Kasich To Testify During Corruption Trial Kasich Defends Taylor In Timesheet Probe http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-defends-taylor-timesheet-probe <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Governor John Kasich is defending Lieutenant Governor Mary Taylor, after two of her top aides resigned because of concerns about their timesheets. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 15:45:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 57908 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Defends Taylor In Timesheet Probe Kasich Signs Controversial Bill Creating Two-Year Freeze On Green Energy Standards http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-signs-controversial-bill-creating-two-year-freeze-green-energy-standards <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">Ohio Governor John Kasich has signed the controversial bill freezing the state’s alternative energy standards for two years. </span> Fri, 13 Jun 2014 22:42:38 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57735 at http://wcbe.org Governor's Midterm Budget Bill Heads To His Desk http://wcbe.org/post/governors-midterm-budget-bill-heads-his-desk <div><div>A package of tax cuts backed by Governor John Kasich is headed to the Republican's desk after it cleared the Ohio Legislature last night.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">The tax cuts were part of a slew of policy changes made in a midterm budget bill.&nbsp;</span></div> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 13:41:22 +0000 Associated Press 57253 at http://wcbe.org Poll: Clinton Sweeps Ohio In Potential Presidential Matchups http://wcbe.org/post/poll-clinton-sweeps-ohio-potential-presidential-matchups <p>A new Quinnipiac University poll shows Governor John Kasich trailing Democrat Hillary Clinton in Ohio in a hypothetical presidential matchup. Fri, 16 May 2014 13:02:37 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56113 at http://wcbe.org Poll: Clinton Sweeps Ohio In Potential Presidential Matchups Poll: Kasich Leads FitzGerald By Double-Digits http://wcbe.org/post/poll-kasich-leads-fitzgerald-double-digits <p><span lang="EN">A new Quinnipiac University poll shows Ohio Governor John Kasich with a fifteen point lead over his Democratic challenger, Ed FitzGerald. Thu, 15 May 2014 10:57:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56026 at http://wcbe.org Poll: Kasich Leads FitzGerald By Double-Digits FitzGerald Proposes Universal Access To Preschool http://wcbe.org/post/fitzgerald-proposes-universal-access-preschool <p><span lang="EN">Democratic gubernatorial candidate Ed FitzGerald told a Westerville audience yesterday he'll work to guarantee all Ohio 4-year-olds have access to public preschool by 2018 if he's elected. Thu, 15 May 2014 10:52:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56025 at http://wcbe.org FitzGerald Proposes Universal Access To Preschool Interest Group Poll Shows Ohioans Support Cigarette Tax Increase http://wcbe.org/post/interest-group-poll-shows-ohioans-support-cigarette-tax-increase <p><span lang="EN">An American Lung Association poll shows 63 percent of Ohioans support raising cigarette taxes by a dollar a pack. Fri, 02 May 2014 10:17:58 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 55344 at http://wcbe.org Interest Group Poll Shows Ohioans Support Cigarette Tax Increase Dems Have Funding Advantage In Three Statewide Races http://wcbe.org/post/dems-have-funding-advantage-three-statewide-races <p><span lang="EN">Campaign finance reports show Ohio Democrats have outraised incumbent Republicans in three statewide races so far this year, with Governor John Kasich strengthening his advantage. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 11:17:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 54952 at http://wcbe.org Democratic Gubernatorial Candidate Launches Radio Ads http://wcbe.org/post/democratic-gubernatorial-candidate-launches-radio-ads <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The ad war in the governor’s race is being fought in two different arenas. </span> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 23:30:45 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 54579 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Releases His First Re-Election Campaign Ad http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-releases-his-first-re-election-campaign-ad <p>Though there's never been an official kickoff&nbsp;of Governor John Kasich's re-election campaign, it has launched&nbsp;its the first TV ad. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:30:00 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 54417 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Governor Talks Politics, Economy On TV http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-governor-talks-politics-economy-tv <div>Ohio Governor John Kasich&nbsp;didn't flatly rule out running for president in 2016 when questioned on national television.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:52:10 +0000 Associated Press 53179 at http://wcbe.org Ohio House Splits Governor's Budget Into Several Bills http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-house-splits-governors-budget-several-bills <p>Republican House Speaker Bill Batchelder says Governor Kasich's midterm budget is being divided into 14 separate bills.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 13:47:07 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 52913 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Unveils Capital Budget Proposal http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-unveils-capital-budget-proposal <p>Ohio Governor John Kasich has unveiled a nearly $2.4 billion construction budget to fund a host of community, school, park and prison projects.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 13:41:39 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 52911 at http://wcbe.org Governor’s MBR Includes Tax Cut http://wcbe.org/post/governor-s-mbr-includes-tax-cut <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">The governor’s budget update bill includes another state income tax cut – paid for by increases in two existing taxes.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 10:47:54 +0000 Mike Foley 52520 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Governor Signs New Provisional Ballot Rules http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-governor-signs-new-provisional-ballot-rules <div>Ohio's governor has signed into law a measure setting when provisional ballots are counted in the political swing state and what it takes to cast one.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:29:55 +0000 Associated Press 51970 at http://wcbe.org State of State Focuses On Tax Cuts, Education http://wcbe.org/post/state-state-focuses-tax-cuts-education <p><span lang="EN">During his election-year State of the State speech last night, Ohio Governor John Kasich said he wants to cut the income tax and the small business tax. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 12:23:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51721 at http://wcbe.org State of State Focuses On Tax Cuts, Education Ohio Governor Signs 2 Contentious Election Bills http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-governor-signs-2-contentious-election-bills <div>Republican Gov. John Kasich&nbsp;has signed into law two election-related bills heavily criticized by Democrats.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:52:50 +0000 Associated Press 51570 at http://wcbe.org Poll: Clinton Would Beat Kasich In Presidential Race http://wcbe.org/post/poll-clinton-would-beat-kasich-presidential-race <p><span lang="EN">A new Quinnipiac University poll shows only 39 percent of Ohio voters would favor Republican Governor John Kasich over Democrat Hillary Clinton in a prospective 2016 presidential matchup. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 12:15:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated press 51504 at http://wcbe.org