Ohio Board of Regents http://wcbe.org en Board Of Regents Hears Pitch For More, Earlier, Career-Tech Training Programs http://wcbe.org/post/board-regents-hears-pitch-more-earlier-career-tech-training-programs <p>In his State of the State speech tonight at Medina High School, Governor John Kasich is expected to push for more career-tech education at younger ages. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 00:13:06 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51707 at http://wcbe.org Report: More College Freshmen Need Developmental Courses http://wcbe.org/post/report-more-college-freshmen-need-developmental-courses <p><span lang="EN">A report by the Ohio Board of Regents shows more than one-third of 2012 high school graduates entering Ohio colleges for the first time required developmental classes in English or mathematics to get up to speed. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 17:18:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50764 at http://wcbe.org Proposal Would Block Immigrant Students From Paying In-State College Tuition http://wcbe.org/post/proposal-would-block-immigrant-students-paying-state-college-tuition <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Two Republican state lawmakers are proposing a measure overturning a recent decision by the Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor allowing young immigrants with temporary legal status to pay in-state tuition rates at public colleges. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 10:46:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41726 at http://wcbe.org OSU Smoking Ban To Take Effect This Month - Sort Of http://wcbe.org/post/osu-smoking-ban-take-effect-month-sort <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An Ohio State University spokesperson says the campus-wide tobacco ban will begin when classes resume on August 21st - but officials are still fine-tuning the ban and figuring out what the penalties for consuming a legal product on public land will be. Fri, 09 Aug 2013 10:54:27 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40980 at http://wcbe.org Immigrants May Get In-State Tuition Rates http://wcbe.org/post/immigrants-may-get-state-tuition-rates <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Board of Regents says college-age immigrants participating in the federal Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program are eligible for in-state tuition rates at public colleges and universities. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 11:03:53 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 40439 at http://wcbe.org Fingerhut Named President Of Hillel http://wcbe.org/post/fingerhut-named-president-hillel <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Former Ohio Board of Regents Chancellor Eric Fingerhut has been named President and CEO of Hillel International, a worldwide Jewish student organization. Mon, 15 Jul 2013 11:27:02 +0000 Jim Letizia 39363 at http://wcbe.org Indiana School Offers In-State Tuition For Ohio Students http://wcbe.org/post/indiana-school-offers-state-tuition-ohio-students <P>Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne says it's now offering in-state tuition to students from six western Ohio counties. Wed, 10 Jul 2013 16:53:53 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 39080 at http://wcbe.org Retiring Jim Petro reflects on 29 years of service http://wcbe.org/post/retiring-jim-petro-reflects-29-years-service <P>After a 29 year career in Ohio government and politics, Jim Petro will retire on February 1st as Chancellor of the Ohio Board of Regents. Looking back on his long career, Petro tells statehouse correspondent Bill Cohen he is proud of helping bring the two bureaucracies that deal with schools and higher education closer together. Sat, 29 Dec 2012 00:06:51 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Bill Cohen 28158 at http://wcbe.org Petro To Retire http://wcbe.org/post/petro-retire <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Board of Regents Chanellor Jim Petro says he will retire in February. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 12:16:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 27584 at http://wcbe.org Website Designed To Help Prosepective College Students http://wcbe.org/post/website-designed-help-prosepective-college-students <P>The Ohio Board of Regents has launched a website to help prospective college students and returning workers find the ideal institutions and careers. Tue, 27 Nov 2012 12:15:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 26497 at http://wcbe.org