Columbus Department of Public Utilities http://wcbe.org en Thousands Spent On Improving Water From Hoover Reservoir http://wcbe.org/post/thousands-spent-improving-water-hoover-reservoir <p><span lang="EN">Columbus Public Utilities officials say they have spent nearly 725-thousand-dollars since late last year on carbon and other chemicals to treat water from the Hoover Reservoir. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 12:24:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 50571 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Working To Fix Drinking Water Problems http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-working-fix-drinking-water-problems <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The city of Columbus is spending 600 thousand dollars to treat the drinking water drawn from Hoover Reservoir and processed at the Hap Cremean water plant, after complaints about a foul smell and flavor. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 13:24:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 49171 at http://wcbe.org Water Main Break Ties Up Downtown Streets http://wcbe.org/post/water-main-break-ties-downtown-streets <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A ruptured water in downtown Columbus is complicating already difficult conditions. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 00:20:24 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 49146 at http://wcbe.org Source Of Columbus Tapwater Foul Taste And Smell Discovered http://wcbe.org/post/source-columbus-tapwater-foul-taste-and-smell-discovered <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus Public Utilities officials say foul odors and&nbsp;tastes reported last month were caused by temperature changes that stirred up algae and organic minerals in the water in Hoover Reservoir. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 12:15:41 +0000 Jim Letizia 47638 at http://wcbe.org Source Of Foul Odor Remains A Mystery http://wcbe.org/post/source-foul-odor-remains-mystery <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbia Gas officials say they have yet to find the source of an odor reported across Franklin and Madison counties yesterday. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 12:32:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 47116 at http://wcbe.org Slight Increase Coming In Columbus Utility Rates http://wcbe.org/post/slight-increase-coming-columbus-utility-rates <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus City Council tonight is scheduled to approve annual increases in sewer and stormwater rates. Mon, 18 Nov 2013 17:32:41 +0000 Jim Letizia 46696 at http://wcbe.org Residents Complain About Taste And Smell Of Columbus Water http://wcbe.org/post/residents-complain-about-taste-and-smell-columbus-water <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus city officials are responding to multiple complaints about fishy-tasting water. Fri, 15 Nov 2013 12:53:13 +0000 Jim Letizia 46551 at http://wcbe.org Water Line Breaks Common In Winter http://wcbe.org/post/water-line-breaks-common-winter <P>During the harsh cold of winter, Columbus and other Ohio cities have problems with broken water lines. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 17:31:43 +0000 Jim Letizia 29181 at http://wcbe.org "Organic Matter" Blamed For Tapwater Odors http://wcbe.org/post/organic-matter-blamed-tapwater-odors <P><SPAN lang=EN>Columbus utility officials say the foul stench in tap water on the West side will pass in a few days. Thu, 13 Dec 2012 12:15:00 +0000 Jim Letizia 27340 at http://wcbe.org