Columbus Education Commission http://wcbe.org en Mayor Coleman Talks About The Future Of Local Education http://wcbe.org/post/mayor-coleman-talks-about-future-local-education <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">At this time last year, Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman was already talking about 2013 as a year when the community would join hands to improve education. Thu, 26 Dec 2013 13:54:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 48668 at http://wcbe.org Group Raised Millions For CCS Levy Campaign http://wcbe.org/post/group-raised-millions-ccs-levy-campaign <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Campaign finance reports show the group that pushed for passage of the Columbus City Schools levy raised more than 3 million dollars for the effort. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 12:04:09 +0000 Jim Letizia 48218 at http://wcbe.org Forum Panel Shows Division Over Columbus Schools Ballot Issues http://wcbe.org/post/forum-panel-shows-division-over-columbus-schools-ballot-issues <p>Issues 50 and 51 on the ballot this fall for the Columbus City Schools have been unprecedented, both in the size and the scope of the plans, and in the amount of passion they have inspired for and against.&nbsp; Wed, 30 Oct 2013 09:00:00 +0000 Alison Holm 45604 at http://wcbe.org Corporate Columbus & Unions Bankrolling CCS Levy Campaign http://wcbe.org/post/corporate-columbus-unions-bankrolling-ccs-levy-campaign <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Some of Columbus' largest employers are helping fund the Columbus City Schools' levy campaign. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 11:43:51 +0000 Jim Letizia 45388 at http://wcbe.org CCS Gets Failing Grades On New State Report Card http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-gets-failing-grades-new-state-report-card <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus City Schools were among the districts receiving bad news Thursday as the State Department of Education released it's annual report cards. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 01:54:31 +0000 Alison Holm 41808 at http://wcbe.org CCS Gets Failing Grades On New State Report Card Teachers Union Leader Says Staff Eager For New School Year http://wcbe.org/post/teachers-union-leader-says-staff-eager-new-school-year <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus City School students are heading back to class Wednesday, and the head of the teachers union says her members are energized. Tue, 20 Aug 2013 02:32:14 +0000 Alison Holm 41575 at http://wcbe.org Columbus City Schools Levy http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-city-schools-levy <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus City Schools Board has voted to put a levy on the November ballot. Wed, 24 Jul 2013 17:06:23 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 39963 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Signs Columbus City Schools Bill http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-signs-columbus-city-schools-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Governor John Kasich yesterday signed into law a bill allowing some of the revenue from a planned 9.01 mill Columbus City Schools levy to be shared with charter schools. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 11:54:01 +0000 Jim Letizia 39440 at http://wcbe.org CCS Plans To Appoint Interim Superintendent http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-plans-appoint-interim-superintendent <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus School board meets tonight to appoint an interim superintendent to take over when Gene Harris steps down at the end of the week. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Alison Holm 38147 at http://wcbe.org CCS Board Backs Some Education Commission Recommendations http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-board-backs-some-education-commission-recommendations <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus school board is throwing its support behind some of the findings of Mayor Michael Coleman's education commission. Thu, 23 May 2013 13:21:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 36190 at http://wcbe.org US Secretary of Education To Discuss Education In Columbus http://wcbe.org/post/us-secretary-education-discuss-education-columbus <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan is coming to Columbus later this week, to talk about recommendations to improve education.</font></font></p><p></p> Thu, 18 Apr 2013 00:10:18 +0000 Alison Holm 34152 at http://wcbe.org US Secretary of Education To Discuss Education In Columbus CCS Board Suspends Search For Permanent Superintendent http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-board-suspends-search-permanent-superintendent <P>The Columbus City School boards last night voted to suspend the search for a permanent replacement for superintendent Gene Harris, who is stepping down in June, and to put that task in the hands of a new committee to be headed by the Board president and Mayor Michael Coleman. The resolution passed – but not without controversy. &nbsp;Alison Holm has more. Wed, 10 Apr 2013 10:20:00 +0000 Alison Holm 33710 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Wants CCS Board To Wait Before Hiring Superintendent http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-wants-ccs-board-wait-hiring-superintendent <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman says he will not support any permanent successor to Columbus Schools superintendent Gene Harris if the school board hires one by the summer. Tue, 26 Mar 2013 12:04:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 32909 at http://wcbe.org Some Commission Members Want Coleman To Appoint CCS Board http://wcbe.org/post/some-commission-members-want-coleman-appoint-ccs-board <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Members of Mayor Michael Coleman's Education Commission appear divided on how the Columbus City Schools should be run. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 11:25:56 +0000 Jim Letizia 32732 at http://wcbe.org Panel To Explore Mayoral Control Of CCS http://wcbe.org/post/panel-explore-mayoral-control-ccs <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman’s Education Commission later this month will explore whether an elected school board is the best way to run the Columbus City Schools. Thu, 07 Mar 2013 12:23:18 +0000 Jim Letizia 31888 at http://wcbe.org CCS Board Fears Disbandment And/Or Takeover http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-board-fears-disbandment-andor-takeover <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>When the Columbus Education Commission was formed last year, it was presented as a joint effort of the civic, business, and education sectors. Thu, 21 Feb 2013 14:24:54 +0000 Jim Letizia & Alison Holm 31069 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Education Commission Announced http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-education-commission-announced <P><SPAN lang=EN>Mayor Michael Coleman yesterday introduced the members of a new commission that will focus on improving education in Columbus. Fri, 14 Dec 2012 13:27:04 +0000 Alison Holm 27422 at http://wcbe.org