Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman http://wcbe.org en Alliance Data Announces New Center And 700 New Jobs For Columbus http://wcbe.org/post/alliance-data-announces-new-center-and-700-new-jobs-columbus <p><span lang="EN">A company that provides credit-card services and loyalty programs says it is expanding operations in Ohio and expects to add 700 new jobs. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 20:21:32 +0000 Associated Press 58338 at http://wcbe.org Alliance Data Announces New Center And 700 New Jobs For Columbus Coleman Announces Pair Of Bicycle-Related Initiatives http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-announces-pair-bicycle-related-initiatives <p>Hundreds of central Ohioans participated in today's national Bike to Work Day. Fri, 16 May 2014 15:26:42 +0000 Jim Letizia 56124 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Announces Pair Of Bicycle-Related Initiatives Big City Mayors Among Critics Of Renewable Energy Standards Freeze http://wcbe.org/post/big-city-mayors-among-critics-renewable-energy-standards-freeze <p><span lang="EN">Top city leaders in Ohio are coming out against an attempt to freeze the state’s energy efficiency standards. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 00:05:18 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 54857 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Joins Push For Stronger Gun Laws http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-joins-push-stronger-gun-laws <p></p><p><span lang="EN">Former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg says he plans to <span lang="EN">spend 50 million dollars this year to form a group that will push to get 1 million gun-control supporters to the polls. </span></span></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:30:56 +0000 Jim Letizia 54471 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Joins Push For Stronger Gun Laws Mayor Wants City To Increase Minorities In Public Safety Forces http://wcbe.org/post/mayor-wants-city-increase-minorities-public-safety-forces <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council&nbsp;has&nbsp;approved an 80 thousand dollar contract with a public-relations firm to help create a plan to recruit more women and minorities into the police force. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 23:28:51 +0000 Jim Letizia 53218 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Launches Health Insurance Enrollment Campaign http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-launches-health-insurance-enrollment-campaign <p><span lang="EN">Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman has launched an effort to get uninsured people signed up for health insurance coverage through the exchanges created under the Affordable Care Act. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 12:26:35 +0000 Jim Letizia 52265 at http://wcbe.org State Of City Speech Focuses On Job Training, Education http://wcbe.org/post/state-city-speech-focuses-job-training-education <p><span lang="EN"><font face="Courier New" size="2"><font face="Courier New" size="2">In his record 15th State of the City speech last night, Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman promised to spend money to improve the local poverty rate, boost preschool education, decrease homelessness and improve the environment. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 12:51:52 +0000 Jim Letizia 51436 at http://wcbe.org State Of City Speech Focuses On Job Training, Education Council Releases Its Municipal Budget Amendments http://wcbe.org/post/council-releases-its-municipal-budget-amendments <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Council is putting more money into recruiting a more diverse class of firefighters. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 13:14:26 +0000 Jim Letizia 50384 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Is Pushing For Columbus To Host Political Conventions http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-pushing-columbus-host-political-conventions <p><span lang="EN">Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman is in Washington D-C, lobbying political party leaders to bring a national convention to the city. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 12:18:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 49928 at http://wcbe.org Mayor Coleman Talks Public Safety And Guns http://wcbe.org/post/mayor-coleman-talks-public-safety-and-guns <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman's 2014 city budget proposal raises spending on public safety by $15 million. Mon, 30 Dec 2013 17:26:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 48826 at http://wcbe.org Mayor Coleman Talks Downtown Development http://wcbe.org/post/mayor-coleman-talks-downtown-development <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">2013 was a year of progress when it comes to development in downtown Columbus. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 13:47:34 +0000 Jim Letizia 48722 at http://wcbe.org Mayor Coleman Talks About The Future Of Local Education http://wcbe.org/post/mayor-coleman-talks-about-future-local-education <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">At this time last year, Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman was already talking about 2013 as a year when the community would join hands to improve education. Thu, 26 Dec 2013 13:54:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 48668 at http://wcbe.org Push To Have Voters Decide Arena Purchase Funding Clears Procedural Hurdle http://wcbe.org/post/push-have-voters-decide-arena-purchase-funding-clears-procedural-hurdle <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Franklin County Board of Elections says a citizens group has collected enough valid petition signatures to place a measure on the May ballot that would end the city of Columbus' purchase contract for Nationwide Arena. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 12:23:19 +0000 Jim Letizia 47951 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Still In Favor Of Arena Agreement http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-still-favor-arena-agreement <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman continues to support the use of casino tax dollars for the public purchase of Nationwide Arena. Mon, 09 Dec 2013 16:50:33 +0000 Jim Letizia 47761 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Outlines 2014 Budget Priorities http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-outlines-2014-budget-priorities <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman today unveiled&nbsp;the 14th budget proposal of his tenure. Sat, 16 Nov 2013 01:18:06 +0000 Mike Foley 46606 at http://wcbe.org Columbus PTA Group Votes Not To Endorse Columbus City Schools Levy Request http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-pta-group-votes-not-endorse-columbus-city-schools-levy-request <p>The Columbus Council Of PTAs and PTOs voted Tuesday night not to endorse the Columbus City Schools 9.01 mil combined levy and bond issue. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 00:31:13 +0000 Alison Holm 44590 at http://wcbe.org 9/11 Commemoration Message Is Unity http://wcbe.org/post/911-commemoration-message-unity <P>Unity was the theme of a memorial service held in Columbus for the victims of the terrorist attacks that took place a dozen years ago in New York City, Washington D. C. and Shanksville Pennsylvania. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 23:59:06 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 42940 at http://wcbe.org 9/11 Commemoration Message Is Unity CCS Gets Failing Grades On New State Report Card http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-gets-failing-grades-new-state-report-card <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus City Schools were among the districts receiving bad news Thursday as the State Department of Education released it's annual report cards. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 01:54:31 +0000 Alison Holm 41808 at http://wcbe.org CCS Gets Failing Grades On New State Report Card Mayors Want Portman To Change Vote On Gun Legislation http://wcbe.org/post/mayors-want-portman-change-vote-gun-legislation <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Democratic Columbus Mayor Michael Coleman and mayors of other Ohio cities are asking Republican U.S. Senator Rob Portman of Ohio to change his vote against a piece of gun control legislation. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 11:04:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 41732 at http://wcbe.org Columbus City Schools Levy http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-city-schools-levy <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus City Schools Board has voted to put a levy on the November ballot. Wed, 24 Jul 2013 17:06:23 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 39963 at http://wcbe.org