Ohio Department of Youth Services http://wcbe.org en Ohio Agrees To Stop Using Isolation To Punish Kids In Prison http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-agrees-stop-using-isolation-punish-kids-prison <p>The Ohio Department of Youth Services this week reached an agreement with the Justice Department to stop using solitary confinement in its prisons.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 24 May 2014 00:45:31 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 56595 at http://wcbe.org ODYS Settles Lawsuit Over Solitary Confinement http://wcbe.org/post/odys-settles-lawsuit-over-solitary-confinement <p><span lang="EN">The state has agreed to phase out the use of solitary confinement for kids in its correctional facilities. Thu, 22 May 2014 11:01:49 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56447 at http://wcbe.org ODYS Settles Lawsuit Over Solitary Confinement Report: Youth Prison Guards Using Force Against Inmates More Often http://wcbe.org/post/report-youth-prison-guards-using-force-against-inmates-more-often <p>A new report by a legislative watchdog for state criminal justice programs shows guards in youth prisons are more often resorting to force to control inmates. Fri, 02 May 2014 10:28:54 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55345 at http://wcbe.org Report: Youth Prison Guards Using Force Against Inmates More Often Youth Prison In Delaware Will Close Next Year http://wcbe.org/post/youth-prison-delaware-will-close-next-year <p>The Ohio Department of Youth Services says it will close the Scioto Juvenile Correctional Facility in Delaware by May of next year. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 11:21:47 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 46932 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Meeting Seeks Ways To Help Child Abuse Victims http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-meeting-seeks-ways-help-child-abuse-victims <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Local, state, and national experts gathered in Columbus earlier week this to discuss ways to better serve victims of child abuse and neglect. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 16:41:09 +0000 Jim Letizia 45335 at http://wcbe.org Task Force Issues Youth Prison Recommendations http://wcbe.org/post/task-force-issues-youth-prison-recommendations <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A task force has made a series of recommendations to reduce sexual assaults of incarcerated youth. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 10:45:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39215 at http://wcbe.org ODYS Meeting Benchmark Goals http://wcbe.org/post/odys-meeting-benchmark-goals <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A federal district judge in Columbus says Ohio's youth prison system has met another benchmark for improvement as a long-running lawsuit against the agency continues to wind down. Fri, 21 Jun 2013 10:56:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 37990 at http://wcbe.org Changes Still Needed At ODYS http://wcbe.org/post/changes-still-needed-odys <P><SPAN lang=EN>An annual report by a court-appointed monitor calls some changes to Ohio's </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>youth prison system a model for the nation while highlighting continuing </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>systemic problems with gang violence, education classes and medical care. Wed, 26 Dec 2012 13:16:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 27975 at http://wcbe.org