severance tax http://wcbe.org en Ohio House Approves Severance Tax Bill http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-house-approves-severance-tax-bill <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio House has approved legislation raising the severance tax on oil and gas drilling. Thu, 15 May 2014 11:55:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56040 at http://wcbe.org Ohio House Approves Severance Tax Bill Two Plans To Tax Oil And Gas Drillers http://wcbe.org/post/two-plans-tax-oil-and-gas-drillers <p><span lang="EN">State Lawmakers are split over a pair of plans to tax oil and gas drillers. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 11:56:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 53431 at http://wcbe.org Two Plans To Tax Oil And Gas Drillers Ohio Democrats Outline Budget Priorites http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-democrats-outline-budget-priorites <p><span lang="EN">Minority Democrats in the Ohio Senate are releasing their priorities for the budget update Governor John Kasich is expected to unveil soon. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 00:56:17 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51486 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Democrats Outline Budget Priorites Kasich Vows To Veto Severance Tax Plan http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-vows-veto-severance-tax-plan <p></p><p></p><p><span lang="EN">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span lang="EN">Ohio Governor John Kasich says he has told lawmakers considering an increase in the severance tax on oil and gas drillers they need to come up with a fair plan to win his support. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 12:55:20 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 50383 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Vows To Veto Severance Tax Plan Two Lawmakers Want Counties To Get Share Of Severance Tax Hike http://wcbe.org/post/two-lawmakers-want-counties-get-share-severance-tax-hike <p><span lang="EN">Two Republican State Representatives are pushing for Ohio's shale-gas rich counties to get a portion of the money generated from a proposed severance tax hike on drillers. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 12:31:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49683 at http://wcbe.org Lobbyist Urges Revisions To Oil And Gas Drilling Tax Package http://wcbe.org/post/lobbyist-urges-revisions-oil-and-gas-drilling-tax-package <p><span lang="EN">A top lobbyist for Ohio's oil and gas drilling industry is urging state lawmakers to support a package of tax revisions advanced as an alternative to an earlier plan by Republican Governor John Kasich. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 23:35:04 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 49268 at http://wcbe.org Compromise Bill Raises Tax On Oil And Gas Drillers http://wcbe.org/post/compromise-bill-raises-tax-oil-and-gas-drillers <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio's oil and gas industry says it supports newly introduced severance tax changes that include a rate hike on wells in a compromise struck with the Ohio House. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 11:55:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 47571 at http://wcbe.org GOP Lawmakers Benefit From Oil And Gas Industry http://wcbe.org/post/gop-lawmakers-benefit-oil-and-gas-industry <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>As the debate over fracking and raising the state severance tax continues, campaign finance reports show oil and gas companies have poured money into Republican legislative campaign coffers over the last few years. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 16:23:02 +0000 Jim Letizia 40468 at http://wcbe.org Budget Bill Vote Today http://wcbe.org/post/budget-bill-vote-today <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State lawmakers are scheduled to vote today on the new two year state budget bill. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 11:45:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 38303 at http://wcbe.org Lawmaker Proposes Severance Tax Increase http://wcbe.org/post/lawmaker-proposes-severance-tax-increase <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A few months after Republican Ohio Governor John Kasich proposed raising the severance tax on oil and natural gas drillers, a Democratic state lawmaker is making a similar proposal. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 11:26:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 37924 at http://wcbe.org Mandel Opposes Kasich's Severance Tax Plan http://wcbe.org/post/mandel-opposes-kasichs-severance-tax-plan <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Republican State Treasurer Josh Mandel is opposing Governor John Kasich's plan to raise the severance tax on oil and gas drillers to fund an income tax cut. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 12:02:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 31958 at http://wcbe.org Kasich's Budget Contains Major Tax Shift http://wcbe.org/post/kasichs-budget-contains-major-tax-shift <P><FONT face="Times New Roman">Governor John Kasich is proposing a major shift in Ohio’s tax structure. Tue, 05 Feb 2013 00:22:37 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Bill Cohen 30091 at http://wcbe.org Drillers Lobby Lawmakers http://wcbe.org/post/drillers-lobby-lawmakers <P>Workers, employers and lobbyists for Ohio's growing oil and gas industry showed up at the Statehouse Wednesday to tout the industry's economic benefits. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 15:21:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 29470 at http://wcbe.org Drillers Continue Fighting Severance Tax Hike http://wcbe.org/post/drillers-continue-fighting-severance-tax-hike <P>The American Petroleum Institute estimates Ohio's natural gas boom could bring over four billion dollars in revenue to the state over the next several years. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 17:35:18 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 28818 at http://wcbe.org Kasich warns drillers they may face worse than his proposed tax http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-warns-drillers-they-may-face-worse-his-proposed-tax <P>One of Governor John Kasich’s top goals in 2013 is to finally convince Ohio legislators to hike the severance tax on oil and gas drillers…and use the revenue to enact a CUT in the state INCOME tax. Thu, 03 Jan 2013 00:41:00 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Bill Cohen 28351 at http://wcbe.org