Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections http://wcbe.org en Ohio Prison Solar Installation To Provide Power And Training http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-prison-solar-installation-provide-power-and-training <p><span lang="EN">Ohio has unveiled a large solar project at a prison aimed at saving $245,000 in annual energy costs while training inmates to install and maintain the panels as a route to future jobs. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 23:58:58 +0000 Associated Press 59626 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Prison Solar Installation To Provide Power And Training Records Show Multiple Food-Related Complaints At State Prisons http://wcbe.org/post/records-show-multiple-food-related-complaints-state-prisons <p>Maggots in food, staffing shortages and multiple reports of food shortages are among new complaints facing the vendor that won the contract to serve food to Ohio prison inmates. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 11:14:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59567 at http://wcbe.org Records Show Multiple Food-Related Complaints At State Prisons New Facility Helps Prisoners Reintegrate Into Society http://wcbe.org/post/new-facility-helps-prisoners-reintegrate-society <p><span lang="EN">Ohio has opened a multi-agency, multiservice facility aimed at helping prison inmates better reintegrate into society. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 10:46:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59416 at http://wcbe.org New Facility Helps Prisoners Reintegrate Into Society More Food-Related Problems Found At Local Prison http://wcbe.org/post/more-food-related-problems-found-local-prison <p><span lang="EN">State prisons department inspectors say they found gnats and ants this week in the kitchen of the Ohio Reformatory for Women in Marysville. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 11:03:45 +0000 Jim Letizia 59296 at http://wcbe.org More Food-Related Problems Found At Local Prison ACLU Asks Prisons Department To End Contract With Food Company http://wcbe.org/post/aclu-asks-prisons-department-end-contract-food-company <p>The American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio is calling on the state’s Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections to end its contract with the private company that provides foods to Ohio’s prisons. The A C L U’s Mike Brickner says the food company, Aramark, has a pattern of problems.</p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 00:31:48 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 59123 at http://wcbe.org ACLU Asks Prisons Department To End Contract With Food Company Maggots Found In Meals At State Women's Prison http://wcbe.org/post/maggots-found-meals-state-womens-prison <p><span lang="EN">Union County health officials are investigating reports of contaminated food at the Ohio Reformatory for Women in Marysville. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:32:12 +0000 Jim Letizia 59057 at http://wcbe.org Maggots Found In Meals At State Women's Prison ODRC Denies AP Request For Certain Documents In Probe Of Botched Execution http://wcbe.org/post/odrc-denies-ap-request-certain-documents-probe-botched-execution <p><span lang="EN">Ohio is shielding interviews with 20 prison employees involved in the January execution of an inmate who repeatedly gasped and snorted as he was put to death with a never-before-tried drug method. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 11:04:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 57609 at http://wcbe.org ODRC Denies AP Request For Certain Documents In Probe Of Botched Execution Prisons System Investigating Whethter Guards Showed Pirated Movies http://wcbe.org/post/prisons-system-investigating-whethter-guards-showed-pirated-movies <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections says investigators are looking into allegations guards showed pirated movies to inmates at the Lorain Correctional Institution before their scheduled DVD release date. Tue, 20 May 2014 10:46:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56299 at http://wcbe.org Prisons System Investigating Whethter Guards Showed Pirated Movies State Report On Lethal Injection Protocols Raises Questions http://wcbe.org/post/state-report-lethal-injection-protocols-raises-questions <p>The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections has reviewed&nbsp;January's problematic execution, and says it will continue to use the drugs that were used for the first time in that case. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:48:31 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55186 at http://wcbe.org State Increasing Lethal Injection Dosages http://wcbe.org/post/state-increasing-lethal-injection-dosages <p>The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections says it is increasing the dosages of the two-drug lethal injection combo "to allay any remaining concerns" after the last execution, when an inmate made repeated snorting-like gasps as he died. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 11:22:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55140 at http://wcbe.org State To Resume Hormone Treatments for Transgender Inmate http://wcbe.org/post/state-resume-hormone-treatments-transgender-inmate <p><span lang="EN">A federal judge has ordered Ohio to restore hormone treatment to a transgender inmate who sued after her treatments were stopped. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 23:23:58 +0000 Associated Press 53732 at http://wcbe.org Union Wants State To Hire More Prison Guards http://wcbe.org/post/union-wants-state-hire-more-prison-guards <p><span lang="EN">The union representing Ohio prison guards wants an extra 400 officers to combat a sharp increase in the number of serious assaults by inmates. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 12:18:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 53434 at http://wcbe.org Union Wants State To Hire More Prison Guards Legislative Committee Approves New Jail Standards http://wcbe.org/post/legislative-committee-approves-new-jail-standards <p><span lang="EN">Ohio now has a new set of regulations for jails around the state. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 00:34:46 +0000 Associated Press 52825 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Recividism Rate Declines http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-recividism-rate-declines <p><span lang="EN">State Prisons director Gary Mohr says fewer Ohio inmates than ever are going back to prison after they've been released. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 11:57:58 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52194 at http://wcbe.org Manufacturer Of Ohio's Lethal Injection Drugs Disapproves Of Use http://wcbe.org/post/manufacturer-ohios-lethal-injection-drugs-disapproves-use <p><span lang="EN">Records obtained by The Associated Press show that Ohio's most recent batches of lethal execution drugs were produced by a company that wants states to stop using them for capital punishment. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:11:43 +0000 Associated Press 51489 at http://wcbe.org State To Reimburse Pickaway County For Castro Autopsy http://wcbe.org/post/state-reimburse-pickaway-county-castro-autopsy <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections has agreed to reimburse Pickaway County taxpayers the 11 hundred dollar cost of the autopsy of Cleveland kidnapper Ariel Castro. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 17:00:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50696 at http://wcbe.org Review Finds No Reason For Change Following McGuire Execution http://wcbe.org/post/review-finds-no-reason-change-following-mcguire-execution <p><span lang="EN">Initial reviews of an execution in which an inmate repeatedly gasped found no reason to change the way the state carries out executions. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:46:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50684 at http://wcbe.org Death Row Inmate Sues To Block His Execution http://wcbe.org/post/death-row-inmate-sues-block-his-execution <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio death row inmate is suing to stop his March execution, alleging the state's capital punishment policy leaves open the chance someone could remain clinically alive after being pronounced dead. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 11:27:30 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49988 at http://wcbe.org Parole Board Recommends Against Clemency For McGuire http://wcbe.org/post/parole-board-recommends-against-clemency-mcguire <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Parole Board today recommended the Governor not grant clemency to a death row inmate convicted of raping and killing a pregnant Preble County woman in 1989. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 17:21:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48445 at http://wcbe.org Inmate And Reporter Discuss Media Access Lawsuit http://wcbe.org/post/inmate-and-reporter-discuss-media-access-lawsuit <p>The issue of access to criminals in Ohio’s prison system is at the heart of a lawsuit filed by five inmates convicted in the 1993 Lucasville prison riot and a group of writers and producers who want to interview them on camera. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 18:47:18 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48165 at http://wcbe.org