Human Trafficking http://wcbe.org en Governor Signs Human Trafficking Bill http://wcbe.org/post/governor-signs-human-trafficking-bill <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">Ohio Governor John Kasich signed a bill into law earlier today that increases penalties for people who are convicted of purchasing sex from minors.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:35:15 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58163 at http://wcbe.org Governor Signs Human Trafficking Bill State Human Trafficking Conference To Be Held Today http://wcbe.org/post/state-human-trafficking-conference-be-held-today <p><span lang="EN">Human trafficking is estimated to be a 32 billion dollar a year international crisis. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 12:43:49 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 49293 at http://wcbe.org California Man Arraigned On Human Trafficking Charges http://wcbe.org/post/california-man-arraigned-human-trafficking-charges <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A routine traffic stop in northern Ohio has led to charges of human trafficking against a California man. </FONT></FONT></P> <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State troopers say they smelled raw marijuana coming from a 2012 Nissan pulled over for speeding in Lucas County. A search turned up the pot and a loaded handgun. One of the two female passengers told a trooper that they were being forced into prostitution, and 21-year odl James D. Wed, 14 Aug 2013 22:43:08 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 41321 at http://wcbe.org State Partners With Children's Advocacy Centers http://wcbe.org/post/state-partners-childrens-advocacy-centers <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State officials say the Ohio Network of Children's Advocacy Centers will receive more than $523,000 in state funding over the next two years to respond to the needs of human trafficking victims and their families. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 16:41:01 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 40821 at http://wcbe.org AG Releases Human Trafficking Report http://wcbe.org/post/ag-releases-human-trafficking-report <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Attorney General's Office says local law enforcement agencies reported 30 human-trafficking cases in the past year. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 15:44:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38409 at http://wcbe.org House Approves Human Trafficking Measure http://wcbe.org/post/house-approves-human-trafficking-measure <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio House has approved a measure increasing penalties for human trafficking offenders and adding protections for victims. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 11:16:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38387 at http://wcbe.org Museum Combats Human Trafficking http://wcbe.org/post/museum-combats-human-trafficking <P>A permanent exhibit at the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center in Cincinnati is doing its part to eradicate human trafficking and modern-day slavery worldwide. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 15:11:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & RaeGina Covington 29467 at http://wcbe.org DeWine Talks Human Trafficking At CMC http://wcbe.org/post/dewine-talks-human-trafficking-cmc <P>Human Trafficking is gaining attention as a global human rights problem that demands local action. Thu, 24 Jan 2013 15:07:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Alison Holm 29466 at http://wcbe.org Human Trafficking Event Today At Statehouse http://wcbe.org/post/human-trafficking-event-today-statehouse <P>State leaders are pointing to a new law as a sign of progress made in the fight against human trafficking. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 12:27:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28778 at http://wcbe.org