American Civil Liberties Union http://wcbe.org en SUPCO Reminds Judges About Jailing Poor People Who Fail To Pay Fines http://wcbe.org/post/supco-reminds-judges-about-jailing-poor-people-who-fail-pay-fines <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court is reminding judges conditions are limited under which they may jail an offender for failure to pay fines. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:32:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50679 at http://wcbe.org Groups Lining Up To Oppose Bill Limiting Ballot Access http://wcbe.org/post/groups-lining-oppose-bill-limiting-ballot-access <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The American Civil Liberties Union says it is joining third parties in Ohio in opposing a bill that sets new hurdles to ballot access. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 16:24:35 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 44496 at http://wcbe.org State School Board President Backtracks From Remarks About Book http://wcbe.org/post/state-school-board-president-backtracks-remarks-about-book <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio School Board president Debe Terhar says her characterization of Ohio native Toni Morrison's Book "The Bluest Eye" as "pornographic" was a personal opinion not a board position. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 10:21:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43041 at http://wcbe.org ACLU Backs Girl Denied Spot On Middle School Footbal Team http://wcbe.org/post/aclu-backs-girl-denied-spot-middle-school-footbal-team <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The ACLU has weighed in on behalf of a Central Ohio girl who has been refused a place on her middle school's football team because of her gender. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 23:18:04 +0000 Alison Holm 41396 at http://wcbe.org ACLU Calls On State To Stop Prison Brownouts http://wcbe.org/post/aclu-calls-state-stop-prison-brownouts <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The state says it's scaling back the number of prisons participating in a program that generates money in return for big electricity users agreeing to reduce power during periods of high usage. Thu, 18 Jul 2013 23:45:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 39664 at http://wcbe.org ACLU Gives OHP Plate Scanners Good Review http://wcbe.org/post/aclu-gives-ohp-plate-scanners-good-review <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An American Civil Liberties Union report on police departments' increased use of license-plate scanning notes the policy of the State Highway Patrol is more protective of privacy than some others. Thu, 18 Jul 2013 11:28:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 39605 at http://wcbe.org Settlement Reached In Lawsuit Over Jesus Portrait http://wcbe.org/post/settlement-reached-lawsuit-over-jesus-portrait <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A tentative settlement has been reached in a federal lawsuit challenging the decades-long display of a portrait of Jesus at a high school in Jackson. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 16:38:32 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39252 at http://wcbe.org Report: Muni Courts Jailing Poor People For Debts http://wcbe.org/post/report-muni-courts-jailing-poor-people-debts <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio says several municipal courts are illegally and unconstitutionally jailing people because they're too poor to pay court-imposed debts. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 16:37:58 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 33440 at http://wcbe.org School District Removes Jesus Portrait http://wcbe.org/post/school-district-removes-jesus-portrait <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Jackson City School district has taken down a portrait of Jesus because of concerns about the costs of defending the district against a federal lawsuit filed by the American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio and the Wisconsin-based Freedom From Religion Foundation. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 10:41:04 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 33417 at http://wcbe.org Lawsuit Over Jesus Portrait On School Board Agenda http://wcbe.org/post/lawsuit-over-jesus-portrait-school-board-agenda <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Jackson City School Board plans to decide tonight how to respond to a federal lawsuit seeking removal of a portrait of Jesus from its middle school. Tue, 12 Feb 2013 12:24:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 30516 at http://wcbe.org Jesus Portrait Sparks Controversy http://wcbe.org/post/jesus-portrait-sparks-controversy <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The American Civil Liberties Union and the Freedom From Religion Foundation are asking a federal judge to order the removal of a portrait of Jesus from the entranceway at Jackson Middle School. Fri, 08 Feb 2013 11:17:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 30319 at http://wcbe.org