Early voting http://wcbe.org en US Justice Department May Join Challenge To Ohio Voting Laws http://wcbe.org/post/us-justice-department-may-join-challenge-ohio-voting-laws <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">The U.S. Justice Department may be joining other groups who have gone to court to challenge changes in Ohio’s voting laws.&nbsp; M.L. Schultze of member station WKSU in Kent reports.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 23:13:58 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 59543 at http://wcbe.org US Justice Department May Join Challenge To Ohio Voting Laws Ohio Elections Chief Sets New Early Voting Hours http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-elections-chief-sets-new-early-voting-hours <p>Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted&nbsp;has issued new early voting hours for the final days before Election Day following a federal judge's order last week.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 13:44:00 +0000 Associated Press 57960 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Elections Chief Sets New Early Voting Hours Judge Orders Restoration Of Early Voting Hours http://wcbe.org/post/judge-orders-restoration-early-voting-hours <p><span lang="EN">Republican Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted says he will follow a federal judge's order to set early voting hours three days before elections are held. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 11:38:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 57614 at http://wcbe.org Judge Orders Restoration Of Early Voting Hours Columbus Event Examines State Voting Law Changes http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-event-examines-state-voting-law-changes <p><span lang="EN">The National Commission on Voting Rights will be in Columbus today for a hearing on cuts to early voting and other recent changes in Ohio voting laws. Fri, 30 May 2014 10:26:01 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56936 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Event Examines State Voting Law Changes Poll Shows Suprising Views On Issues Of Term Limits, Redistricting, And Early Voting http://wcbe.org/post/poll-shows-suprising-views-issues-term-limits-redistricting-and-early-voting <p><span lang="EN">A new University of Akron poll asked registered voters about three major issues. Wed, 28 May 2014 23:29:11 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 56857 at http://wcbe.org Ohio ACLU Sues State Over Early Voting Restrictions http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-aclu-sues-state-over-early-voting-restrictions <p>The American Civil Liberties Union of Ohio is suing the state in federal court over early voting&nbsp;changes scheduled to take effect this fall. Thu, 01 May 2014 23:28:55 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55327 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Military, Overseas May Primary Ballots Go Out http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-military-overseas-may-primary-ballots-go-out <div>Ohio's elections chief reminds&nbsp;Ohioans that early voting in the May 6 primary begins for military and overseas voters on Saturday and for others on April 1.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:49:58 +0000 Associated Press 53178 at http://wcbe.org Ballot Language Approved For Ohio "Voters Bill Of Rights" http://wcbe.org/post/ballot-language-approved-ohio-voters-bill-rights <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio group has been cleared to continue its effort to guarantee what it calls certain voter protections in the state constitution. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 00:02:08 +0000 Associated Press 52429 at http://wcbe.org "Voters Bill Of Rights" Backers Refile Ballot Summary http://wcbe.org/post/voters-bill-rights-backers-refile-ballot-summary <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio group has refiled its paperwork after hitting a snag in an effort to guarantee certain voter protections in the state constitution. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 00:51:48 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 52058 at http://wcbe.org Gubernatorial Candidate Critical Of New Elections Rules http://wcbe.org/post/gubernatorial-candidate-critical-new-elections-rules <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">Democratic gubernatorial candidate and Cuayhoga County executive Ed FitzGerald is criticizing a pair of new elections rules, saying they infringe on voting rights. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 00:49:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51910 at http://wcbe.org State Democratic Party Chair Predicts Lawsuit Over Absentee-Ballot Legislation http://wcbe.org/post/state-democratic-party-chair-predicts-lawsuit-over-absentee-ballot-legislation <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Democratic Party chair and&nbsp;State Representative Chris Redfern&nbsp;says he expects the organization to file a federal lawsuit over an absentee-ballot measure passed by the Republican-controlled Legislature. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:02:40 +0000 Associated Press 51487 at http://wcbe.org Legislature Approves Tougher Voting Requirements http://wcbe.org/post/legislature-approves-tougher-voting-requirements <p>Majority Republicans in the Ohio Senate have approved two bills affecting voter and ballot rules. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 12:23:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 46867 at http://wcbe.org Bill Would Scrap Early Voting Weekend Before Election Day http://wcbe.org/post/bill-would-scrap-early-voting-weekend-election-day <P>In 2008, 105 thousand Ohioans voted on the Saturday, Sunday or Monday before the general election. Mon, 26 Aug 2013 16:45:24 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 41972 at http://wcbe.org Secretary of State Says Record Number of Absentee Ballots Cast in 2012 http://wcbe.org/post/secretary-state-says-record-number-absentee-ballots-cast-2012 <P>More people voted early by absentee ballot in last fall’s presidential election than ever have before in Ohio. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 01:33:44 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Karen Kasler 28759 at http://wcbe.org Early And Absentee Voting Numbers http://wcbe.org/post/early-and-absentee-voting-numbers <P>More than a million of Ohio's nearly 8 million registered voters have taken steps to cast a ballot. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 13:50:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 24436 at http://wcbe.org Pool of undecided voters shrinking http://wcbe.org/post/pool-undecided-voters-shrinking <P>The first Presidential debate is tomorrow. But most polls show most Ohioans have already made up their minds when it comes to which candidate they’ll vote for. There is a small group of undecided voters but as Ohio Public Radio’s Jo Ingles reports, it’s hard to reach them…..and it could be hard for the candidates to reach them too.&nbsp; Tue, 02 Oct 2012 21:56:00 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 23673 at http://wcbe.org Absentee ballots are going out http://wcbe.org/post/absentee-ballots-are-going-out <P>Nearly a million Ohioans have returned absentee ballot request forms, asking for paper ballots from county boards of elections. And for those who’d like to cast a ballot early in person, voting starts tomorrow/today (Tuesday October 2nd) at locations specified by local boards of elections. Ohio Public Radio’s Jo Ingles says Ohio’s top elections official thinks early voting is looking good so&nbsp;<SPAN style="DISPLAY: none">&nbsp;</SPAN>far. Mon, 01 Oct 2012 20:28:42 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 23607 at http://wcbe.org Judge Denies Stay Of Husted's Early Voting Changes http://wcbe.org/post/judge-denies-stay-husteds-early-voting-changes <P><SPAN lang=EN>A Federal judge has denied a request by Secretary of State Jon Husted to stay </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>the court's order to restore early voting on the final weekend and Monday </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>before the November election while the state appeals. Thu, 13 Sep 2012 13:42:36 +0000 Jim Letizia 22619 at http://wcbe.org Fired Elections Officials Replaced http://wcbe.org/post/fired-elections-officials-replaced <P><SPAN lang=EN>Former Demcractic Dayton mayor Rhine McLin and Democratic attorney John Doll </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>have been nominated to replace two Montgomery County Board of Elections </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>officials fired in a dispute over extended voting hours. Tue, 11 Sep 2012 13:32:33 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 22458 at http://wcbe.org Early Voting Hearing Later This Month http://wcbe.org/post/early-voting-hearing-later-month <P><SPAN lang=EN>A federal district judge has ordered Secretary of State Jon Husted to appear </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>at a hearing scheduled for September 13th on early voting rules. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 13:25:27 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 22199 at http://wcbe.org