Attendance Data Fixing http://wcbe.org en ODE Subpoenas Records In CCS Data Scandal Probe http://wcbe.org/post/ode-subpoenas-records-ccs-data-scandal-probe <p><span lang="EN">Officials with the Ohio Department of Education have subpoenaed the records of former Columbus City Schools Superintendent Gene Harris and 60 current and former district officials as part of an investigation of the district's attendance data rigging scandal. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 10:16:04 +0000 Jim Letizia 58689 at http://wcbe.org ODE Subpoenas Records In CCS Data Scandal Probe Court: Harris Can't Be Sued In CCS Attendance Data Scandal http://wcbe.org/post/court-harris-cant-be-sued-ccs-attendance-data-scandal <p><span lang="EN">A state appeals court says former Columbus City Schools Superintendent Gene Harris may not sued in the recent attendance data-scrubbing scandal. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:55:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 58521 at http://wcbe.org Court: Harris Can't Be Sued In CCS Attendance Data Scandal State Wants Five Dozen CCS Employees To Give Up Their Licenses http://wcbe.org/post/state-wants-five-dozen-ccs-employees-give-their-licenses <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Education is giving 60 principals, assistant principals and other Columbus City Schools administrators a chance to give up their teaching licenses voluntarily or face a costly process to have them revoked. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:18:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 58447 at http://wcbe.org State Wants Five Dozen CCS Employees To Give Up Their Licenses 2 CCS Principals File Wrongful Termination Lawsuit http://wcbe.org/post/2-ccs-principals-file-wrongful-termination-lawsuit <p><span lang="EN">Two principals who are being fired for their alleged roles in the Columbus City Schools data-rigging scandal are suing the district and several officials. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 11:23:14 +0000 Jim Letizia 52972 at http://wcbe.org 2 CCS Principals File Wrongful Termination Lawsuit State Auditor Slams CCS in Long-Awaited Data-Scrubbing Report http://wcbe.org/post/state-auditor-slams-ccs-long-awaited-data-scrubbing-report <p>In his official report on the data scrubbing scandal in Columbus City Schools, State auditor David Yost says the district deliberately - and possibly criminally - changed grades, erased absences, and manipulated enrollment figures in order to make the district look better.&nbsp; Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:12:29 +0000 Alison Holm 50209 at http://wcbe.org State Auditor Slams CCS in Long-Awaited Data-Scrubbing Report Yost To Release CCS Data Scrubbing Investigative Report Today http://wcbe.org/post/yost-release-ccs-data-scrubbing-investigative-report-today <p><span lang="EN">Later this morning, State Auditor David Yost is scheduled to release the findings of his 18-month investigation into attendance data fixing in the Columbus City Schools. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:52:07 +0000 Alison Holm 50178 at http://wcbe.org Yost To Release CCS Data Scrubbing Investigative Report Today CCS To Launch Whistleblower Hotline http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-launch-whistleblower-hotline <p><span lang="EN">The Columbus City Schools will introduce a hotline by the first of March, allowing employees to anonymously report wrongdoing by phone or online. Fri, 24 Jan 2014 13:58:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49999 at http://wcbe.org District Hires Good, Baker Assumes Role As Board President http://wcbe.org/post/district-hires-good-baker-assumes-role-board-president <p><span lang="EN">Although Columbus City Schools were closed for a second straight day yesterday, the school board met last night to take care of a little business. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 16:56:54 +0000 Alison Holm 49241 at http://wcbe.org State Bills CCS For Data Probe http://wcbe.org/post/state-bills-ccs-data-probe <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Taxpayers are being asked to cover the costs of the investigation of the Columbus City Schools' data rigging scandal. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 10:44:39 +0000 Jim Letizia 42247 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Signs Columbus City Schools Bill http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-signs-columbus-city-schools-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Governor John Kasich yesterday signed into law a bill allowing some of the revenue from a planned 9.01 mill Columbus City Schools levy to be shared with charter schools. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 11:54:01 +0000 Jim Letizia 39440 at http://wcbe.org CCS Spending More On Attendance Data Scandal http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-spending-more-attendance-data-scandal <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus School District is spending more than 500 thousand dollars for legal services related to the state's attendance-data rigging investigation. Mon, 08 Jul 2013 10:58:17 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38891 at http://wcbe.org CCS Plans To Appoint Interim Superintendent http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-plans-appoint-interim-superintendent <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus School board meets tonight to appoint an interim superintendent to take over when Gene Harris steps down at the end of the week. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Alison Holm 38147 at http://wcbe.org CCS Creates New Student Data Policies http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-creates-new-student-data-policies <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus school district has created new policies to avoid a repeat of the attendance data-rigging scandal. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 16:25:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 37945 at http://wcbe.org Yost Praises CCS Internal Auditor http://wcbe.org/post/yost-praises-ccs-internal-auditor <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State Auditor David Yost says data scrubbing in the Columbus City Schools painted a false picture of district accomplishments, and may have cheated some students out of the chance for charter school vouchers or federally subsidized tutoring. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 12:00:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 36902 at http://wcbe.org CCS Board Considering Hiring Interim Superintendent http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-board-considering-hiring-interim-superintendent <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus School Board meets today to consider hiring OSU Vice President Joe Alutto as interim superintendent. Tue, 28 May 2013 10:28:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 36427 at http://wcbe.org Cops Seize CCS Records http://wcbe.org/post/cops-seize-ccs-records <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus Police officers this morning seized records wanted by the state auditor as part of his probe of the Columbus City Schools' attendance data tampering scandal, and his probe of alleged grade changing at Linden-McKinley High School. Thu, 02 May 2013 14:30:27 +0000 Jim Letizia 34911 at http://wcbe.org State Auditor Reports Data Scrubbing In 9 Districts http://wcbe.org/post/state-auditor-reports-data-scrubbing-9-districts <P>Ohio Auditor Dave Yost has added four more school districts to the list of those that are believed to have scrubbed data to make their schools look better on state reports. Tue, 12 Feb 2013 00:21:32 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 30499 at http://wcbe.org