Medicaid expansion http://wcbe.org en Medicaid Numbers Are Up, Uninsured Are Down Significantly http://wcbe.org/post/medicaid-numbers-are-uninsured-are-down-significantly <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201921463012695px;">When Ohio expanded Medicaid last fall, Governor John Kasich estimated as many as 330 thousand more people would take advantage.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 23:50:11 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 60294 at http://wcbe.org Medicaid Numbers Are Up, Uninsured Are Down Significantly More Ohioans Enroll In Medicaid http://wcbe.org/post/more-ohioans-enroll-medicaid <p><span lang="EN">23 thousand newly eligible low-income Ohioans enrolled in Medicaid last month, as part of an expansion of the program promoted by Governor John Kasich. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 12:04:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51128 at http://wcbe.org Over 54-thousand Ohioans Use Website To Apply For Medicaid http://wcbe.org/post/over-54-thousand-ohioans-use-website-apply-medicaid <p><span lang="EN">Ohio officials say they've received more than 54,000 applications from people seeking Medicaid health coverage through a new state website. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 00:36:59 +0000 Associated Press 50284 at http://wcbe.org Medicaid Applications Rolling In On New State Website http://wcbe.org/post/medicaid-applications-rolling-new-state-website <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio officials say they've received more than 17,000 applications from people seeking Medicaid health coverage through a new state website. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 01:15:42 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 48989 at http://wcbe.org Ruling Sets Future For Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/ruling-sets-future-medicaid-expansion <p>Now that the Ohio Supreme Court has made a decision on Medicaid expansion, it appears it’s here to stay - at least for now. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:10:34 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48549 at http://wcbe.org Medicaid Expansion Supporters Decide To Drop Referendum Petition http://wcbe.org/post/medicaid-expansion-supporters-decide-drop-referendum-petition <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Supporters of extending Medicaid have abandoned an effort that could have put the issue before Ohio voters, because they say two actions by state officials made expansion a reality. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 00:50:35 +0000 Associated Press 48191 at http://wcbe.org State Defends Controlling Board Decision On Medicaid Expansion To Ohio Supreme Court http://wcbe.org/post/state-defends-controlling-board-decision-medicaid-expansion-ohio-supreme-court <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">State attorneys say an Ohio legislative panel acted consistently with state law and standard practice when it approved funding an expansion of the Medicaid program last month. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 01:57:18 +0000 Associated Press 47099 at http://wcbe.org State Senators Approve Legislation To Limit Power Of State Controlling Board http://wcbe.org/post/state-senators-approve-legislation-limit-power-state-controlling-board <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio senators have approved a bill to place limits on a legislative board that had a key role in the state's expansion of Medicaid. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 01:06:17 +0000 Associated Press 46851 at http://wcbe.org Enrollment In Expanded Medicaid Program Begins Next Month http://wcbe.org/post/enrollment-expanded-medicaid-program-begins-next-month <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The state says 366 thousand low-income Ohioans who are newly eligible for coverage under Medicaid expansion may start signing up on December 9th. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 12:12:47 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 46467 at http://wcbe.org Debate Continues Over How To Use Medicaid Expansion Surplus http://wcbe.org/post/debate-continues-over-how-use-medicaid-expansion-surplus <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio is expected to have a surplus of 400 million dollars as a result of expanding Medicaid. Wed, 13 Nov 2013 23:11:47 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 46442 at http://wcbe.org Anti-abortion Groups Split Over Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/anti-abortion-groups-split-over-medicaid-expansion <p>The fight over Medicaid expansion has shown a deep split between Republicans who support Gov. Kasich on the issue and those who oppose his decision to go ahead with it. Mon, 28 Oct 2013 16:52:26 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 45506 at http://wcbe.org Should Ohioans Get A Taxcut Because Of Medicaid Expansion? http://wcbe.org/post/should-ohioans-get-taxcut-because-medicaid-expansion <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">As Ohio prepares to expand Medicaid, there are questions about who will benefit and whether taxpayers should get a tax cut. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 10:54:32 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 45383 at http://wcbe.org Law Professor Thinks Medicaid Expansion Will Stand http://wcbe.org/post/law-professor-thinks-medicaid-expansion-will-stand <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio Governor John Kasich's decision to sidestep the legislature and use the state Controlling Board to expand Medicaid has Tea Party-backed critics mounting a legal challenge. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 10:41:02 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 45298 at http://wcbe.org Figures Differ On Low-Income Ohioans Covered Under Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/figures-differ-low-income-ohioans-covered-under-medicaid-expansion <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">When Medicaid expansion was discussed in recent months, advocates said it would allow coverage for 275 thousand low-income Ohioans. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 10:32:33 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 45295 at http://wcbe.org Bill Would Give Medicaid Expansion Savings To Taxpayers http://wcbe.org/post/bill-would-give-medicaid-expansion-savings-taxpayers <p>One of the Republican Senators who voted to allow the state to accept two and a half billion federal dollars for Medicaid expansion has introduced a bill to give Ohioans a tax break. Wed, 23 Oct 2013 16:49:46 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 45253 at http://wcbe.org Conservative Groups Sue State Over Medicaid Expansion Plan http://wcbe.org/post/conservative-groups-sue-state-over-medicaid-expansion-plan <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Anti-abortion groups and six Republican lawmakers in Ohio are suing the state over a move to fund an expansion of the Medicaid health program. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 22:56:20 +0000 Associated Press 45222 at http://wcbe.org Controlling Board Approves Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/controlling-board-approves-medicaid-expansion <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The State Controlling Board has approved expanding Medicaid to cover thousands more low-income Ohioans. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 11:22:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 45156 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Moving Ahead On Plan To Expand Medicaid http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-moving-ahead-plan-expand-medicaid <p>An expansion of Medicaid in Ohio could hinge on approval from a little known, but powerful state panel. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 17:50:00 +0000 Associated Press 44689 at http://wcbe.org How Kasich Could Expand Medicaid Without Legislative Approval http://wcbe.org/post/how-kasich-could-expand-medicaid-without-legislative-approval <p>Beginning Tuesday, Ohioans can sign up on the new marketplace for health insurance called exchanges. But thousands of low income Ohioans would be eligible for Medicaid coverage if the state were to expand the program. Mon, 30 Sep 2013 15:05:42 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 44003 at http://wcbe.org Debate Over Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/debate-over-medicaid-expansion <P>A coalition of backers of Medicaid expansion has started its petition drive to put the issue before voters if lawmakers don’t expand the program to 275,000 low income Ohioans – as Gov. John Kasich had proposed in his original budget. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 17:36:45 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 43618 at http://wcbe.org