U.S. Environmental Protection Agency http://wcbe.org en Standards For Posting Beach Warnings Under Debate http://wcbe.org/post/standards-posting-beach-warnings-under-debate <p><span lang="EN">Federal and state officials are clashing over standards for warning the public about water contamination at the nation's beaches. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 15:48:33 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 58711 at http://wcbe.org Standards For Posting Beach Warnings Under Debate Some Ohio Business And Health Leaders Praise New Carbon Emissions Goal http://wcbe.org/post/some-ohio-business-and-health-leaders-praise-new-carbon-emissions-goal <p><span lang="EN">Many utility companies and other businesses are critical of the Obama administration's recently-announced goal of cutting carbon emissions from power plants by 30 percent from 2005 levels over the next 16 years. Tue, 10 Jun 2014 16:01:59 +0000 Jim Letizia 57490 at http://wcbe.org Some Ohio Business And Health Leaders Praise New Carbon Emissions Goal Ohio Bill Would Limit Impact Of New Pollution Rule http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-bill-would-limit-impact-new-pollution-rule <div>Ohio lawmakers are expected to quickly take action on legislation intended to limit the impact of federal plans to cut carbon dioxide emissions from power plants by 30 percent by 2030.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 02 Jun 2014 16:28:12 +0000 Associated Press 57072 at http://wcbe.org Group Of States Want Ohio And Others To Reduce Emissions http://wcbe.org/post/group-states-want-ohio-and-others-reduce-emissions <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Eight Northeast and Mid-Atlantic states are asking the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to require Ohio and eight other upwind states to cut emissions of harmful pollutants. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 17:35:42 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 47845 at http://wcbe.org Groups Sound Off On Obama’s Call For Carbon Emission Standards http://wcbe.org/post/groups-sound-obama-s-call-carbon-emission-standards <P>Ohio groups are sounding off in reaction to President Obama’s call for reduced carbon emissions from new power plants. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 17:39:56 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 43619 at http://wcbe.org Parents Of Kids In Cancer Cluster Want To Meet With EPA Chief http://wcbe.org/post/parents-kids-cancer-cluster-want-meet-epa-chief <P>Families whose children have been among dozens sickened in a&nbsp; cancer cluster in Clyde want to meet with the new head of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.&nbsp; Thu, 19 Sep 2013 10:23:29 +0000 Jim Letizia 43381 at http://wcbe.org Teachers Study Great Lake From Ship http://wcbe.org/post/teachers-study-great-lake-ship <P>Fifteen teachers from five states - including Ohio - are spending the week on Lake Ontario as part of a research program. The teachers are aboard the Lake Guardian, a research vessel operated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Wed, 10 Jul 2013 17:03:23 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 39081 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Chemical Reporting Laws Should Not Trump EPA Regulations http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-chemical-reporting-laws-should-not-trump-epa-regulations <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. EPA is investigating the cause of a January chemical emergency at an Auglaize County well facility and asking why an inventory of the facility's chemicals wasn't available to local safety authorities. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 12:45:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38314 at http://wcbe.org McCarthy Nomination Clears Senate Committee http://wcbe.org/post/mccarthy-nomination-clears-senate-committee <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>President Obama's choice to head the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency has cleared one procedural hurdle, but another remains. Fri, 17 May 2013 16:36:39 +0000 Jim Letizia 35847 at http://wcbe.org New Ballast Water Requirements http://wcbe.org/post/new-ballast-water-requirements <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. EPA has issued new requirements for cleansing ballast water dumped from ships, which scientists believe has brought invasive species that damage ecosystems and cost the economy billions of dollars. Fri, 29 Mar 2013 16:24:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 33158 at http://wcbe.org Great Lakes Advisory Board Members Selected http://wcbe.org/post/great-lakes-advisory-board-members-selected <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. EPA has selected the members of the Great Lakes Advisory Board. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 16:19:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 32378 at http://wcbe.org AEP Settles With Feds, Eight States http://wcbe.org/post/aep-settles-feds-eight-states <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus-based American Electric Power will stop burning coal at two power plants in Ohio and Indiana by the end of 2015 under a legal settlement reached with the U.S. EPA, eight states and several environmental groups. Tue, 26 Feb 2013 12:48:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31317 at http://wcbe.org