Policy Matters Ohio http://wcbe.org en Ohio’s Elderly Greatly Abused And Neglected, Says Group http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-s-elderly-greatly-abused-and-neglected-says-group <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">Ohio’s elderly are vastly unprotected and underserved, according to a public policy group’s latest report. Mon, 19 May 2014 14:26:54 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 56241 at http://wcbe.org Advice For Those Losing Extended Unemployment Insurance Benefits http://wcbe.org/post/advice-those-losing-extended-unemployment-insurance-benefits <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Labor Department says the number of Ohioans filing first-time claims for unemployment insurance benefits rose by 15 hundred last week due to layoffs in manufacturing. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 12:04:38 +0000 Jim Letizia 48719 at http://wcbe.org Figures Differ On Low-Income Ohioans Covered Under Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/figures-differ-low-income-ohioans-covered-under-medicaid-expansion <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">When Medicaid expansion was discussed in recent months, advocates said it would allow coverage for 275 thousand low-income Ohioans. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 10:32:33 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 45295 at http://wcbe.org Local Governments Struggle To Provide Services After State Cuts http://wcbe.org/post/local-governments-struggle-provide-services-after-state-cuts <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Columbus city leaders are working toward a 75 million dollar balance in the municipal rainy day fund. One of the reasons is to help the city maintain services in an era of state funding cuts. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 23:56:44 +0000 Jim Letizia 43867 at http://wcbe.org Study Paints Poor Picture Of Ohio Economy http://wcbe.org/post/study-paints-poor-picture-ohio-economy <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A study by a progressive-leaning think tank shows Ohio continues to have high rates of unemployment and low wages. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 10:56:16 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 42406 at http://wcbe.org Dueling Studies On Ohio’s Tax Reform System http://wcbe.org/post/dueling-studies-ohio-s-tax-reform-system <P>Some Ohio retailers say the new state budget will help the state’s brick and mortar stores by equalizing the tax structure for online purchases. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 13:31:52 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 39884 at http://wcbe.org Studies: State Budget Will Hurt Ohioans' Pocketbooks http://wcbe.org/post/studies-state-budget-will-hurt-ohioans-pocketbooks <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Republican Party hails the new two year state budget as a win for taxpayers. Mon, 08 Jul 2013 11:31:05 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 38900 at http://wcbe.org Benefits Of State Film Tax Credits Debated http://wcbe.org/post/benefits-state-film-tax-credits-debated <P>As more films are made in the state, there is renewed debate over the tax credits Ohio is using to lure movie makers here.&nbsp; Fri, 07 Jun 2013 01:24:44 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 37101 at http://wcbe.org Activists Lobby For Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/activists-lobby-medicaid-expansion <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Advocates for expanding Medicaid used the Mother's Day holiday to ask state lawmakers what their mothers would do about the issue. Tue, 14 May 2013 10:22:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 35569 at http://wcbe.org Debate Over Proposed Tax Shift Continues http://wcbe.org/post/debate-over-proposed-tax-shift-continues <P>Republicans who dominate the Ohio legislature are continuing to signal their enthusiasm for GOP Governor John Kasich's proposal to slash the graduated state income tax. That was clear again&nbsp;Tuesday when a House tax-writing subcommittee held another hearing on the idea that's just PART of a much larger tax SHIFT proposal. Statehouse correspondent Bill Cohen reports.</P> Tue, 12 Mar 2013 23:27:14 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Bill Cohen 32192 at http://wcbe.org