News http://wcbe.org en 3 Teens Charged For Throwing Rock That Injured Ohio Teacher http://wcbe.org/post/3-teens-charged-throwing-rock-injured-ohio-teacher <p><span lang="EN">Three Pennsylvania teenagers have been charged as adults in a highway rock-throwing incident that left an Ohio teacher critically injured. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:42:47 +0000 Associated Press 59948 at http://wcbe.org Remembering Jazz Musician, Columbus Native Gene Walker http://wcbe.org/post/remembering-jazz-musician-columbus-native-gene-walker <p>Longtime Columbus jazz musician Gene Walker has died. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:17:02 +0000 Jim Letizia & Mike Foley 59918 at http://wcbe.org Remembering Jazz Musician, Columbus Native Gene Walker Council Approves Rideshare Regulations, Placing Charter Amendments On The Ballot http://wcbe.org/post/council-approves-rideshare-regulations-placing-charter-amendments-ballot <p>Columbus City Council last night approved new regulations governing app-based ride sharing services. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:15:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 59917 at http://wcbe.org Council Approves Rideshare Regulations, Placing Charter Amendments On The Ballot Appeals Court Issues Stay Of Judge's Order In VLT Academy Case http://wcbe.org/post/appeals-court-issues-stay-judges-order-vlt-academy-case <p>An appeals court has put on hold a judge's order that the Ohio Department of Education sponsor a downtown Cincinnati charter school to keep it operating. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:05:01 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59915 at http://wcbe.org Appeals Court Issues Stay Of Judge's Order In VLT Academy Case Cyber Porn Costs Local Fire Chief His Job http://wcbe.org/post/cyber-porn-costs-local-fire-chief-his-job <p>A Licking County fire chief has been dismissed amid allegations of collecting pornography on his work computer.&nbsp; Tue, 22 Jul 2014 11:02:32 +0000 Jim Letizia 59913 at http://wcbe.org Cyber Porn Costs Local Fire Chief His Job Athens County Crash Claims One Life http://wcbe.org/post/athens-county-crash-claims-one-life <p>The State Highway Patrol says an 18-year-old man has been killed in a single vehicle crash in Stewart. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:57:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59911 at http://wcbe.org Athens County Crash Claims One Life Two Teens Sought In Late Night Slaying http://wcbe.org/post/two-teens-sought-late-night-slaying <p>Columbus police say they are looking for two teenage boys suspected in a murder on the South side. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 10:55:52 +0000 Jim Letizia 59909 at http://wcbe.org Two Teens Sought In Late Night Slaying Former Ohio Lawmaker Denied Early Prison Release http://wcbe.org/post/former-ohio-lawmaker-denied-early-prison-release <div><p>A judge has denied early release from prison for a former Ohio lawmaker who authorities say took trips and cash in exchange for taking steps to introduce legislation.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 22:17:41 +0000 Associated Press 59890 at http://wcbe.org Former Ohio Lawmaker Denied Early Prison Release Suspect In Hocking County Murder Shoots Self http://wcbe.org/post/suspect-hocking-county-murder-shoots-self <p><span lang="EN">A man suspected of wounding his ex-wife and killing a man at a cabin in the Hocking Hills Saturday has been flown to a Dayton hospital after shooting himself in a Fayette County motel. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 15:41:59 +0000 Associated Press 59860 at http://wcbe.org City Council to Vote On Regulations To Place Referendums On Ballot http://wcbe.org/post/city-council-vote-regulations-place-referendums-ballot <p>Columbus City Council tonight is scheduled to vote on legislation making it tougher for individuals or groups to place an initiative or referendum before the voters. Jim Letizia reports.&nbsp; Mon, 21 Jul 2014 14:59:49 +0000 Jim Letizia 59853 at http://wcbe.org City Council to Vote On Regulations To Place Referendums On Ballot Hearing Held For Greenpeace Activists In March 4th P&G Protest http://wcbe.org/post/hearing-held-greenpeace-activists-march-4th-pg-protest <p><span lang="EN">A southwest Ohio judge plans to hear from prosecutors and defense attorneys about the case against nine Greenpeace activists today. No trial date has been set yet on burglary and vandalism charges that followed the March 4 protest at Procter &amp; Gamble Co. headquarters in Cincinnati. Hamilton County Judge Robert Winkler has rejected defense arguments that the activists were simply exercising their free speech rights when they unfurled giant banners from the consumer products maker's towers as a helicopter filmed them. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 10:53:04 +0000 Associated Press 59840 at http://wcbe.org Hearing Held For Greenpeace Activists In March 4th P&G Protest Board: No Same-Sex Marriages At Statehouse http://wcbe.org/post/board-no-same-sex-marriages-statehouse <p>The Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board says it will maintain its policy of preventing same-sex couples and others without valid Ohio wedding licenses from renting the Statehouse and its grounds for weddings and receptions. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 07:27:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59776 at http://wcbe.org Board: No Same-Sex Marriages At Statehouse Corporate Sponsorship Generates State Infrastructure Funding http://wcbe.org/post/corporate-sponsorship-generates-state-infrastructure-funding <p>The Ohio Department of Transportation is getting new money from corporate sponsors. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 07:17:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 59775 at http://wcbe.org Corporate Sponsorship Generates State Infrastructure Funding Portman Weighs In On Surge Of Unaccompanied Central American Minors Crossing U.S. border http://wcbe.org/post/portman-weighs-surge-unaccompanied-central-american-minors-crossing-us-border <p>The presidents of Guatemala, El Salvador and Honduras will come to Washington next week to discuss the surge of unaccompanied minors from their countries across the U.S border.&nbsp;&nbsp; Sat, 19 Jul 2014 07:11:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 59774 at http://wcbe.org Portman Weighs In On Surge Of Unaccompanied Central American Minors Crossing U.S. border Death Of Ohio Teen Prompts Powdered Caffeine Warning http://wcbe.org/post/death-ohio-teen-prompts-powdered-caffeine-warning <p>The Food and Drug Administration is warning consumers to avoid pure powdered caffeine sold on the Internet after the death of an Ohio teen. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 06:58:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59773 at http://wcbe.org Death Of Ohio Teen Prompts Powdered Caffeine Warning Lottery Sets Sales, Profit Records http://wcbe.org/post/lottery-sets-sales-profit-records <p>The Ohio Lottery is reports record-high sales and profits for the 2014 fiscal year, boosted in part by revenue from new video lottery terminals at three racinos. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 06:55:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59772 at http://wcbe.org Lottery Sets Sales, Profit Records City, State Partner To Help Educate Low-Income Children http://wcbe.org/post/city-state-partner-help-educate-low-income-children <p>Some low income Columbus children are the first to take advantage of a full day pre-school program that pairs community investment with state dollars. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 06:47:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 59771 at http://wcbe.org City, State Partner To Help Educate Low-Income Children Hotel To Be Located In LeVeque Tower http://wcbe.org/post/hotel-be-located-leveque-tower <p>Plans are in the works to place a hotel in LeVeque Tower.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Jul 2014 16:00:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 59746 at http://wcbe.org Hotel To Be Located In LeVeque Tower Ohio's Jobless Rate Steady http://wcbe.org/post/ohios-jobless-rate-steady <p>Ohio's unemployment rate for June was 5.5 percent, unchanged from the previous month. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:57:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59745 at http://wcbe.org Ohio's Jobless Rate Steady Farmer In Kasich Radio Ad Not Just A Farmer http://wcbe.org/post/farmer-kasich-radio-ad-not-just-farmer <p>The farmer featured in a radio ad for Governor John Kasich's re-election campaign airing across rural Ohio sits on the board of Columbus-based Nationwide Insurance.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:55:04 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59744 at http://wcbe.org Farmer In Kasich Radio Ad Not Just A Farmer