News http://wcbe.org en Multiple Mumps Cases Found In Central Ohio School http://wcbe.org/post/multiple-mumps-cases-found-central-ohio-school <div>A central Ohio health district is investigating a probable cluster of mumps cases after two cases were reported in one school building, in addition to 25 more cases in the county. &nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 23:37:53 +0000 Associated Press 54582 at http://wcbe.org Ohio’s Unemployment Rate Drops To Lowest Level In Six Years http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-s-unemployment-rate-drops-lowest-level-six-years <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201919555664063px;">There’s good news on the job front in Ohio. Statehouse correspondent Jo Ingles reports the unemployment rate has been dropping.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 23:36:05 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 54581 at http://wcbe.org Gee's Move To WVU Could Save Ohio State Millions http://wcbe.org/post/gees-move-wvu-could-save-ohio-state-millions <div>Ohio State University expects to save millions of dollars because former president Gordon Gee is giving up part of his retirement package as he becomes president of West Virginia University.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 23:32:54 +0000 Associated Press 54580 at http://wcbe.org Democratic Candidate For Governor Launches Radio Ads http://wcbe.org/post/democratic-candidate-governor-launches-radio-ads <p><span style="font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: 19.201919555664063px;">The ad war is on in the governor’s race.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 23:30:45 +0000 Karen Kasler (Ohio Public Radio) 54579 at http://wcbe.org State Unemployment Rate Hits Six Year Low http://wcbe.org/post/state-unemployment-rate-hits-six-year-low <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's unemployment rate dropped by four-tenths of a percent in March to the lowest level in six years. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:01:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54546 at http://wcbe.org State Unemployment Rate Hits Six Year Low Local Organic Farmer Gets Probation For Growing Pot http://wcbe.org/post/local-organic-farmer-gets-probation-growing-pot <p><span lang="EN">A Union County judge is allowing an organic farmer to keep his 5-acre property where authorities found he was growing hundreds of marijuana plants last summer.Investigators cleared Welly's business partner, who said she had no idea he had been growing marijuana.<br /> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 15:58:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54545 at http://wcbe.org Local Organic Farmer Gets Probation For Growing Pot Father Of Chardon HS Shooting Victim Died Of Drug Overdose http://wcbe.org/post/father-chardon-hs-shooting-victim-died-drug-overdose <p><span lang="EN">The Geauga County coroner says the father of a Chardon High School shooting victim died of a heroin and ethanol overdose. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 15:52:06 +0000 Jim Letizia 54544 at http://wcbe.org Police Searching For Motive In Local Stabbing Death http://wcbe.org/post/police-searching-motive-local-stabbing-death <p><span lang="EN">Columbus police say they have questioned two people in connection with the apparent murder of an 89-year-old woman yesterday. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:17:03 +0000 Jim Letizia 54537 at http://wcbe.org Charges Filed Against Man Who Told Authorities He Killed His Mother http://wcbe.org/post/charges-filed-against-man-who-told-authorities-he-killed-his-mother <p><span lang="EN">The Madison Township man accused of killing his mother late Wednesday night has been charged with murder. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:16:11 +0000 Jim Letizia 54536 at http://wcbe.org Regional Leaders Launch Effort To Deal With Projected Population Growth http://wcbe.org/post/regional-leaders-launch-effort-deal-projected-population-growth <p><span lang="EN">Mid Ohio Regional Planning Commission officials are bracing for massive population growth. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:05:01 +0000 Jim Letizia 54535 at http://wcbe.org Regional Leaders Launch Effort To Deal With Projected Population Growth Man Sentenced In Beating Death Of His Grandmother http://wcbe.org/post/man-sentenced-beating-death-his-grandmother <p><span lang="EN">A Columbus man who pleaded guilty in the death of his 90-year-old grandmother was sentenced Thursday to 17 years in prison. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 11:01:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54534 at http://wcbe.org Local Man Sentenced In Hit-Skip Death http://wcbe.org/post/local-man-sentenced-hit-skip-death <p><span lang="EN">A Franklin County judge this week sentenced the motorist who hit and killed a pedestrian in Victorian Village last July to three years in prison. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:56:33 +0000 Jim Letizia 54533 at http://wcbe.org Jerrie Mock Statue Unveiled At Port Columbus http://wcbe.org/post/jerrie-mock-statue-unveiled-port-columbus <p><span lang="EN">Jerrie Mock's history-making flight has been memorialized with a newly unveiled statue at Port Columbus. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:54:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54527 at http://wcbe.org Cooper Stadium Demolition Begins http://wcbe.org/post/cooper-stadium-demolition-begins <p><span lang="EN">Demolition work is underway to transform Cooper Stadium into a race track and automotive research center. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 10:47:57 +0000 Jim Letizia 54526 at http://wcbe.org Cooper Stadium Demolition Begins Increased Use Of Drones Prompts Concerns Over Regulation http://wcbe.org/post/increased-use-drones-prompts-concerns-over-regulation <p>As businesses consider new ways to commercialize drones, individuals also are toying with them more. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:20:16 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 54518 at http://wcbe.org Attorney General Announces Ban On Drug-Related Chemical Compounds http://wcbe.org/post/attorney-general-announces-ban-drug-related-chemical-compounds <p><span lang="EN">The state says a new rule has gone into effect in Ohio that permanently bans two new chemicals abused as illegal synthetic drugs. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:11:34 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 54517 at http://wcbe.org Statehouse Democrats Push For More Campaign Donation Transparency http://wcbe.org/post/statehouse-democrats-push-more-campaign-donation-transparency <p>Some minority Democrats at the Statehouse want to introduce legislation to make campaign contributions more transparent. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 23:04:06 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 54516 at http://wcbe.org More Space For Homeless Families Planned http://wcbe.org/post/more-space-homeless-families-planned <p><span lang="EN">The Community Shelter Board is expanding space for homeless families as their numbers increase. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:18:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54475 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Joins Push For Stronger Gun Laws http://wcbe.org/post/coleman-joins-push-stronger-gun-laws <p></p><p><span lang="EN">Former New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg says he plans to <span lang="EN">spend 50 million dollars this year to form a group that will push to get 1 million gun-control supporters to the polls. </span></span></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:30:56 +0000 Jim Letizia 54471 at http://wcbe.org Coleman Joins Push For Stronger Gun Laws Jackets Fall In Game One At Pittsburgh http://wcbe.org/post/jackets-fall-game-one-pittsburgh <p><span lang="EN">Brandon Sutter's third period goal capped the Penguins' rally from a two-goal deficit and lifted Pittsburgh over the visiting Columbus Blue Jackets 4-3 last night in game one of the Eastern Conference quarterfinals. Jackets coach Todd Richards.</span></p><p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">&nbsp;</span></span></p><p><span lang="EN">&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:24:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54470 at http://wcbe.org Jackets Fall In Game One At Pittsburgh