Gay Marriage http://wcbe.org en Judge Stays Most Of Ohio Gay Marriage Ruling http://wcbe.org/post/judge-stays-most-ohio-gay-marriage-ruling <p>A federal judge has put on hold the majority of what attorneys have called a "momentous" change to Ohio's gay marriage law. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 16:35:30 +0000 Associated Press 54419 at http://wcbe.org Judge Promises To Strike Down Part Of Ohio Gay Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/judge-promises-strike-down-part-ohio-gay-marriage-ban <p>It appears Ohio’s constitutional amendment that bans gay marriage is in jeopardy. As Ohio Public Radio’s Jo Ingles reports, a federal judge is promising to strike down a main part of that law.&nbsp;</p><p>Cincinnati area Attorney Al Gerhardstein, the attorney who has been fighting the state’s ban on recognizing gay marriages performed in other states for purposes of death and birth certificates, says Federal Judge Tim Black is poised to rule a key part of Ohio’s law unconstitutional.</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:47:28 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 53849 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Couple Drops Lawsuit Over Gay Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-couple-drops-lawsuit-over-gay-marriage-ban <div>A gay married couple who had trouble getting family coverage under the federal health care law have dropped their lawsuit seeking to overturn Ohio's gay marriage ban.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 23:02:00 +0000 Associated Press 53475 at http://wcbe.org Federal Judge To Hear Ohio Gay Marriage Case http://wcbe.org/post/federal-judge-hear-ohio-gay-marriage-case <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Both sides in a dispute over whether gay marriage should be recognized on Ohio death certificates will argue their cases in front of a federal judge today in Cincinnati. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 15:32:52 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 48287 at http://wcbe.org Same-Sex Marriage Effort Begins Despite Internal Disagreements http://wcbe.org/post/same-sex-marriage-effort-begins-despite-internal-disagreements <P>Backers of gay marriage are embarking on a public awareness campaign to educate Ohioans about the need for changing the state law. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 02:20:46 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 42797 at http://wcbe.org Some Right-to-Life Chapters Add Opposition To Gay Marriage To Mission http://wcbe.org/post/some-right-life-chapters-add-opposition-gay-marriage-mission <P>Another Right-to-Life chapter in Ohio is making opposition to same-sex marriage a core part of its mission. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 00:59:55 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 40067 at http://wcbe.org Judge Rules In Favor Of Same-Sex Couple http://wcbe.org/post/judge-rules-favor-same-sex-couple <P>A federal judge has ruled in favor of two Ohio men who want their out-of-state marriage recognized as one of them nears death. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 18:42:19 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 39906 at http://wcbe.org Gay Marriage Constitutional Amendment Backers Will Wait Until 2014 http://wcbe.org/post/gay-marriage-constitutional-amendment-backers-will-wait-until-2014 <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The group seeking to overturn Ohio's 2004 ban on same-sex marriage says it's aiming to put the issue before voters in 2014. Wed, 05 Jun 2013 23:10:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 37025 at http://wcbe.org Constituents Question Portman On Same Sex Marriage http://wcbe.org/post/constituents-question-portman-same-sex-marriage <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Republican U.S. Senator Rob Portman has been called a phony conservative by&nbsp;some on the political right following his announcement last month that he supports gay marriage. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 16:29:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 33437 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Backs Civil Unions http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-backs-civil-unions <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Governor John Kasich now says he supports civil unions for same-sex couples, but not gay marriage. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 12:16:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 32746 at http://wcbe.org Portman Now Supports Gay Marriage http://wcbe.org/post/portman-now-supports-gay-marriage <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Republican U.S. Senator Rob Portman of Ohio says he now supports gay marriage because one of his sons is gay. Fri, 15 Mar 2013 11:37:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 32361 at http://wcbe.org