Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation http://wcbe.org en BWC May Appeal Court Ruling On Overcharging Small Businesses http://wcbe.org/post/bwc-may-appeal-court-ruling-overcharging-small-businesses <p><span lang="EN">Nearly a billion dollars is on the line in a lawsuit filed by 270,000 Ohio businesses against the state’s Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 23:29:42 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 57458 at http://wcbe.org Court: BWC Ran Illegal Premiums System http://wcbe.org/post/court-bwc-ran-illegal-premiums-system <p><span lang="EN">The 8th Ohio District Court of Appeals has ruled the state Bureau of Workers' Compensation set up an illegal rating system that resulted in employers being overcharged nearly 860 million dollars over several years. Fri, 16 May 2014 15:45:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56125 at http://wcbe.org Court: BWC Ran Illegal Premiums System I.G. Releases Coingate Report http://wcbe.org/post/ig-releases-coingate-report <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Inspector General has released the investigative report on the "Coingate" investment scandal of 2005 that resulted in the conviction of then-Governor Bob Taft and 18 other people. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 10:57:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 54945 at http://wcbe.org I.G. Releases Coingate Report BWC Investment Evokes Memories Of Coingate http://wcbe.org/post/bwc-investment-evokes-memories-coingate <p>The Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation has agreed to put 50 million dollars into a Wisconsin-based real-estate investment fund run by a major bundler of campaign contributions to Republican presidential candidates. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 10:46:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54729 at http://wcbe.org BWC Hires Top Investigator http://wcbe.org/post/bwc-hires-top-investigator-0 <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation has hired a veteran police officer to lead the agency's Special Investigations Department. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 10:28:54 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42401 at http://wcbe.org Magistrate: No New Trial For Noe http://wcbe.org/post/magistrate-no-new-trial-noe <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A federal magistrate is recommending against a new trial for the former Toledo coin dealer and Republican party fundraiser at the center of an Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation investment scandal. Fri, 21 Jun 2013 10:54:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 37989 at http://wcbe.org BWC Board Approves Business Payouts http://wcbe.org/post/bwc-board-approves-business-payouts <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The board of the Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation today approved Governor John Kasich's proposal to give 1 billion dollars worth of cash rebates to businesses, local governments and schools. Thu, 30 May 2013 16:18:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 36628 at http://wcbe.org BWC Ordered To Pay Restitution To Businesses http://wcbe.org/post/bwc-ordered-pay-restitution-businesses <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A Cuyahoga County judge has ruled the Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation must pay hundreds of millions of dollars in restitution to more than 270 thousand businesses. Thu, 21 Mar 2013 12:25:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 32661 at http://wcbe.org