U.S. Department of Agriculture http://wcbe.org en Officials Encourage Greater Participation In Summer Meal Program http://wcbe.org/post/officials-encourage-greater-participation-summer-meal-program <p>Federal and state officials are trying to get more low-income children to participate in free or reduced-price meal programs this summer. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:47:59 +0000 Jim Letizia 59660 at http://wcbe.org Officials Encourage Greater Participation In Summer Meal Program Ohio Beekeepers Lost Colonies Over The Winter http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-beekeepers-lost-colonies-over-winter <p><span lang="EN">State agriculture officials say beekeepers lost 50 to 80 percent of their honeybees over the winter, threatening the farming industry. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 16:33:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54893 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Beekeepers Lost Colonies Over The Winter Bad Weather Could Force Changes In School Meals Programs http://wcbe.org/post/bad-weather-could-force-changes-school-meals-programs <p><span lang="EN">Thousands of families had to find different ways to feed their kids after multiple calamity days at schools cut them off from access to free or reduced-priced meals. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 10:57:02 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 53028 at http://wcbe.org Fireworks To Be Used To Get Rid Of Geese Near Olentangy River http://wcbe.org/post/fireworks-be-used-get-rid-geese-near-olentangy-river <p><span lang="EN">The city of Columbus plans to use fireworks and lasers to scare away the geese officials say are thwarting efforts to develop newly widened Olentangy River banks. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 16:25:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52862 at http://wcbe.org U.S., Ohio Corn Production Rose Last Year http://wcbe.org/post/us-ohio-corn-production-rose-last-year <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The U.S. Department of Agriculture says American farmers produced nearly 14 billion bushels of corn in 2013. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:01:02 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49003 at http://wcbe.org One In Six Ohioans Facing Food Insecurity http://wcbe.org/post/one-six-ohioans-facing-food-insecurity <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>New data from the U.S. Department of Agriculture shows low-income Ohioans continue to have problems feeding themselves and their families. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 15:40:11 +0000 Jim Letizia 42655 at http://wcbe.org Feds Lower Estimate On Corn Crop http://wcbe.org/post/feds-lower-estimate-corn-crop <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The U.S. Department of Agriculture has slightly lowered its estimate of the size of this year's corn crop, reflecting late planting in Ohio and other states caused by a wet spring. Fri, 12 Jul 2013 11:02:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39223 at http://wcbe.org State, Feds To Fight Food Stamp Fraud http://wcbe.org/post/state-feds-fight-food-stamp-fraud <P>The federal government estimates 766 million dollars, or one percent of food stamp benefits, are misappropriated because of fraud. Thu, 04 Apr 2013 10:27:16 +0000 Jim Letizia 33413 at http://wcbe.org