Ohio Department Of Health http://wcbe.org en Officials Release New Numbers In Measles, Mumps Outbreaks http://wcbe.org/post/officials-release-new-numbers-measles-mumps-outbreaks <p>Ohio's measles outbreak appears to be coming to an end.&nbsp; Fri, 18 Jul 2014 11:31:10 +0000 Jim Letizia 59729 at http://wcbe.org Officials Release New Numbers In Measles, Mumps Outbreaks Measles, Mumps Outbreaks Growing http://wcbe.org/post/measles-mumps-outbreaks-growing <p><span lang="EN">The Mumps and measles outbreaks continue to expand through central Ohio. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:31:32 +0000 Jim Letizia 58104 at http://wcbe.org About 240 Cases Confirmed In Ohio Measles Outbreak http://wcbe.org/post/about-240-cases-confirmed-ohio-measles-outbreak <div>About 80 more measles cases have been confirmed over the past week, bringing the total for an Ohio outbreak to about 240 cases across six counties.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 16:24:57 +0000 Associated Press 57325 at http://wcbe.org About 240 Cases Confirmed In Ohio Measles Outbreak Number Of Confirmed Measles Cases Doubles http://wcbe.org/post/number-confirmed-measles-cases-doubles <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Department of Health officials have confirmed 143 cases of measles in six counties, with the number of confirmed cases doubling in the past two weeks. Fri, 23 May 2014 10:44:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56539 at http://wcbe.org Number Of Confirmed Measles Cases Doubles Confirmed Mumps Cases Exceed 300 http://wcbe.org/post/confirmed-mumps-cases-exceed-300 <p><span lang="EN">Public health officials have confirmed 303 cases of mumps in an outbreak that started at Ohio State University earlier this year. Fri, 02 May 2014 10:46:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55348 at http://wcbe.org Nearly Two Dozen Measles Cases Confirmed In The Region http://wcbe.org/post/nearly-two-dozen-measles-cases-confirmed-region <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Health has now confirmed 21 cases of measles in an outbreak that began in Knox County among unvaccinated Amish who had traveled to the Philippines, which has a measles epidemic. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 10:38:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55132 at http://wcbe.org Fewer Teens Abusing Drugs, More Driving While Distracted http://wcbe.org/post/fewer-teens-abusing-drugs-more-driving-while-distracted <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Health says fewer Ohio teens are abusing prescription painkillers and using heroin. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 12:18:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 52264 at http://wcbe.org Bill Would Require Reporting Babies Born Addicted To Drugs http://wcbe.org/post/bill-would-require-reporting-babies-born-addicted-drugs <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio House has approved a bill requiring hospital maternity units and newborn care nurseries and maternity homes to report the number of babies born addicted to drugs. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 01:21:20 +0000 Associated Press 49912 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Flu Activity Widespread http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-flu-activity-widespread <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Health says the state &nbsp;is in the midst of a full-blown flu outbreak. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 13:03:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 49691 at http://wcbe.org State Employee Accused Of Internet Piracy http://wcbe.org/post/state-employee-accused-internet-piracy <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio Inspector General Randall Meyer says an Ohio Department of Health employee circumvented computer security measures and improperly downloaded thousands of copyrighted movies, TV shows and comic books. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 10:28:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 45379 at http://wcbe.org Clark County Trying To Address High Teen Pregnancy Rate http://wcbe.org/post/clark-county-trying-address-high-teen-pregnancy-rate <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Clark County health officials are trying to combat a rising number of teen pregnancies. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 16:00:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 43422 at http://wcbe.org Opponents Of Breathalzyer Machine Hail Court Ruling http://wcbe.org/post/opponents-breathalzyer-machine-hail-court-ruling <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Opponents of a portable breathalyzer machine used on suspected drunken drivers are celebrating the ruling by a judge who says the devices are not scientifically reliable and may not be used as evidence in a case in Marietta. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 10:47:27 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41824 at http://wcbe.org First West Nile Virus Case Reported http://wcbe.org/post/first-west-nile-virus-case-reported <P>State Health officials say a Cleveland area woman&nbsp;has been hospitalized with&nbsp;Ohio's first case of the West Nile virus this year. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:33:08 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41751 at http://wcbe.org Roundtable To Discuss Improving Ohio's Infant Mortality Rate http://wcbe.org/post/roundtable-discuss-improving-ohios-infant-mortality-rate <P>Members of the Ohio Senate Committee on Medicaid, Health, and Human Services and other health professionals from around the state will be in Cincinnati Thursday&nbsp;to discuss how to improve Ohio’s infant mortality rate. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 01:59:44 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 41711 at http://wcbe.org Cyclospora Outbreak Hits Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/cyclospora-outbreak-hits-ohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A 63-year-old Lucas County woman is among at least 285 people sickened in an outbreak of Cyclospora&nbsp;in Ohio, Georgia and nine other states. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 16:24:30 +0000 Jim Letizia 40123 at http://wcbe.org Bill Could Counteract Growing Number of Drug Overdoses http://wcbe.org/post/bill-could-counteract-growing-number-drug-overdoses <P>Ohio has an opium problem. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 23:18:14 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 37473 at http://wcbe.org State Trying To Close Nursing Home http://wcbe.org/post/state-trying-close-nursing-home <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Attorney General's office is working to close a Zanesville nursing home after an investigation found evidence of patient neglect. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 11:16:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 37121 at http://wcbe.org ODH Ending Testing For West Nile http://wcbe.org/post/odh-ending-testing-west-nile <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Department of Health is dropping its program that tests mosquitoes for West Nile Virus, due to budget cuts. Tue, 30 Apr 2013 10:46:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 34748 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Boy Sickened By Eyeliner http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-boy-sickened-eyeliner <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus and state health officials are urging parents to throw out cosmetics found to contain high levels of lead. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 12:18:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 31550 at http://wcbe.org Hospitals Questions Local Firm's Sexual Assault Kits http://wcbe.org/post/hospitals-questions-local-firms-sexual-assault-kits <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Department of Health is asking hospitals to stop using sexual assault evidence kits from a longtime provider because they could become contaminated with DNA from someone involved in assembling them. Thu, 28 Feb 2013 17:31:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31488 at http://wcbe.org