Pilot Flying J http://wcbe.org en Feds Reach Settlement Agreement With Pilot Flying J http://wcbe.org/post/feds-reach-settlement-agreement-pilot-flying-j <p>Federal prosecutors say the truck-stop company owned by Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam and Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam has agreed to pay 92 million dollars in fines for cheating trucking companies out of promised fuel rebates and discounts. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 11:44:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 59496 at http://wcbe.org Feds Reach Settlement Agreement With Pilot Flying J Haslam Fires President Of Pilot Flying J http://wcbe.org/post/haslam-fires-president-pilot-flying-j <p><span lang="EN">The president of the Tennessee-based truck stop company owned by Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam and Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam has been fired amid an ongoing federal investigation into a scheme to defraud customers. Tue, 20 May 2014 10:57:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56301 at http://wcbe.org Haslam Fires President Of Pilot Flying J More Pilot Employees Plead Guilty http://wcbe.org/post/more-pilot-employees-plead-guilty <p><span lang="EN">Three former employees of Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam's truck stop chain have pleaded guilty to federal charges involving a scheme to cheat trucking companies out of promised fuel rebates. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 12:37:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50176 at http://wcbe.org Cleveland Browns Again Looking For New Head Coach http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-browns-again-looking-new-head-coach <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Cleveland Browns are now looking for their seventh full-time head coach since returning to the league as an expansion team in 1999. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 12:28:29 +0000 Jim Letizia 48866 at http://wcbe.org Judge Approves Pilot Flying J Settlements http://wcbe.org/post/judge-approves-pilot-flying-j-settlements <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A federal judge has approved 84.9 million dollars in payments to settle claims that the truck stop chain owned by Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam cheated trucking companies out of promised fuel rebates. Tue, 26 Nov 2013 12:57:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 47122 at http://wcbe.org Haslam Holds Rare Meeting With Reporters http://wcbe.org/post/haslam-holds-rare-meeting-reporters <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam says the federal investigation into his truck stop business has been a humbling experience. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 11:18:10 +0000 Jim Letizia 44074 at http://wcbe.org Pilot Customers Lose Bid To Have One Judge Oversee Lawsuits http://wcbe.org/post/pilot-customers-lose-bid-have-one-judge-oversee-lawsuits <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A federal judicial panel has denied a request by trucking companies to have one judge preside over numerous lawsuits filed against the truck-stop chain owned by the family of Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam and Republican Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam. Fri, 09 Aug 2013 10:36:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40974 at http://wcbe.org Goodell Praises Haslam http://wcbe.org/post/goodell-praises-haslam <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell says he's satisfied with Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam's handling of the federal investigation into fraud at his family-owned business. Fri, 02 Aug 2013 10:45:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40528 at http://wcbe.org More Pilot Flying J Staffers Plead Guilty http://wcbe.org/post/more-pilot-flying-j-staffers-plead-guilty <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Two more members of the Pilot Flying J sales staff have pleaded guilty to defrauding customers of the truck-stop chain owned by the family of Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam and Republican Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam. Tue, 30 Jul 2013 10:55:30 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40292 at http://wcbe.org Haslam Upbeat About Outcome Of Federal Investigation http://wcbe.org/post/haslam-upbeat-about-outcome-federal-investigation <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam says he's very optimistic about the outcome of a federal investigation of Pilot Flying J, his family's truck-stop chain. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 11:27:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40089 at http://wcbe.org Pilot Flying J Revises Settlement http://wcbe.org/post/pilot-flying-j-revises-settlement <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The truck-stop company owned by Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam and Republican Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam has revised a class action settlement with trucking companies that were cheated out of fuel rebates. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 10:14:02 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39998 at http://wcbe.org Haslam Sends Rebate Checks To Trucking Companies http://wcbe.org/post/haslam-sends-rebate-checks-trucking-companies <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Pilot Flying J has sent checks to trucking companies allegedly shorted on rebates amid an FBI investigation of alleged fraud by the sales staff. Tue, 16 Jul 2013 10:52:00 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39429 at http://wcbe.org Haslam Says He Won't Sell Cleveland Browns http://wcbe.org/post/haslam-says-he-wont-sell-cleveland-browns <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A spokesperson for Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam says he has no plans to sell the franchise despite legal troubles with the truck stop company he runs. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 10:24:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38968 at http://wcbe.org 2 Pilot Employees Plead Guilty http://wcbe.org/post/2-pilot-employees-plead-guilty <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Two employees of the truck stop chain owned by the family of Republican Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam and Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam have pleaded guilty in a federal probe of the company's business practices. Thu, 30 May 2013 10:08:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 36584 at http://wcbe.org Freeh Hired In Lawsuits Against Pilot Flying J http://wcbe.org/post/freeh-hired-lawsuits-against-pilot-flying-j <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Former FBI Director Louis Freeh's company has been hired by trucking firmss suing Pilot Flying J over allegations the truck stop chain owned by Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam bilked customers out of rebates. Thu, 16 May 2013 10:44:49 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 35732 at http://wcbe.org Judge: Haslam Not Tampering With Witnesses http://wcbe.org/post/judge-haslam-not-tampering-witnesses <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A Tennessee judge has denied claims that Cleveland Browns owner Jimmy Haslam is tampering with potential witnesses in a lawsuit stemming from an FBI raid on his Pilot Flying J truck stop business. Tue, 30 Apr 2013 16:27:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 34784 at http://wcbe.org