Amanda Berry http://wcbe.org en Cleveland Kidnapping Survivor Changes Name http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-kidnapping-survivor-changes-name <p><span lang="EN">One of the three women who survived a decade of captivity inside of a Cleveland home is changing her name.</span></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 16:36:04 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55373 at http://wcbe.org Cleveland Kidnapping Survivor Changes Name Cleveland Kidnap Victims Subject Of Book Project http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-kidnap-victims-subject-book-project <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Two of the three women held captive for a decade in a Cleveland house are collaborating with a Pulitzer Prize-winning team of Washington Post reporters to create a book about their ordeal. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 15:56:59 +0000 Jim Letizia 45181 at http://wcbe.org Castro Home To Be Demolished http://wcbe.org/post/castro-home-be-demolished <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Cleveland home where three women were imprisoned for roughly a decade will be torn down on Wednesday. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 16:42:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 40763 at http://wcbe.org Ariel Castro Sentenced In Final Day In Court http://wcbe.org/post/ariel-castro-sentenced-final-day-court <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ariel Castro, the man convicted of holding three women captive in his Cleveland house over a decade has been sentenced to life in prison without parole, plus 1 thousand years. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 23:23:59 +0000 Alison Holm 40506 at http://wcbe.org Castro Pleads Guilty In Plea Bargain http://wcbe.org/post/castro-pleads-guilty-plea-bargain <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A Cuayhoga County judge says the Cleveland man accused of holding three women captive in his home for about a decade has pleaded guilty in a deal with prosecutors. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 16:28:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40124 at http://wcbe.org Plea Deal Could Be In The Works For Ariel Castro http://wcbe.org/post/plea-deal-could-be-works-ariel-castro <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A plea deal could be in the works for a man charged with kidnapping three women and raping them in his Cleveland home for about a decade.&nbsp; Fri, 26 Jul 2013 01:15:32 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 40069 at http://wcbe.org Castro Back In Court http://wcbe.org/post/castro-back-court <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Attorneys for a Cleveland man accused of holding three women captive in his home for&nbsp;roughly a decade have told a judge plea bargain negotiations continue. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 10:15:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39999 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Crime Lab Processing Evidence In Castro Case http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-crime-lab-processing-evidence-castro-case <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio crime lab employees are working overtime to test evidence in the Ariel Castro case.&nbsp; Thu, 18 Jul 2013 23:40:18 +0000 Jim Letizia & Alison Holm 39663 at http://wcbe.org Castro Enters Plea To Updated Indictment http://wcbe.org/post/castro-enters-plea-updated-indictment <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Cleveland man accused of kidnapping three women and holding them in his home for roughly a decade has pleaded not guilty to nearly one thousand criminal charges. Thu, 18 Jul 2013 10:32:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 39595 at http://wcbe.org Cross-State Walk Designed To Raise Awareness Of Sexual Abuse http://wcbe.org/post/cross-state-walk-designed-raise-awareness-sexual-abuse <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An Ohio man has completed his ten-day walk across the state to raise awareness of sexual abuse. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 16:26:26 +0000 Jim Letizia 38330 at http://wcbe.org Judge Orders Mental Health Evaluation Of Castro http://wcbe.org/post/judge-orders-mental-health-evaluation-castro <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A judge has ordered the man charged with kidnapping three women and holding them in his Cleveland home for a decade undergo a mental health evalaution, over the objection of Cuayhoga County Prosecutor Tim McGinty. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 11:17:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 38299 at http://wcbe.org Gawkers Showing Up At Castro Home http://wcbe.org/post/gawkers-showing-castro-home <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>There is apparently no shortage of people who want to see the house where three once-missing Cleveland women were found alive. Thu, 23 May 2013 16:34:39 +0000 Jim Letizia 36200 at http://wcbe.org Boosting Efforts To Find Missing Persons http://wcbe.org/post/boosting-efforts-find-missing-persons <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Cleveland police and Cuayhoga County officials are launching a new initiative to find missing persons. Fri, 17 May 2013 12:54:13 +0000 Jim Letizia 35825 at http://wcbe.org Castro To Plead Not Guilty http://wcbe.org/post/castro-plead-not-guilty <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Attorneys for the man accused of kidnapping three Cleveland women and holding them for a decade say he plans to plead not guilty. Thu, 16 May 2013 11:04:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 35737 at http://wcbe.org Neighbors Dispute Ramsey's Role In Women's Rescue http://wcbe.org/post/neighbors-dispute-ramseys-role-womens-rescue <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Some neighbors say Charles Ramsey's story of how he helped rescue the Cleveland kidnapping victims is false. Tue, 14 May 2013 16:37:28 +0000 Jim Letizia 35608 at http://wcbe.org AG: Castro Not Linked To Other Crimes http://wcbe.org/post/ag-castro-not-linked-other-crimes <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine says no DNA evidence links the man accused of imprisoning three women in a Cleveland house for a decade to other crimes through a national database. Tue, 14 May 2013 10:46:14 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 35571 at http://wcbe.org Castro Fathered Berry's Child http://wcbe.org/post/castro-fathered-berrys-child <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine says DNA tests confirm 52-year-old alleged kidnapper Ariel Castro is the father of Amanda Berry's 6-year-old daughter. Fri, 10 May 2013 21:11:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 35423 at http://wcbe.org Judge Sets Bond For Ariel Castro http://wcbe.org/post/judge-sets-bond-ariel-castro <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Bond was set this morning at 8 million dollars for 52-year-old Ariel Castro, the Cleveland man charged with rape and kidnapping two days after three women missing for roughly a decade were found at his home. Thu, 09 May 2013 16:44:14 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 35336 at http://wcbe.org Charges Filed In Case Of Three Women Found This Week http://wcbe.org/post/charges-filed-case-three-women-found-week <P>Charges have been filed against a former Cleveland school bus driver in the case of three women found in his home earlier this week. Thu, 09 May 2013 11:18:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 35309 at http://wcbe.org Cleveland Police Defend Actions Searching For Missing Women http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-police-defend-actions-searching-missing-women <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The FBI and Cleveland Police are defending themselves against allegations of shoddy work after three women missing for a decade were rescued from a home late Monday. Tue, 07 May 2013 21:03:10 +0000 Alison Holm 35209 at http://wcbe.org