Ariel Castro http://wcbe.org en Cleveland Kidnapping Survivor Changes Name http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-kidnapping-survivor-changes-name <p><span lang="EN">One of the three women who survived a decade of captivity inside of a Cleveland home is changing her name.</span></p> Fri, 02 May 2014 16:36:04 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55373 at http://wcbe.org Cleveland Kidnapping Survivor Changes Name State To Reimburse Pickaway County For Castro Autopsy http://wcbe.org/post/state-reimburse-pickaway-county-castro-autopsy <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections has agreed to reimburse Pickaway County taxpayers the 11 hundred dollar cost of the autopsy of Cleveland kidnapper Ariel Castro. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 17:00:41 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50696 at http://wcbe.org State Issues Final Report On Prison Suicides http://wcbe.org/post/state-issues-final-report-prison-suicides <p><font face="Times New Roman">The state has released a final report on two high profile suicides by prison inmate earlier this year.&nbsp; Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 47484 at http://wcbe.org Cleveland Kidnap Victims Subject Of Book Project http://wcbe.org/post/cleveland-kidnap-victims-subject-book-project <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Two of the three women held captive for a decade in a Cleveland house are collaborating with a Pulitzer Prize-winning team of Washington Post reporters to create a book about their ordeal. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 15:56:59 +0000 Jim Letizia 45181 at http://wcbe.org Report Says Ariel Castro May Not Have Intended To Commit Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/report-says-ariel-castro-may-not-have-intended-commit-suicide <p>Two prison guards have been suspended after a report from the Ohio prisons department, which says Cleveland kidnapper and rapist Ariel Castro may not have intended to commit suicide. Ohio Public Radio’s Karen Kasler reports. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 17:50:38 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Karen Kasler 44690 at http://wcbe.org Coroner's Report Confirms Castro's Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/coroners-report-confirms-castros-suicide <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A final report by the Franklin County Coroner confirms Cleveland kidnapper and rapist Ariel Castro died by hanging himself in his prison cell. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 10:12:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 44462 at http://wcbe.org Guards' Union Criticizes Probe Of Inmate Suicides http://wcbe.org/post/guards-union-criticizes-probe-inmate-suicides <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The union representing Ohio prison guards says the scope of a state-commissioned review on inmate suicides is too narrow and does not address the broader issues affecting the state's prison system. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 10:27:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43383 at http://wcbe.org Union Defends Guards Following Castro's Apparent Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/union-defends-guards-following-castros-apparent-suicide <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The union representing Ohio prison guards says the two corrections officers placed on leave during investigations into the suicide of Cleveland kidnapper and rapist Ariel Castro did nothing wrong. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 10:44:20 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42962 at http://wcbe.org Third Inmate Suicide In Two Months http://wcbe.org/post/third-inmate-suicide-two-months <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The state says a prison inmate has committed suicide, the third case of an Ohio prisoner killing himself in two months.&nbsp; Thu, 12 Sep 2013 00:04:25 +0000 Associated Press 42941 at http://wcbe.org Castro Told FBI He Let His Guard Down http://wcbe.org/post/castro-told-fbi-he-let-his-guard-down <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Cleveland kidnapper Ariel Castro admitted to FBI agents that he abducted and raped the three young women he held captive for a decade. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 15:48:08 +0000 Jim Letizia 42656 at http://wcbe.org Ariel Castro Found Dead In Prison Cell, Apparent Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/ariel-castro-found-dead-prison-cell-apparent-suicide <p><span style="font-family: ARIAL; font-size: medium; line-height: 1.5;">Ohio corrections officials say Ariel Castro who held three women captive in his home for nearly a decade has committed suicide at a state prison facility.</span></p><p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3"> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 09:02:39 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 42470 at http://wcbe.org Ariel Castro Found Dead In Prison Cell, Apparent Suicide Bill Makes Repeat Violent Sexual Assaults Punishable by Death http://wcbe.org/post/bill-makes-repeat-violent-sexual-assaults-punishable-death <P>There’s a proposal that would allow the state to sentence rapists to death without a murder charge. Wed, 28 Aug 2013 16:47:48 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Andy Chow 42107 at http://wcbe.org Site Of Decade Long Captivity Demolished http://wcbe.org/post/site-decade-long-captivity-demolished <P>The house Ariel Castro turned into a prison to hold three women captive for a decade is now gone. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 23:27:24 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 40862 at http://wcbe.org Site Of Decade Long Captivity Demolished Castro Home To Be Demolished http://wcbe.org/post/castro-home-be-demolished <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Cleveland home where three women were imprisoned for roughly a decade will be torn down on Wednesday. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 16:42:07 +0000 Jim Letizia 40763 at http://wcbe.org Ariel Castro Sentenced In Final Day In Court http://wcbe.org/post/ariel-castro-sentenced-final-day-court <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ariel Castro, the man convicted of holding three women captive in his Cleveland house over a decade has been sentenced to life in prison without parole, plus 1 thousand years. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 23:23:59 +0000 Alison Holm 40506 at http://wcbe.org Castro Pleads Guilty In Plea Bargain http://wcbe.org/post/castro-pleads-guilty-plea-bargain <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A Cuayhoga County judge says the Cleveland man accused of holding three women captive in his home for about a decade has pleaded guilty in a deal with prosecutors. Fri, 26 Jul 2013 16:28:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40124 at http://wcbe.org Plea Deal Could Be In The Works For Ariel Castro http://wcbe.org/post/plea-deal-could-be-works-ariel-castro <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A plea deal could be in the works for a man charged with kidnapping three women and raping them in his Cleveland home for about a decade.&nbsp; Fri, 26 Jul 2013 01:15:32 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 40069 at http://wcbe.org Castro Back In Court http://wcbe.org/post/castro-back-court <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Attorneys for a Cleveland man accused of holding three women captive in his home for&nbsp;roughly a decade have told a judge plea bargain negotiations continue. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 10:15:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39999 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Crime Lab Processing Evidence In Castro Case http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-crime-lab-processing-evidence-castro-case <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio crime lab employees are working overtime to test evidence in the Ariel Castro case.&nbsp; Thu, 18 Jul 2013 23:40:18 +0000 Jim Letizia & Alison Holm 39663 at http://wcbe.org Castro Enters Plea To Updated Indictment http://wcbe.org/post/castro-enters-plea-updated-indictment <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Cleveland man accused of kidnapping three women and holding them in his home for roughly a decade has pleaded not guilty to nearly one thousand criminal charges. Thu, 18 Jul 2013 10:32:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 39595 at http://wcbe.org