University of Akron http://wcbe.org en Tressel Applies For Presidency Of YSU http://wcbe.org/post/tressel-applies-presidency-ysu <p>Former Ohio State University football coach Jim Tressel has applied to become president at Youngstown State University less than a month after he applied for the same position at the University of Akron. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 06:21:36 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54205 at http://wcbe.org Tressel Applies For Presidency Of YSU Tressel Applies To Become Interim UA President http://wcbe.org/post/tressel-applies-become-interim-ua-president <p><span lang="EN">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p><span lang="EN">Former Ohio State University football coach Jim Tressel has applied to become interim president of the University of Akron. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 16:33:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 53050 at http://wcbe.org Tressel Applies To Become Interim UA President Fraternity Shut Down, Six Charged In Univerity of Akron Hazing Case http://wcbe.org/post/fraternity-shut-down-six-charged-univerity-akron-hazing-case <p><span lang="EN">Six fraternity members at a northeast Ohio university have been charged after a hazing investigation.&nbsp; Fri, 28 Feb 2014 00:33:09 +0000 Associated Press 51909 at http://wcbe.org Fraternity Shut Down, Six Charged In Univerity of Akron Hazing Case UA Promotes Tressel http://wcbe.org/post/ua-promotes-tressel <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Former Ohio State University football coach Jim Tressel has been named an executive vice president at the University of Akron. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 11:56:16 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48014 at http://wcbe.org Law Professor Thinks Medicaid Expansion Will Stand http://wcbe.org/post/law-professor-thinks-medicaid-expansion-will-stand <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio Governor John Kasich's decision to sidestep the legislature and use the state Controlling Board to expand Medicaid has Tea Party-backed critics mounting a legal challenge. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 10:41:02 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 45298 at http://wcbe.org Tressel Teaching Coaching At UA http://wcbe.org/post/tressel-teaching-coaching-ua <P>Former Ohio State football coach Jim Tressel is teaching a course on coaching at the University of Akron. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 14:30:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41750 at http://wcbe.org Tressel In Running To Become UA President http://wcbe.org/post/tressel-running-become-ua-president <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>University of Akron president Luis Proenz has confirmed rumors that he plans to leave next summer to become a full-time faculty member. Fri, 09 Aug 2013 11:04:16 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 40984 at http://wcbe.org Invention Could Save Young Lives http://wcbe.org/post/invention-could-save-young-lives <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An invention by a child in a University of Akron competition could soon be saving lives. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 10:47:26 +0000 Jim Letizia 39518 at http://wcbe.org University Of Akron Cop Kills Man Brandishing BB Gun http://wcbe.org/post/university-akron-cop-kills-man-brandishing-bb-gun <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Akron police say a University of Akron officer shot and killed a 64-year-old man during a traffic stop last night after he produced what later was determined to be a BB pistol. Fri, 17 May 2013 16:28:26 +0000 Jim Letizia 35846 at http://wcbe.org