Third grade reading guarantee http://wcbe.org en CCS 3rd-Graders Re-Take Reading Test; District Tries To Round Up More http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-3rd-graders-re-take-reading-test-district-tries-round-more <p><span lang="EN">641 Columbus City Schools third-graders got another crack at the reading portion of the state assessment test today. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 23:17:07 +0000 Alison Holm 59117 at http://wcbe.org CCS 3rd-Graders Re-Take Reading Test; District Tries To Round Up More CCS Officials Go Door-To-Door To Get Third-Graders In Summer School http://wcbe.org/post/ccs-officials-go-door-door-get-third-graders-summer-school <p><span lang="EN">Columbus City Schools employees and an army of volunteers are literally going door-to-door this week in what is being called&nbsp;a "Summer School Blitz", designed to get students who haven't passed the third grade reading assessment back into class.&nbsp; Wed, 25 Jun 2014 00:01:12 +0000 Alison Holm 58358 at http://wcbe.org CCS Officials Go Door-To-Door To Get Third-Graders In Summer School 74% Of CCS Third-Graders Pass Reading Test Needed For Promotion http://wcbe.org/post/74-ccs-third-graders-pass-reading-test-needed-promotion <p><font size="3">The Columbus City Schools' focus on getting third graders reading at grade level is paying off - but the promotion of some students is still in question. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 02:06:47 +0000 Alison Holm 57875 at http://wcbe.org 74% Of CCS Third-Graders Pass Reading Test Needed For Promotion FitzGerald Wants Freeze On High Stakes Part Of Third Grade Reading Test http://wcbe.org/post/fitzgerald-wants-freeze-high-stakes-part-third-grade-reading-test <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">Democratic gubernatorial candidate Ed FitzGerald is calling on Republican&nbsp;incumbent John Kasich to halt the third grade guarantee.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 09 May 2014 23:16:58 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55766 at http://wcbe.org FitzGerald Wants Freeze On High Stakes Part Of Third Grade Reading Test New Third Grade Literacy Testing Coming Soon http://wcbe.org/post/new-third-grade-literacy-testing-coming-soon <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Education says third-graders will have three new ways to show they read well enough to move on to the fourth grade. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 10:53:13 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 52578 at http://wcbe.org Education Activists, Officials Identify Loophole In 3rd Grade Reading Guarantee http://wcbe.org/post/education-activists-officials-identify-loophole-3rd-grade-reading-guarantee <p><span lang="EN">Educational advocates are pointing out a discrepancy in&nbsp; Ohio's third grade reading guarantee. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 20:40:52 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Alison Holm 52405 at http://wcbe.org Study: Poverty Impacts Child Literacy http://wcbe.org/post/study-poverty-impacts-child-literacy <p><span lang="EN">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span lang="EN">New research by the non-profit Annie E. Casey Foundation shows poverty plays a major role in whether Ohio fourth-graders can read. Thu, 30 Jan 2014 17:34:16 +0000 Jim Letizia 50326 at http://wcbe.org Study: Poverty Impacts Child Literacy Third Grade Reading Test Results Released http://wcbe.org/post/third-grade-reading-test-results-released <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Department of Education says today 26 percent of third-graders scored below a new literacy target on reading tests taken in the fall. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 17:31:06 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48040 at http://wcbe.org Columbus Schools Adapt To Reading Guarantee http://wcbe.org/post/columbus-schools-adapt-reading-guarantee <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Columbus City Schools are taking steps to address the issue of grade-reading readiness, and to come into compliance with the state's third grade reading guarantee. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 00:21:57 +0000 Alison Holm 37765 at http://wcbe.org Teacher Requirements Relaxed For 3rd Grade Reading Guarantee http://wcbe.org/post/teacher-requirements-relaxed-3rd-grade-reading-guarantee <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State lawmakers have approved a bill making more teachers temporarily eligible to participate in meeting Ohio's new third-grade reading guarantee. Thu, 23 May 2013 23:17:27 +0000 Associated Press 36237 at http://wcbe.org