Ohio University http://wcbe.org en OU Opens College In Dublin http://wcbe.org/post/ou-opens-college-dublin <p><span lang="EN">Ohio University opened a college of osteopathic medicine yesterday in Dublin with a class of 50 future primary-care doctors. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 11:28:45 +0000 Jim Letizia 59203 at http://wcbe.org OU Opens College In Dublin Police: Missing OU Student May Have Taken Own Life http://wcbe.org/post/police-missing-ou-student-may-have-taken-own-life <p><span lang="EN">Athens police say they have reason to believe a missing Ohio University student may have committed suicide in the Hocking River. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 16:28:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 53442 at http://wcbe.org OU Prof Facing Kiddie Porn Charges http://wcbe.org/post/ou-prof-facing-kiddie-porn-charges <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio University professor is on leave after being charged with downloading child pornography. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 12:23:06 +0000 Jim Letizia 51060 at http://wcbe.org No Charges In Alleged Athens County Sexual Assault http://wcbe.org/post/no-charges-alleged-athens-county-sexual-assault <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Athens County Prosecutor Keller Blackburn says a grand jury has decided not to file charges in an alleged sexual assault earlier this month on a downtown Athens street that was photographed and posted on line. Tue, 29 Oct 2013 11:11:57 +0000 Jim Letizia 45547 at http://wcbe.org Court Sides With OU Student In Case Over Representation http://wcbe.org/post/court-sides-ou-student-case-over-representation <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Fourth Ohio District Court of appeals has sided with an Ohio University student who says her parents' income should not play a role in her request for a public defender. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 16:37:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42581 at http://wcbe.org Two OU Football Players Charged With Selling Drugs http://wcbe.org/post/two-ou-football-players-charged-selling-drugs <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio University has indefinitely suspended two football players after they were charged with selling drugs. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 16:27:28 +0000 Jim Letizia 42198 at http://wcbe.org Switch To Semesters Hurts College Enrollment http://wcbe.org/post/switch-semesters-hurts-college-enrollment <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Enrollment at Ohio colleges fell last year as schools switched to a semester schedule. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 10:48:20 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 41727 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Schools Welcome International College Students http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-schools-welcome-international-college-students <P>Some universities are making an extra effort to welcome international students to the United States with the help of Port Columbus. Mon, 12 Aug 2013 16:50:16 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 41139 at http://wcbe.org OU, Miami Among Top "Party Schools" http://wcbe.org/post/ou-miami-among-top-party-schools <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Two universities in Ohio are again ranked among the nation's top party schools . Tue, 06 Aug 2013 10:27:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 40723 at http://wcbe.org Covered Bridge In Lancaster Reopens http://wcbe.org/post/covered-bridge-lancaster-reopens <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A covered bridge on the Ohio University branch campus in Lancaster has reopened for public use four months after being damaged by an arson fire. Thu, 30 May 2013 10:13:59 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 36586 at http://wcbe.org Former OU Professor To Lead Florida A&M Band http://wcbe.org/post/former-ou-professor-lead-florida-am-band <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Florida A&amp;M University has named former Ohio University music professor Sylvester Young as the new director of its marching band. Tue, 07 May 2013 16:31:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 35186 at http://wcbe.org OU Begins Historic Building Demolition http://wcbe.org/post/ou-begins-historic-building-demolition <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio University began demolishing a historic — and supposedly haunted — campus building on Thursday. Fri, 08 Mar 2013 17:24:14 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31991 at http://wcbe.org Drone Aircraft Coming To Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/drone-aircraft-coming-ohio <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The FAA has given the Medina County sheriff's office permission to use drones to search for missing people or fugitives. Fri, 15 Feb 2013 12:21:50 +0000 Jim Letizia 30749 at http://wcbe.org OU Considers Future Student Tuition Freeze http://wcbe.org/post/ou-considers-future-student-tuition-freeze <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Future Ohio Unversity students could have their tuition rate frozen. Fri, 08 Feb 2013 12:48:15 +0000 Jim Letizia 30330 at http://wcbe.org OU Worker Sentenced For Threats http://wcbe.org/post/ou-worker-sentenced-threats <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An Ohio University worker must get a mental health evaluation and appear at a </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>hearing next month after pleading not guilty Monday to charges of threatening </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>to bring a shotgun to work. Tue, 18 Dec 2012 12:03:59 +0000 Jim Letizia 27582 at http://wcbe.org OU Student Jumps From Bridge http://wcbe.org/post/ou-student-jumps-bridge <P>Athens Police say a 19-year-old Ohio University student is hospitalized in Columbus with critical injuries sustained last night after jumping nearly 40 feet from a campus bridge. Tue, 04 Dec 2012 12:32:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 26853 at http://wcbe.org POTUS Stumps In Athens http://wcbe.org/post/potus-stumps-athens <P>President Obama held a campaign rally at Ohio University last night, saying he has two daughters and doesn't want them to be paid less for the same job as a man. Thu, 18 Oct 2012 13:46:50 +0000 Jim Letizia, Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 24435 at http://wcbe.org Two Ohio Colleges Make "Party Schools" List http://wcbe.org/post/two-ohio-colleges-make-party-schools-list <P><SPAN lang=EN>The "Princeton Review" ranks Ohio University third on its list of "top party </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>schools" for 2012. Tue, 21 Aug 2012 16:25:37 +0000 Jim Letizia 21272 at http://wcbe.org