Ohio State University http://wcbe.org en Researchers Near Breakthrough Fighting Drug-Resistant Bacteria http://wcbe.org/post/researchers-near-breakthrough-fighting-drug-resistant-bacteria <p><span lang="EN">Researchers at Ohio State and Harvard Universities say they are on the cusp of a breakthrough in fighting E. coli and other drug-resistant bacteria. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:52:54 +0000 Jim Letizia 59294 at http://wcbe.org Researchers Near Breakthrough Fighting Drug-Resistant Bacteria Gun Rights Groups Sue OSU Over Weapons Ban http://wcbe.org/post/gun-rights-groups-sue-osu-over-weapons-ban <p>A gun rights group has sued Ohio State University over its weapons ban, arguing it conflicts with rights provided by state law to permitting law-abiding gun owners. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 01:34:24 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 59124 at http://wcbe.org Gun Rights Groups Sue OSU Over Weapons Ban OSU's Sprinkle Pleads Not Guilty To Multiple Charges http://wcbe.org/post/osus-sprinkle-pleads-not-guilty-multiple-charges <p><span lang="EN">Ohio State defensive end Tracy Sprinkle has pleaded not guilty to drug, rioting and failure to disperse charges after a weekend bar fight in Lorain. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:52:42 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59061 at http://wcbe.org OSU's Sprinkle Pleads Not Guilty To Multiple Charges Ohio State Football Player Arrested In NE Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-state-football-player-arrested-ne-ohio <div><p>Lorain police say Ohio State University defensive end Tracy Sprinkle has been arrested on charges of cocaine possession, rioting and failure to disperse after a bar fight early Saturday.&nbsp;</p></div><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 12:48:02 +0000 Associated Press 58995 at http://wcbe.org Ohio State Football Player Arrested In NE Ohio Study Examines Role Of Citizens United Ruling On Politics http://wcbe.org/post/study-examines-role-citizens-united-ruling-politics <p><span lang="EN">A new report by Ohio State University's College of Law examines the real-world impact outside spending is having on elections and politics since the U.S. Supreme Court's 2010 Citizens United ruling, which allows&nbsp;more political spending by corporations and unions. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 15:55:48 +0000 Jim Letizia 58050 at http://wcbe.org Study Examines Role Of Citizens United Ruling On Politics Local Mumps Cases Now Exceed 420 http://wcbe.org/post/local-mumps-cases-now-exceed-420 <p><span lang="EN">Columbus Public Health officials say 427 cases of mumps have now been confirmed in the outbreak that started at Ohio State University. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 10:48:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 57887 at http://wcbe.org OSU And Florida Facility To Create Cancer Research Database http://wcbe.org/post/osu-and-florida-facility-create-cancer-research-database <p><span lang="EN">Ohio State University's Cancer Center is teaming with a Florida facility to create what officials say will be the largest known database of patients for research. Fri, 30 May 2014 16:35:42 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56965 at http://wcbe.org OSU And Florida Facility To Create Cancer Research Database Former Buckeye Charged With Defrauding Investors http://wcbe.org/post/former-buckeye-charged-defrauding-investors <p><span lang="EN">Former Ohio State football player Preston Harrison is awaiting trial for allegedly masterminding an investment scheme. Thu, 22 May 2014 11:13:41 +0000 Jim Letizia 56450 at http://wcbe.org Former Buckeye Charged With Defrauding Investors Mumps Cases Increase http://wcbe.org/post/mumps-cases-increase <p><span lang="EN">Columbus Public health officials say 366 cases of mumps have now been confirmed in an outbreak that started at Ohio State University. Tue, 20 May 2014 10:28:26 +0000 Jim Letizia 56297 at http://wcbe.org Judge Sets Sentencing Date For Former OSU Doc http://wcbe.org/post/judge-sets-sentencing-date-former-osu-doc <p>A new sentencing date has been set for the former director of Ohio State University's pediatric cancer radiation program who pleaded guilty to accessing child pornography. Fri, 16 May 2014 13:14:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56115 at http://wcbe.org Judge Sets Sentencing Date For Former OSU Doc Mumps Cases Suspected In Hilliard Schools http://wcbe.org/post/mumps-cases-suspected-hilliard-schools <p><span lang="EN">Health officials say the Mumps outbreak that started at Ohio State University may have spread to the Hilliard schools. Tue, 13 May 2014 11:14:19 +0000 Jim Letizia 55904 at http://wcbe.org Mumps Outbreak Grows, Spreads http://wcbe.org/post/mumps-outbreak-grows-spreads <p><span lang="EN">Health officials have now confirmed 317 cases of mumps in the outbreak that started at Ohio State University. Tue, 06 May 2014 11:01:56 +0000 Jim Letizia 55536 at http://wcbe.org OSU Pitcher Diagnosed With Leukemia http://wcbe.org/post/osu-pitcher-diagnosed-leukemia <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">Ohio State says freshman starting pitcher Zach Farmer will miss the rest of the season while being treated for leukemia. Fri, 02 May 2014 11:02:18 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55351 at http://wcbe.org OSU Pitcher Diagnosed With Leukemia Confirmed Mumps Cases Exceed 300 http://wcbe.org/post/confirmed-mumps-cases-exceed-300 <p><span lang="EN">Public health officials have confirmed 303 cases of mumps in an outbreak that started at Ohio State University earlier this year. Fri, 02 May 2014 10:46:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55348 at http://wcbe.org 3 Central Ohio Schools Part Of Federal Sexual Abuse Investigation http://wcbe.org/post/3-central-ohio-schools-part-federal-sexual-abuse-investigation <p><span lang="EN">Ohio State, Denison and Wittenberg Universities are on the list of 55 schools in the U.S. under investigation for their handling of sexual abuse complaints, according to a federal Education Department report released today. Thu, 01 May 2014 23:58:40 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 55332 at http://wcbe.org 3 Central Ohio Schools Part Of Federal Sexual Abuse Investigation Court Allows Discrimination Lawsuit Against OSU To Proceed http://wcbe.org/post/court-allows-discrimination-lawsuit-against-osu-proceed <p><span lang="EN">A federal appeals court has ruled a woman may proceed with her lawsuit alleging Ohio State University discriminated against her because she has Crohn's disease. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 10:55:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55137 at http://wcbe.org Winter Weather Harmed Ohio Wines http://wcbe.org/post/winter-weather-harmed-ohio-wines <p><span lang="EN">A winter damage survey report from Ohio State University researchers shows the extreme subzero temperatures devastated the 2014 vintage of some varieties of wine grapes&nbsp;and caused an estimated&nbsp;4 million dollars in damage to Ohio wineries. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 15:30:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54965 at http://wcbe.org Winter Weather Harmed Ohio Wines Former Buckeye Due In Court Today http://wcbe.org/post/former-buckeye-due-court-today <p><span lang="EN">Former Ohio State cornerback Bradley Roby is scheduled to appear in court today to face a charge of&nbsp;operating a vehicle&nbsp;under the influence. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 11:32:37 +0000 Jim Letizia 54955 at http://wcbe.org Former Buckeye Due In Court Today Local Mumps Cases Top 250 http://wcbe.org/post/local-mumps-cases-top-250 <p><span lang="EN">Local health officials have now confirmed 253 cases of mumps from the outbreak that began at Ohio State University. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 11:13:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54737 at http://wcbe.org OSU, Student Settle Lawsuit Over Bus Accident http://wcbe.org/post/osu-student-settle-lawsuit-over-bus-accident <p>The Ohio Court of Claims says an Ohio State University student hit by a university-owned bus in a crosswalk has settled&nbsp;the student's&nbsp;lawsuit against the school for 12 thousand 500 dollars. Tue, 22 Apr 2014 10:43:54 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54728 at http://wcbe.org