Billy Slagle http://wcbe.org en State Issues Final Report On Prison Suicides http://wcbe.org/post/state-issues-final-report-prison-suicides <p><font face="Times New Roman">The state has released a final report on two high profile suicides by prison inmate earlier this year.&nbsp; Tue, 03 Dec 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 47484 at http://wcbe.org Prison Guard Resigns Following Inmate Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/prison-guard-resigns-following-inmate-suicide <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A guard at the Chillicothe Correctional Institution has resigned after the state found falsified logs documenting checks on a death row inmate who later committed suicide. Fri, 01 Nov 2013 10:32:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 45767 at http://wcbe.org Guards' Union Criticizes Probe Of Inmate Suicides http://wcbe.org/post/guards-union-criticizes-probe-inmate-suicides <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The union representing Ohio prison guards says the scope of a state-commissioned review on inmate suicides is too narrow and does not address the broader issues affecting the state's prison system. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 10:27:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43383 at http://wcbe.org State Releases Report On Inmate's Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/state-releases-report-inmates-suicide <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State officials say one and possibly two prison guards falsified an electronic log documenting checks on a death row inmate who committed suicide days before his scheduled execution. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 11:53:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 43243 at http://wcbe.org Third Inmate Suicide In Two Months http://wcbe.org/post/third-inmate-suicide-two-months <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The state says a prison inmate has committed suicide, the third case of an Ohio prisoner killing himself in two months.&nbsp; Thu, 12 Sep 2013 00:04:25 +0000 Associated Press 42941 at http://wcbe.org Two Guards Disciplined In Probe Of Deceased Inmate http://wcbe.org/post/two-guards-disciplined-probe-deceased-inmate <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State prisons officials have placed two jail guards on leave&nbsp;as they investigate&nbsp;the suicide of an inmate who was scheduled to be executed earlier this week. Fri, 09 Aug 2013 10:48:10 +0000 Jim Letizia 40978 at http://wcbe.org Inmate Found Hanging In Cell http://wcbe.org/post/inmate-found-hanging-cell <P>Just days before he was set to be executed, a condemned killer hanged himself at the prison in Chillicothe. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 14:07:51 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 40655 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Rejects Clemency For Slagle http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-rejects-clemency-slagle <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Governor John Kasich has rejected clemency for a condemned killer, despite Cuayhoga County prosecutor Tim McGinty's rare plea to commute his sentence to life without parole. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 10:56:47 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 40006 at http://wcbe.org Parole Board Rejects Clemency For Slagle http://wcbe.org/post/parole-board-rejects-clemency-slagle <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio Parole Board has recommended against clemency for a death row inmate convicted of killing a woman in her home in 1987. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 11:30:16 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 39528 at http://wcbe.org Parole Board Considering Clemency Plea http://wcbe.org/post/parole-board-considering-clemency-plea <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Cuayhoga County prosecutors and defense attorneys are asking the Ohio Parole Board today to spare a death row inmate convicted of stabbing and killing a Cleveland woman in 1986 during a burglary at her home. Mon, 08 Jul 2013 16:15:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38917 at http://wcbe.org