Ohio Department of Agriculture http://wcbe.org en Agriculture Department Begins Spraying For Gypsy Moths http://wcbe.org/post/agriculture-department-begins-spraying-gypsy-moths <p>Some Central Ohio residents were scared by low flying planes this morning. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 02:58:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58289 at http://wcbe.org Agriculture Department Begins Spraying For Gypsy Moths Ohio Mulch Company Offers Rebates For Underweight Bags http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-mulch-company-offers-rebates-underweight-bags <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's Agriculture Department has stopped sales of 1.5 cubic-foot bags of mulch produced before April 6 by a Columbus mulch company, after random testing found the bags weren't full. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 23:57:14 +0000 Associated Press 54925 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Mulch Company Offers Rebates For Underweight Bags Ohio Beekeepers Lost Colonies Over The Winter http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-beekeepers-lost-colonies-over-winter <p><span lang="EN">State agriculture officials say beekeepers lost 50 to 80 percent of their honeybees over the winter, threatening the farming industry. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 16:33:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54893 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Beekeepers Lost Colonies Over The Winter Ash Borer Population Hurt By Cold Weather http://wcbe.org/post/ash-borer-population-hurt-cold-weather <p><span lang="EN">State officials say the recent cold snap may have helped reduce the population of the Emerald Ash Borer Beetle. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 17:49:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 49652 at http://wcbe.org Black Walnut Quarentine Called For Southwest Ohio County http://wcbe.org/post/black-walnut-quarentine-called-southwest-ohio-county <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">State agriculture officials are trying to keep a deadly walnut-tree disease from spreading from a southwestern Ohio county. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 14:30:41 +0000 Associated Press 48597 at http://wcbe.org State Simulates Grain Bin Rescues http://wcbe.org/post/state-simulates-grain-bin-rescues <P>Emergency crews need to be ready for all types of situations… and that requires thorough training. Sat, 03 Aug 2013 00:25:06 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 40585 at http://wcbe.org Funding approved for exotic animal facility http://wcbe.org/post/funding-approved-exotic-animal-facility <P>A state panel has approved spending up to $3.5 million for a facility that could temporarily hold dozens of exotic animals confiscated under a new Ohio law.&nbsp; Mon, 10 Sep 2012 23:17:52 +0000 Associated Press 22439 at http://wcbe.org State proposes zoo for confiscated animals http://wcbe.org/post/state-proposes-zoo-confiscated-animals <P>The state wants to build a zoo like facility that would temporarily house the exotic animals that will be confiscated under a new state law that is about to take affect. In an interview with Ohio Public Radio's Jo Ingles, Erika Pitchford of the Ohio Department of Agriculture explains why the state is looking at this option. Thu, 23 Aug 2012 23:30:29 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Jo Ingles 21448 at http://wcbe.org