same-sex marriage http://wcbe.org en Board: No Same-Sex Marriages At Statehouse http://wcbe.org/post/board-no-same-sex-marriages-statehouse <p>The Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board says it will maintain its policy of preventing same-sex couples and others without valid Ohio wedding licenses from renting the Statehouse and its grounds for weddings and receptions. Sat, 19 Jul 2014 07:27:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59776 at http://wcbe.org Board: No Same-Sex Marriages At Statehouse AG Previews Arugments In Pending Same-Sex Marriage Case http://wcbe.org/post/ag-previews-arugments-pending-same-sex-marriage-case <p>The Ohio Attorney General's Office is urging the 6th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Cincinnati to reject arguments the state should have to recognize same-sex marriage. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 15:33:22 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59655 at http://wcbe.org AG Previews Arugments In Pending Same-Sex Marriage Case Supporters Urge Federal Court To Strike Down Ohio's Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/supporters-urge-federal-court-strike-down-ohios-same-sex-marriage-ban <p><span lang="EN">Attorneys for same-sex couples fighting to have their marriages recognized in Ohio are urging a federal appeals court to strike down the state's gay marriage ban, arguing that it's unconstitutional and demeaning. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 00:14:06 +0000 Associated Press 59122 at http://wcbe.org Same-Sex Marriage Issue Won't Make Fall Ballot http://wcbe.org/post/same-sex-marriage-issue-wont-make-fall-ballot <p><span lang="EN">A key organizer in the ballot effort to overturn Ohio's gay marriage ban says a revised proposal lacks the required signatures to go before voters this fall. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 23:44:41 +0000 Associated Press 58093 at http://wcbe.org Same-Sex Marriage Issue Won't Make Fall Ballot Quinnipiac Poll Shows Most Ohioans Favor Same-Sex Marriage http://wcbe.org/post/quinnipiac-poll-shows-most-ohioans-favor-same-sex-marriage <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">A new Quinnipiac University poll shows most Ohioans surveyed support allowing same-sex couples to marry. Fri, 16 May 2014 22:55:17 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 56162 at http://wcbe.org Quinnipiac Poll Shows Most Ohioans Favor Same-Sex Marriage Ohio Denomination Sues North Carolina Over Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-denomination-sues-north-carolina-over-same-sex-marriage-ban <p><span lang="EN">The Cleveland-based United Church of Christ has filed a lawsuit in North Carolina over that state's same-sex marriage ban. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 11:27:08 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 55141 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Denomination Sues North Carolina Over Same-Sex Marriage Ban Gay Rights Group Asks To Intervene In Marriage Test Case http://wcbe.org/post/gay-rights-group-asks-intervene-marriage-test-case <p><span lang="EN">A gay rights group wants to intervene in an existing case in hopes of getting a federal court to overturn Ohio's 2004 voter-approved ban on same-sex marriage ban. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 00:11:36 +0000 Associated Press 54858 at http://wcbe.org Federal Judge Continues To Block Same-Sex Marriage Recognition For Most Ohioans http://wcbe.org/post/federal-judge-continues-block-same-sex-marriage-recognition-most-ohioans <p><span lang="EN">The federal district judge who earlier this week ruled Ohio must recognize same-sex marriages will continue to block that ruling from taking effect. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 11:02:11 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 54469 at http://wcbe.org New Ohio Gay Marriage Ballot Language Approved http://wcbe.org/post/new-ohio-gay-marriage-ballot-language-approved <div>Ohio Attorney General Mike DeWine has certified the language in a new version of a proposed constitutional amendment aimed at overturning the state's 2004 voter-approved ban on same-sex marriage.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:55:03 +0000 Associated Press 54288 at http://wcbe.org Judge To Ohio: Recognize Out-Of-State Same-Sex Marriage http://wcbe.org/post/judge-ohio-recognize-out-state-same-sex-marriage <div>A federal judge has ordered Ohio authorities to recognize the marriages of&nbsp;same-sex couples performed in other states.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 15:51:39 +0000 Associated Press 54287 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Couple Drops Lawsuit Over Gay Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-couple-drops-lawsuit-over-gay-marriage-ban <div>A gay married couple who had trouble getting family coverage under the federal health care law have dropped their lawsuit seeking to overturn Ohio's gay marriage ban.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 23:02:00 +0000 Associated Press 53475 at http://wcbe.org Poll Focuses On Same-Sex Marriage, Medical Marijuana http://wcbe.org/post/poll-focuses-same-sex-marriage-medical-marijuana <p><span lang="EN">A new Quinnipiac University poll shows Ohioans are split over same-sex marriage, but a majority support the use of medical marijuana. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 12:29:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51722 at http://wcbe.org Latest Gay Marriage Lawsuit Won’t Affect Plans To Put Issue On Fall Ballot http://wcbe.org/post/latest-gay-marriage-lawsuit-won-t-affect-plans-put-issue-fall-ballot <p><span style="line-height: 19px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">Earlier this week, a Northeast Ohio same-sex couple filed a federal lawsuit, saying they are being denied a family insurance plan on the federal health care exchange because of Ohio’s 2004 voter-approved ban on such unions. </span></p><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 23:38:15 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51566 at http://wcbe.org Tactical Questions Face Effort To Repeal Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/tactical-questions-face-effort-repeal-same-sex-marriage-ban <p><span lang="EN">Gay rights advocates want to overturn the 2004 voter-approved state constitutional amendment banning same-sex marriage. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 11:52:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51123 at http://wcbe.org Couples Sue To Force Ohio's Hand On Same-Sex Marriage http://wcbe.org/post/couples-sue-force-ohios-hand-same-sex-marriage <div>Four married gay couples have filed a federal civil rights lawsuit seeking to force Ohio to recognize same-sex marriages on birth certificates.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 17:28:36 +0000 Associated Press & Alison Holm 50884 at http://wcbe.org AG Appealing Same-Sex Marriage Ruling http://wcbe.org/post/ag-appealing-same-sex-marriage-ruling <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Attorney General's office has filed a notice of appeal of a federal judge's order that the state recognize&nbsp;same-sex &nbsp;marriages on death certificates. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 12:36:39 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 49684 at http://wcbe.org Federal Ruling Could Lead To Challenge Of State's Same-Sex Marriage Ban http://wcbe.org/post/federal-ruling-could-lead-challenge-states-same-sex-marriage-ban <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A federal judge in Cincinnati today ordered state officials to recognize same-sex marriages on death certificates, saying the state's ban on such unions is unconstitutional. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 22:47:47 +0000 Alison Holm 48577 at http://wcbe.org Judge Rules State Must Recognize Same-Sex Marriage On Death Certificates http://wcbe.org/post/judge-rules-state-must-recognize-same-sex-marriage-death-certificates <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A federal judge has declared Ohio's ban on gay marriage unconstitutional when it applies to death certificates. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 19:39:20 +0000 Associated Press 48565 at http://wcbe.org Legislation Would Allow Same-Sex Couples To File Joint State Tax Returns http://wcbe.org/post/legislation-would-allow-same-sex-couples-file-joint-state-tax-returns <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Legislation proposed by statehouse Democrats would allow same-sex couples to file joint state tax returns. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 11:28:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48417 at http://wcbe.org Poll On Gay Marriage Shows Religious Exemptions Could Be Key http://wcbe.org/post/poll-gay-marriage-shows-religious-exemptions-could-be-key <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Gay marriage supporters say they have enough signatures to put the issue on the statewide ballot next year. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 00:34:39 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Alison Holm 48406 at http://wcbe.org