Renewable Energy http://wcbe.org en Governor Expected To Sign Energy Standards Bill http://wcbe.org/post/governor-expected-sign-energy-standards-bill <p><span lang="EN">The bill freezing Ohio's renewable energy standards for two years has cleared the Legislature. Thu, 29 May 2014 11:53:05 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 56881 at http://wcbe.org Governor Expected To Sign Energy Standards Bill Some Religious Leaders Opposing Energy Standards Freeze http://wcbe.org/post/some-religious-leaders-opposing-energy-standards-freeze <p><span lang="EN">An Ohio House committee has canceled its hearing on legislation freezing the state's renewable energy and efficiency standards. Thu, 22 May 2014 11:28:16 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56452 at http://wcbe.org Panel Cancels Hearing On Ohio Clean Energy Bill http://wcbe.org/post/panel-cancels-hearing-ohio-clean-energy-bill <div>A key Ohio &nbsp;House committee has canceled its hearing on legislation halting the phase-in of&nbsp; renewable energy and efficiency standards.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 21 May 2014 15:20:52 +0000 Associated Press 56390 at http://wcbe.org DeWine Rejects Petition For Clean Energy Ballot Measure http://wcbe.org/post/dewine-rejects-petition-clean-energy-ballot-measure <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Attorney General has rejected a petition for a ballot measure requiring billions of dollars worth of state investments in alternative energy. Tue, 20 May 2014 11:23:25 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56307 at http://wcbe.org A Glimpse Of Ohio's Green Energy Industry http://wcbe.org/post/glimpse-ohios-green-energy-industry <p><span lang="EN">Critics of a bill to freeze Ohio's energy standards say it threatens to dismantle the green energy industry. Fri, 16 May 2014 11:04:50 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56106 at http://wcbe.org A Glimpse Of Ohio's Green Energy Industry Vets Group Says Use Of Fossil Fuels Threatens National Security http://wcbe.org/post/vets-group-says-use-fossil-fuels-threatens-national-security <p><span lang="EN">A coalition of veterans is speaking against proposed changes to Ohio's renewable energy standards. Thu, 15 May 2014 15:45:20 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56048 at http://wcbe.org Vets Group Says Use Of Fossil Fuels Threatens National Security Senate Approves Compromise Energy Bill http://wcbe.org/post/senate-approves-compromise-energy-bill <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Senate early this morning approved a compromise measure to overhaul the state's energy policies . Thu, 08 May 2014 10:53:40 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 55647 at http://wcbe.org Senate Approves Compromise Energy Bill Big City Mayors Among Critics Of Renewable Energy Standards Freeze http://wcbe.org/post/big-city-mayors-among-critics-renewable-energy-standards-freeze <p><span lang="EN">Top city leaders in Ohio are coming out against an attempt to freeze the state’s energy efficiency standards. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 00:05:18 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 54857 at http://wcbe.org Energy Standards Freeze http://wcbe.org/post/energy-standards-freeze <pre style="line-height: normal; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);"> There's a new twist to one of the most controversial debates among lawmakers.</pre> <p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 22:59:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 53474 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Senate Could Freeze Energy Standards With New Bill http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-senate-could-freeze-energy-standards-new-bill <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">A new bill on Ohio's renewable energy standards is being drafted in the Ohio Senate. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 21:10:56 +0000 Ohio Public Radio & Andy Chow 53327 at http://wcbe.org Industry-Funded Studies Back Changes In Renewable Energy Standards http://wcbe.org/post/industry-funded-studies-back-changes-renewable-energy-standards <p><span lang="EN">After a three month break, the controversial bill to revamp the state's energy standards is back before lawmakers. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 11:58:05 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51426 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Ranked 8th For Solar Job Creation http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-ranked-8th-solar-job-creation <p><span lang="EN">Advocates for solar power say the industry created nearly 38 hundred jobs in Ohio last year, a 31 percent increase over 2012 and the eighth highest total in the nation. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 17:37:41 +0000 Jim Letizia 51077 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Ranked 8th For Solar Job Creation Proposal On Renewable Energy Mandates Stalls Again http://wcbe.org/post/proposal-renewable-energy-mandates-stalls-again <p>A proposal to adjust Ohio's renewable energy and efficiency mandates has stalled for a second time amid opposition from environmental and consumer interests and some majority Republican lawmakers.&nbsp; Wed, 04 Dec 2013 21:52:38 +0000 Associated Press 47543 at http://wcbe.org Groups Oppose Renewable Energy Compromise Bill http://wcbe.org/post/groups-oppose-renewable-energy-compromise-bill <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Consumer and business groups continue to oppose a bill governing utilities after its sponsor removed a provision that would have eliminated the state's renewables targets by year's end. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:07:42 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 47283 at http://wcbe.org Energy Efficiency, Renewable Companies Oppose Renewable Energy Standards Overhaul http://wcbe.org/post/energy-efficiency-renewable-companies-oppose-renewable-energy-standards-overhaul <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Akron-based FirstEnergy has been leading the fight to weaken the state's renewable energy standards. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 12:41:44 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 46342 at http://wcbe.org Advocates Say Revisting Energy Policies Hurts Investments http://wcbe.org/post/advocates-say-revisting-energy-policies-hurts-investments <p>In the last five years significant investments have been made in Ohio to develop renewable energy. Advocates say this is because of the standards implemented by state lawmakers.&nbsp; Wed, 25 Sep 2013 16:35:55 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 43761 at http://wcbe.org