Ohio Civil Service Employees Association http://wcbe.org en Union Wants State To Hire More Prison Guards http://wcbe.org/post/union-wants-state-hire-more-prison-guards <p><span lang="EN">The union representing Ohio prison guards wants an extra 400 officers to combat a sharp increase in the number of serious assaults by inmates. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 12:18:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 53434 at http://wcbe.org Union Wants State To Hire More Prison Guards Guards' Union Criticizes Probe Of Inmate Suicides http://wcbe.org/post/guards-union-criticizes-probe-inmate-suicides <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The union representing Ohio prison guards says the scope of a state-commissioned review on inmate suicides is too narrow and does not address the broader issues affecting the state's prison system. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 10:27:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 43383 at http://wcbe.org Union Defends Guards Following Castro's Apparent Suicide http://wcbe.org/post/union-defends-guards-following-castros-apparent-suicide <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The union representing Ohio prison guards says the two corrections officers placed on leave during investigations into the suicide of Cleveland kidnapper and rapist Ariel Castro did nothing wrong. Thu, 12 Sep 2013 10:44:20 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 42962 at http://wcbe.org Audits Show Problems With Prison Food Company http://wcbe.org/post/audits-show-problems-prison-food-company <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Several state audits show a private vendor in line to begin feeding nearly 100 thousand prison inmates in Ohio and Michigan has a track record of questionable billing, using substandard ingredients and riling prisoners with meal offerings. Mon, 15 Jul 2013 10:55:36 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 39356 at http://wcbe.org State Trying To Privatize Prison Food Services http://wcbe.org/post/state-trying-privatize-prison-food-services <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>State officials are looking to save money by privatizing prison food service. Fri, 08 Feb 2013 11:15:45 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 30318 at http://wcbe.org Workers To Join Union Without Consent http://wcbe.org/post/workers-join-union-without-consent <P><SPAN lang=EN>The union representing the majority of the state work force wants to absorb </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>600 state government management analysts without their approval. Fri, 31 Aug 2012 16:30:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 21921 at http://wcbe.org