Ohio House of Representatives http://wcbe.org en Deal Reached In House Speaker Contest http://wcbe.org/post/deal-reached-house-speaker-contest <p><span lang="EN">The two frontrunners to become the next Speaker of the Ohio House of Representatives have reached an agreement, putting one a step closer to the seat. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 10:32:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 58822 at http://wcbe.org Deal Reached In House Speaker Contest State Lawmaker Passes Away http://wcbe.org/post/state-lawmaker-passes-away <p><span lang="EN">Funeral services are pending for a Republican State Representative who passed away yesterday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 11:24:46 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 58517 at http://wcbe.org State Lawmaker Passes Away Bill Protecting Pets Passes with Bipartisan Support http://wcbe.org/post/bill-protecting-pets-passes-bipartisan-support <p>The Ohio House has passed a bill that would increase the penalties for animal abuse. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 00:39:39 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48007 at http://wcbe.org House Considering Restrictions On Sale Of E-Cigarettes http://wcbe.org/post/house-considering-restrictions-sale-e-cigarettes <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio House will soon open debate on a bill that would restrict the sale of e-cigarettes. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 11:02:03 +0000 Jim Letizia 43808 at http://wcbe.org House Approves Human Trafficking Measure http://wcbe.org/post/house-approves-human-trafficking-measure <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Ohio House has approved a measure increasing penalties for human trafficking offenders and adding protections for victims. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 11:16:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38387 at http://wcbe.org Judge Orders Seizure Of Village's Traffic Cameras http://wcbe.org/post/judge-orders-seizure-villages-traffic-cameras <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A Hamilton County judge has found the village of Elmwood Place in contempt of court, saying it violated his order against using traffic cameras to catch speeders. Thu, 27 Jun 2013 16:32:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 38333 at http://wcbe.org House Rejects Senate's Budget Bill Changes http://wcbe.org/post/house-rejects-senates-budget-bill-changes <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>An Ohio House and Senate Conference Committee meets today to begin sorting out differences between the two chambers' versions of the state budget bill. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 11:23:24 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 37494 at http://wcbe.org No Extra Foodbank Money In Senate Budget Bill http://wcbe.org/post/no-extra-foodbank-money-senate-budget-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Foodbanks might lose the money Ohio House lawmakers put in their version of the state budget bill. Thu, 06 Jun 2013 11:26:48 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 37040 at http://wcbe.org Budget Bill Bans Lottery Ticket E-Sales http://wcbe.org/post/budget-bill-bans-lottery-ticket-e-sales <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>A provision in the Ohio House version of the state budget bill prohibits the Ohio Lottery from following the lead of other states and selling tickets directly to players via computers and hand-held devices. Fri, 24 May 2013 16:29:37 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 36295 at http://wcbe.org State Lawmakers Begin Debating CCS Bill http://wcbe.org/post/state-lawmakers-begin-debating-ccs-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Debate began Thursday in the Ohio House about a measure making changes to the Columbus City Schools. Fri, 24 May 2013 11:14:36 +0000 Jim Letizia 36269 at http://wcbe.org Ohio House Approves Moving State of the State Address http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-house-approves-moving-state-state-address <P><FONT face="Times New Roman">The Ohio House has agreed to the governor's plans to move the State of the State speech out of the capital for the second year in a row.</FONT></P> <P><FONT face="Times New Roman">The House approved the move with an 80-16 vote on Wednesday. Republican Gov. John Kasich wants to give the Februrary speech in Lima, a Rust Belt city in northwest Ohio that has seen new growth. Last year, Kasich became the first governor in modern memory to take the big policy speech outside the Capitol, to the Ohio River city of Steubenville. Wed, 30 Jan 2013 23:43:30 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 29819 at http://wcbe.org New Ohio House Supermajority http://wcbe.org/post/new-ohio-house-supermajority <P>Ohioans in November elected Democrats for President and U.S. Senate. But they elected more Republicans to the Ohio house and senate than in years past. Fri, 28 Dec 2012 12:16:16 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 28091 at http://wcbe.org House approves education changes with 'Cleveland Plan' http://wcbe.org/post/house-approves-education-changes-cleveland-plan <p>The&nbsp;Ohio House&nbsp;has approved an education plan for the City of Cleveland giving Mayor Frank Jackson&nbsp;more power&nbsp;over the school&nbsp;district. It&nbsp;also makes&nbsp;major changes&nbsp;for teacher layoffs&nbsp;and recalls by&nbsp;using an evaluation process&nbsp;instead of strict seniority.&nbsp;State representatives are weighing in. Wed, 13 Jun 2012 19:59:41 +0000 Mike Foley 17149 at http://wcbe.org