Dennis McGuire http://wcbe.org en State Seeks Dismissal Of Lawsuit Prompted By Botched Execution http://wcbe.org/post/state-seeks-dismissal-lawsuit-prompted-botched-execution <p><span lang="EN">The state is asking a federal judge to dismiss a lawsuit filed by the family of Dennis McGuire, who repeatedly gasped and snorted during his January execution. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 10:29:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 59289 at http://wcbe.org State Seeks Dismissal Of Lawsuit Prompted By Botched Execution ODRC Denies AP Request For Certain Documents In Probe Of Botched Execution http://wcbe.org/post/odrc-denies-ap-request-certain-documents-probe-botched-execution <p><span lang="EN">Ohio is shielding interviews with 20 prison employees involved in the January execution of an inmate who repeatedly gasped and snorted as he was put to death with a never-before-tried drug method. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 11:04:43 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 57609 at http://wcbe.org ODRC Denies AP Request For Certain Documents In Probe Of Botched Execution State Report On Lethal Injection Protocols Raises Questions http://wcbe.org/post/state-report-lethal-injection-protocols-raises-questions <p>The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections has reviewed&nbsp;January's problematic execution, and says it will continue to use the drugs that were used for the first time in that case. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:48:31 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55186 at http://wcbe.org State Increasing Lethal Injection Dosages http://wcbe.org/post/state-increasing-lethal-injection-dosages <p>The Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections says it is increasing the dosages of the two-drug lethal injection combo "to allay any remaining concerns" after the last execution, when an inmate made repeated snorting-like gasps as he died. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 11:22:10 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 55140 at http://wcbe.org Manufacturer Of Ohio's Lethal Injection Drugs Disapproves Of Use http://wcbe.org/post/manufacturer-ohios-lethal-injection-drugs-disapproves-use <p><span lang="EN">Records obtained by The Associated Press show that Ohio's most recent batches of lethal execution drugs were produced by a company that wants states to stop using them for capital punishment. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:11:43 +0000 Associated Press 51489 at http://wcbe.org Review Finds No Reason For Change Following McGuire Execution http://wcbe.org/post/review-finds-no-reason-change-following-mcguire-execution <p><span lang="EN">Initial reviews of an execution in which an inmate repeatedly gasped found no reason to change the way the state carries out executions. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 12:46:55 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50684 at http://wcbe.org Attorney Back At Work After Allegations He Urged Death Row Inmate To Dramatize Execution http://wcbe.org/post/attorney-back-work-after-allegations-he-urged-death-row-inmate-dramatize-execution <p>An attorney for a condemned Ohio inmate who snorted and gasped during his execution was temporarily suspended last week while officials investigated whether he had coached the inmate to fake symptoms of suffocation before he died.&nbsp;&nbsp; Tue, 28 Jan 2014 03:45:38 +0000 Associated Press 50166 at http://wcbe.org Problems With Execution Of Convicted Killer http://wcbe.org/post/problems-execution-convicted-killer <p><span lang="EN">An attorney for the family of a killer whose execution by lethal injection Thursday was marked by several minutes of unprecedented gasping and unusual sounds plans to sue the state over what happened. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 12:23:26 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 49681 at http://wcbe.org Problems With Execution Of Convicted Killer Execution Delay Request To Donate Organs Denied http://wcbe.org/post/execution-delay-request-donate-organs-denied <p><span lang="EN">Documents show a condemned Ohio killer facing a never-tried lethal injection method attempted unsuccessfully to delay his execution by requesting he become an organ donor. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 00:13:09 +0000 Alison Holm 49614 at http://wcbe.org Judge Won't Block Ohio Execution By Untried Drugs http://wcbe.org/post/judge-wont-block-ohio-execution-untried-drugs <p style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Verdana, Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif, Geneva; font-size: 11px; line-height: 15px;">A federal judge has refused to stop the execution of an Ohio man facing death by a never-tried execution method that the inmate's attorneys allege will cause him agony and terror.&nbsp;</p><p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 18:11:08 +0000 Associated Press 49471 at http://wcbe.org Convicted Killer Faces Untried Execution Cocktail As Governor Denies Clemency http://wcbe.org/post/convicted-killer-faces-untried-execution-cocktail-governor-denies-clemency <p><span lang="EN">Ohio's governor is refusing to spare a condemned killer who raped and stabbed to death a pregnant woman and is sentenced to die by a lethal injection process never used in the United States. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 22:11:42 +0000 Alison Holm 49202 at http://wcbe.org Parole Board Recommends Against Clemency For McGuire http://wcbe.org/post/parole-board-recommends-against-clemency-mcguire <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Ohio Parole Board today recommended the Governor not grant clemency to a death row inmate convicted of raping and killing a pregnant Preble County woman in 1989. Fri, 20 Dec 2013 17:21:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48445 at http://wcbe.org Death Row Inmate Appeals For Clemency, Citing Abusive Childhood http://wcbe.org/post/death-row-inmate-appeals-clemency-citing-abusive-childhood <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Attorneys for a death row inmate are asking the Ohio Parole Board to recommend clemency for their client, citing his chaotic and abusive childhood and the failure of his original lawyers to work hard enough on his behalf. Fri, 13 Dec 2013 00:34:01 +0000 Associated Press 48006 at http://wcbe.org