Ohio Association of Foodbanks http://wcbe.org en Tough Winter For Low Income Ohioans http://wcbe.org/post/tough-winter-low-income-ohioans <p>Yesterday's brief but intense snowfall served as a reminder for people who work with low-income Ohioans that this winter has been especially hard.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:31:27 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 53297 at http://wcbe.org Work Begins To Set Up Summer Food Programs For Kids http://wcbe.org/post/work-begins-set-summer-food-programs-kids <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">Lawmakers, food bank and school representatives and other stakeholders met in Grove City&nbsp;this week&nbsp;to discuss ways to increase participation in the summer food service program, which provides meals to children from low-income families. Wed, 19 Mar 2014 14:07:53 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 52915 at http://wcbe.org Snow Days Mean Kids Go Without Free/Reduced Meals http://wcbe.org/post/snow-days-mean-kids-go-without-freereduced-meals <p><span style="line-height: 19px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">There is another serious problem caused by the snow that may go overlooked. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 15:03:01 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51002 at http://wcbe.org Friday's Food Stamp Cuts Impact Nearly 2 Million Ohioans http://wcbe.org/post/fridays-food-stamp-cuts-impact-nearly-2-million-ohioans <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">More than 47 million Americans who receive food stamps, including 1.8 million Ohioans, will see their benefits reduced starting Friday. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 16:32:35 +0000 Jim Letizia 45723 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Approves Emergency Funding For Food Banks http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-approves-emergency-funding-food-banks <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>While Congress continues fighting over cuts to the food stamp program, Ohio food banks are getting money from state government. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 15:44:35 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 43693 at http://wcbe.org Preparing For Implementation Of Health Navigators http://wcbe.org/post/preparing-implementation-health-navigators <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The federal health care marketplace is scheduled to open on October 1st. And Ohio organizations are busy preparing. Fri, 13 Sep 2013 11:12:29 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 43058 at http://wcbe.org One In Six Ohioans Facing Food Insecurity http://wcbe.org/post/one-six-ohioans-facing-food-insecurity <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>New data from the U.S. Department of Agriculture shows low-income Ohioans continue to have problems feeding themselves and their families. Fri, 06 Sep 2013 15:40:11 +0000 Jim Letizia 42655 at http://wcbe.org Impact Of Food Stamp Cuts http://wcbe.org/post/impact-food-stamp-cuts <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Nearly 2 million poor Ohioans rely on food stamps to make ends meet. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 10:25:12 +0000 Jim Letizia 41408 at http://wcbe.org No Extra Foodbank Money In Senate Budget Bill http://wcbe.org/post/no-extra-foodbank-money-senate-budget-bill <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Foodbanks might lose the money Ohio House lawmakers put in their version of the state budget bill. Thu, 06 Jun 2013 11:26:48 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 37040 at http://wcbe.org Sequestration Hits Summer Meal Program Workers http://wcbe.org/post/sequestration-hits-summer-meal-program-workers <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The fallout from the Federal sequestration cuts continues. Tue, 21 May 2013 10:55:31 +0000 Jim Letizia 36022 at http://wcbe.org Kasich Asks Foodbanks To Help With Medicaid Expansion http://wcbe.org/post/kasich-asks-foodbanks-help-medicaid-expansion <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Ohio Governor John Kasich is asking supporters of the state's food banks to help him convince his fellow Republicans in the Legislature to extend Medicaid coverage. Fri, 01 Mar 2013 12:29:09 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 31554 at http://wcbe.org Governor Approves Additional Money For Foodbanks http://wcbe.org/post/governor-approves-additional-money-foodbanks <P><SPAN lang=EN>For the second straight year, Ohio Governor John Kasich has authorized an </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>additional 1-million dollar appropriation for the Ohio Association of </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>Foodbanks to meet a growing demand. Fri, 21 Dec 2012 17:27:47 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 27801 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Ranks 11th For Food Insecurity http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-ranks-11th-food-insecurity <P><SPAN lang=EN>A new report shows one in six Ohioans worry about going hungry. Thu, 06 Sep 2012 13:40:19 +0000 Jim Letizia 22205 at http://wcbe.org