Fracking http://wcbe.org en ODNR Says Shale Drilling Industry Coming Of Age http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-says-shale-drilling-industry-coming-age <p><span style="text-transform: none; background-color: rgb(255,255,255); text-indent: 0px; display: inline !important; font: 13px/19.2px verdana, sans-serif; white-space: normal; float: none; letter-spacing: normal; color: rgb(0,0,0); word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px">The&nbsp;natural gas boom is still pushing an industry that’s growing in Ohio -- not only attracting oil and gas companies but other businesses that benefit from shale production. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:26:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58814 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Says Shale Drilling Industry Coming Of Age Group Revives Debate Over ODNR Fracking Strategy http://wcbe.org/post/group-revives-debate-over-odnr-fracking-strategy <p><span lang="EN">An environmental group is rekindling debate over the controversial communications strategy the state crafted with oil and gas drillers about fracking on on state-owned land. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:57:53 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 58108 at http://wcbe.org Group Revives Debate Over ODNR Fracking Strategy Ohio Studying Fracking-Related Earthquakes http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-studying-fracking-related-earthquakes <p><span lang="EN">Ohio is leading a group of drilling states working with seismology experts at energy companies, government agencies and universities on how best to detect and regulate human-induced earthquakes. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 11:14:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 57611 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Studying Fracking-Related Earthquakes Ohio House Approves Severance Tax Bill http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-house-approves-severance-tax-bill <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio House has approved legislation raising the severance tax on oil and gas drilling. Thu, 15 May 2014 11:55:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 56040 at http://wcbe.org Ohio House Approves Severance Tax Bill New Severance/Fracking Tax Bill Passes House Committee http://wcbe.org/post/new-severancefracking-tax-bill-passes-house-committee <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">A compromise proposal on a tax increase for oil and natural gas drillers is on its way to the Ohio House floor.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 14 May 2014 13:57:25 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55980 at http://wcbe.org Driller Causes Fracking Liquid Spill In Morgan County http://wcbe.org/post/driller-causes-fracking-liquid-spill-morgan-county <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">State and federal authorities are searching for the cause of a spill of hundreds of barrels of fracking waste at a site in Morgan County last Sunday night. Fri, 09 May 2014 00:12:22 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55698 at http://wcbe.org BP Leaves Utica Shale http://wcbe.org/post/bp-leaves-utica-shale <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">BP is ceasing operations in the state’s Utica Shale.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 14:15:31 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55219 at http://wcbe.org State Links Earthquakes, Fracking http://wcbe.org/post/state-links-earthquakes-fracking <p>State geologists believe they have for the first time linked earthquake activity in the Utica shale formation to fracking, and the state says it is issuing new permit conditions in seismic-sensitive areas. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 06:25:56 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 54206 at http://wcbe.org State Links Earthquakes, Fracking Business Owner Pleads Guilty To Illegally Dumping Fracking Wastewater http://wcbe.org/post/business-owner-pleads-guilty-illegally-dumping-fracking-wastewater <p><span lang="EN">A former Youngstown wastewater-company executive has pleaded guilty to federal Clean Water Act violations in the dumping of thousands of gallons of fracking wastewater into that city's storm sewer system. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 11:24:31 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 53230 at http://wcbe.org Researcher Believes Mahoning Earthquakes Likely Linked To Shale Drilling http://wcbe.org/post/researcher-believes-mahoning-earthquakes-likely-linked-shale-drilling <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">A&nbsp;national expert believes fracking is behind&nbsp;a recent string of earthquakes in northeast Ohio.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 16:27:48 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 52788 at http://wcbe.org Northeastern Ohio Experiences 5th Minor Earthquake http://wcbe.org/post/northeastern-ohio-experiences-5th-minor-earthquake <p>A fifth minor earthquake has been recorded in an area of northeastern Ohio where state regulators have ordered a gas drilling company to halt operations.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 11:04:27 +0000 Associated Press 52521 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Shuts Down Drilling Site After Early Morning Earthquakes http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-shuts-down-drilling-site-after-early-morning-earthquakes <p><span lang="EN">State regulators ordered a gas drilling company to halt operations today after four minor earthquakes shook an area 20 miles south east of Youngstown. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:10:46 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52427 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Hears Natural Gas Drilling Case http://wcbe.org/post/supco-hears-natural-gas-drilling-case <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Supreme Court justices yesterday vigorously challenged attorneys over the power of state oil and gas drilling regulations to supersede local zoning laws&nbsp; in a case brought by the Akron suburb of Munroe Falls against Beck Energy. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 11:51:39 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51855 at http://wcbe.org Survey Shows Some Ohio Communities Positive About Shale Drilling http://wcbe.org/post/survey-shows-some-ohio-communities-positive-about-shale-drilling <p>An Ohio University&nbsp;survey shows&nbsp;a majority of leaders and officials in 17 counties where shale development is occurring say it’s good for their communities. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 01:24:44 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51711 at http://wcbe.org Lawmakers Targeted In ODNR Communications Plan Respond http://wcbe.org/post/lawmakers-targeted-odnr-communications-plan-respond <p>Two state lawmakers were listed as adversaries in a state agency’s plan to promote drilling in state parks.&nbsp; Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:40:37 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51350 at http://wcbe.org Document Shows Influence Oil And Gas Drillers Have On State Lawmakers, Policy http://wcbe.org/post/document-shows-influence-oil-and-gas-drillers-have-state-lawmakers-policy <p><span lang="EN">An environmental group has discovered a controversial plan by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources to tackle oil and gas drilling issues. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 11:46:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51315 at http://wcbe.org Document Shows Influence Oil And Gas Drillers Have On State Lawmakers, Policy Case Of Dumping Fracking Wastewater Scheduled For April Trial http://wcbe.org/post/case-dumping-fracking-wastewater-scheduled-april-trial <p><span lang="EN">The former senior official of a Youngstown wastewater company charged with violating the federal Clean Water Act goes on trial April 8th. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 11:55:52 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50923 at http://wcbe.org State Panel To Hear Appeal Of Second Fracking Permit In Athens County http://wcbe.org/post/state-panel-hear-appeal-second-fracking-permit-athens-county <p><span lang="EN">The company proposing to put a second fracking wastewater well in the Athens County community of Troy Township will make its case to the Ohio Oil and Gas Commission. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 17:45:01 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50591 at http://wcbe.org Drillers Get More Oil And Gas From Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/drillers-get-more-oil-and-gas-ohio <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio energy companies extracted more than twice as much oil and gas from the Utica shale during three months last year than all of 2012. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 11:53:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 49001 at http://wcbe.org Shale Drilling Permits For 2013 Surpasses Expectations http://wcbe.org/post/shale-drilling-permits-2013-surpasses-expectations <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">2013 saw more than twice as many drilling permits issued for the Utica Shale than first expected. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 01:07:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48193 at http://wcbe.org