Public Utilities Commission of Ohio http://wcbe.org en AEP Seeks Rate Cut http://wcbe.org/post/aep-seeks-rate-cut <p><span lang="EN">Columbus-based American Electric Power is planning to cut rates for most residential customers by 12.6 percent. Tue, 27 May 2014 15:21:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56730 at http://wcbe.org AEP Seeks Rate Cut SUPCO Blocks Duke From Passing Clean-Up Costs To Consumers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-blocks-duke-passing-clean-costs-consumers <p>The Ohio Supreme Court has temporarily blocked Duke Energy from charging customers for pollution clean-up at its deactivated manufactured-gas plants. Thu, 15 May 2014 12:16:57 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56041 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Blocks Duke From Passing Clean-Up Costs To Consumers Governor Appoints New Top Ohio Utility Regulator http://wcbe.org/post/governor-appoints-new-top-ohio-utility-regulator <div>Gov. John Kasich&nbsp;has picked a former state budget director and lawmaker to be Ohio's top utility regulator.&nbsp;</div><p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:25:11 +0000 Associated Press 51968 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Launches Website To Help Consumers Comparision Shop Utilities http://wcbe.org/post/puco-launches-website-help-consumers-comparision-shop-utilities <p><span lang="EN">State regulators have launched a website designed to help consumers save money when they choose a natural gas or electricity provider. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 01:16:10 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51490 at http://wcbe.org SUPCO Rejects Refunds For AEP Customers http://wcbe.org/post/supco-rejects-refunds-aep-customers <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Supreme Court has rejected an appeal seeking 368 million dollars in refunds for customers of Columbus-based American Electric Power. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 17:27:38 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 51164 at http://wcbe.org Former State Budget Chief Among Four Finalists For PUCO Seat http://wcbe.org/post/former-state-budget-chief-among-four-finalists-puco-seat <p><span lang="EN">The four finalists recommended for a soon-to-be-vacated seat on the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio include a former state budget director and the commission's utility-rate administrator. Fri, 31 Jan 2014 11:27:15 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 50369 at http://wcbe.org Top Ohio Utility Regulator To Leave Post http://wcbe.org/post/top-ohio-utility-regulator-leave-post <div>Ohio's top public utility regulator says he won't seek reappointment when his term expires April 10.&nbsp;</div><p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 17:39:54 +0000 Associated Press 49586 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Chair To Leave In April http://wcbe.org/post/puco-chair-leave-april <p><span lang="EN">Public Utilities Commission of Ohio chair Todd Snitchler says he will not seek reappointment when his term ends on April 10th. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 11:27:53 +0000 Jim Letizia 49504 at http://wcbe.org State Regulators Approve Changes To 740 Area Code http://wcbe.org/post/state-regulators-approve-changes-740-area-code <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has approved a plan to use a new 220 area code in areas now covered by the 740 area code, which is expected to run out of numbers in 2015. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 12:01:47 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 47946 at http://wcbe.org State Says Columbus Southern Power Should Refund Customers http://wcbe.org/post/state-says-columbus-southern-power-should-refund-customers <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio says Columbus Southern Power had "excessive earnings" for 2010 under state law and should return 6.9 million dollars to customers. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 11:17:51 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 45305 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Orders Repayment Of Renewable Energy Overcharges http://wcbe.org/post/puco-orders-repayment-renewable-energy-overcharges <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has ordered Akron-based FirstEnergy to credit 43.3 million dollars to 2 million customers overcharged by the utitity for renewable energy purchases. Thu, 08 Aug 2013 10:24:14 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio & Associated Press 40880 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Delays Vote On Energy Rebates http://wcbe.org/post/puco-delays-vote-energy-rebates <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has delayed action in a case potentially affecting 96 to 126 million dollars in rebates of renewable energy overcharges to customers of Akron-based FirstEnergy. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 10:48:46 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 40437 at http://wcbe.org Train-Vehicle Crashes Decline http://wcbe.org/post/train-vehicle-crashes-decline <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio says there were 71 train-vehicle crashes last year, down from 112 in 2003. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 10:32:42 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 37778 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Staff Approves AEP Cost Recovery Plan http://wcbe.org/post/puco-staff-approves-aep-cost-recovery-plan <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Public Utilities Commission of Ohio staffers have recommended Columbus-based American Electric Power be allowed to charge customers for nearly all of the 61.8 million dollars it spent on repairs from the June 2012 windstorm. Thu, 30 May 2013 11:28:14 +0000 Jim Letizia 36593 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Chair Tied To ALEC http://wcbe.org/post/puco-chair-tied-alec <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Public Utilities Commission of Ohio chair Todd Snitchler (SNIHCH'-lur) has ties to a group behind model legislation that would repeal states' renewable energy requirements. Tue, 29 Jan 2013 17:21:35 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 29716 at http://wcbe.org Finalists Named For PUCO Post http://wcbe.org/post/finalists-named-puco-post <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Four finalists have been recommended from a pool of 26 applicants to fill an </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>opening on the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio. Fri, 18 Jan 2013 12:36:54 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 29167 at http://wcbe.org Lawmaker Wants Explanation Of Controversial Tweets http://wcbe.org/post/lawmaker-wants-explanation-controversial-tweets <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Democratic State Representative Mike Foley is asking Public Utilities </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Commission of Ohio chair Todd Snitchler to explain posts on Twitter </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>criticizing solar, wind and renewable energy and questioning global climate </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>change. Thu, 17 Jan 2013 12:30:19 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 29104 at http://wcbe.org PUCO Chair's Twitter Posts Raise Controversy http://wcbe.org/post/puco-chairs-twitter-posts-raise-controversy <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Public Utilities Commission of Ohio chair Todd Snitchler has used his Twitter account to steadily criticize solar, wind and renewable energy and to question global climate change. Tue, 15 Jan 2013 12:37:28 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28960 at http://wcbe.org Plans For Solar Farm Scuttled http://wcbe.org/post/plans-solar-farm-scuttled <P>The Public Utilities Commission of Ohio has nixed plans by Columbus-based American Electric Power to build a large solar farm in Southeast Ohio. Thu, 10 Jan 2013 12:31:07 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28707 at http://wcbe.org AEP Wants Customers To Pay For Storm Repairs http://wcbe.org/post/aep-wants-customers-pay-storm-repairs <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Columbus-based American Electric Power is asking the Public Utilities </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Commission </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>of Ohio for permission to make customers pay nearly 62-million </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>dollars in </FONT></FONT><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>repairs for storm damage last summer. Fri, 04 Jan 2013 12:57:47 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 28428 at http://wcbe.org