Ohio Department of Natural Resources http://wcbe.org en ODNR Says Shale Drilling Industry Coming Of Age http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-says-shale-drilling-industry-coming-age <p><span style="text-transform: none; background-color: rgb(255,255,255); text-indent: 0px; display: inline !important; font: 13px/19.2px verdana, sans-serif; white-space: normal; float: none; letter-spacing: normal; color: rgb(0,0,0); word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px">The&nbsp;natural gas boom is still pushing an industry that’s growing in Ohio -- not only attracting oil and gas companies but other businesses that benefit from shale production. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:26:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58814 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Says Shale Drilling Industry Coming Of Age Ohio Gas And Oil Developers Had Big Year In 2013 http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-gas-and-oil-developers-had-big-year-2013 <p><span style="text-transform: none; background-color: rgb(255,255,255); text-indent: 0px; display: inline !important; font: 13px/19.2px verdana, sans-serif; white-space: normal; float: none; letter-spacing: normal; color: rgb(0,0,0); word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px">State data shows 2013 was a&nbsp;big year for oil and gas development. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 23:03:37 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 58812 at http://wcbe.org Group Revives Debate Over ODNR Fracking Strategy http://wcbe.org/post/group-revives-debate-over-odnr-fracking-strategy <p><span lang="EN">An environmental group is rekindling debate over the controversial communications strategy the state crafted with oil and gas drillers about fracking on on state-owned land. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 10:57:53 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 58108 at http://wcbe.org Group Revives Debate Over ODNR Fracking Strategy Driller Causes Fracking Liquid Spill In Morgan County http://wcbe.org/post/driller-causes-fracking-liquid-spill-morgan-county <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">State and federal authorities are searching for the cause of a spill of hundreds of barrels of fracking waste at a site in Morgan County last Sunday night. Fri, 09 May 2014 00:12:22 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 55698 at http://wcbe.org Flooding Victims and ODNR Before State Supreme Court Over Compensation http://wcbe.org/post/flooding-victims-and-odnr-state-supreme-court-over-compensation <p><span lang="EN">The state is responding to complaints by dozens of landowners near Ohio's largest inland lake who say compensation for flooding losses has been delayed again. Wed, 30 Apr 2014 22:59:47 +0000 Associated Press 55272 at http://wcbe.org Second Body Recovered From Buckeye Lake http://wcbe.org/post/second-body-recovered-buckeye-lake <p><span lang="EN">Authorities have found the body of a second boater who&nbsp;drowned in Buckeye Lake after a fishing boat capsized last Friday. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 11:24:20 +0000 Jim Letizia 53615 at http://wcbe.org Ohio Department of Education “Hit List” Claim http://wcbe.org/post/ohio-department-education-hit-list-claim <p><span style="line-height: 19.2px; font-family: verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 13px">A month ago, questions were raised about an alleged list of people at the Ohio Department of Natural Resources who were supposed to be treated as enemies.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:42:53 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 53299 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Shuts Down Drilling Site After Early Morning Earthquakes http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-shuts-down-drilling-site-after-early-morning-earthquakes <p><span lang="EN">State regulators ordered a gas drilling company to halt operations today after four minor earthquakes shook an area 20 miles south east of Youngstown. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 23:10:46 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52427 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Investigations Reintroducing Sturgeon To Lake Erie http://wcbe.org/post/odnr-investigations-reintroducing-sturgeon-lake-erie <p><span lang="EN">The Ohio Department of Natural Resources is looking into whether it can reintroduce breeding populations of sturgeon to Lake Erie. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 01:15:08 +0000 Alison Holm & Associated Press 52061 at http://wcbe.org ODNR Investigations Reintroducing Sturgeon To Lake Erie State Seeks Public Input On Hunting Proposals http://wcbe.org/post/state-seeks-public-input-hunting-proposals <div>State officials are seeking public comment on hunting, trapping and fishing regulations proposed for 2014 through 2015.&nbsp;</div><p> Mon, 24 Feb 2014 18:32:12 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 51675 at http://wcbe.org Lawmakers Targeted In ODNR Communications Plan Respond http://wcbe.org/post/lawmakers-targeted-odnr-communications-plan-respond <p>Two state lawmakers were listed as adversaries in a state agency’s plan to promote drilling in state parks.&nbsp; Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:40:37 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 51350 at http://wcbe.org Document Shows Influence Oil And Gas Drillers Have On State Lawmakers, Policy http://wcbe.org/post/document-shows-influence-oil-and-gas-drillers-have-state-lawmakers-policy <p><span lang="EN">An environmental group has discovered a controversial plan by the Ohio Department of Natural Resources to tackle oil and gas drilling issues. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 11:46:03 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 51315 at http://wcbe.org Document Shows Influence Oil And Gas Drillers Have On State Lawmakers, Policy More Coyote Sightings In Central Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/more-coyote-sightings-central-ohio <p><span lang="EN">State wildlife officials say they're getting more calls about coyotes in suburban Columbus. Fri, 07 Feb 2014 17:22:06 +0000 Jim Letizia 50765 at http://wcbe.org Officials Say Ohio's Bobcat Population Rebounding http://wcbe.org/post/officials-say-ohios-bobcat-population-rebounding <p><span lang="EN">State wildlife officials are asking to remove the bobcat from Ohio's threatened species list. </span></p> Mon, 13 Jan 2014 23:50:11 +0000 Associated Press 49495 at http://wcbe.org Officials Say Ohio's Bobcat Population Rebounding Drillers Get More Oil And Gas From Ohio http://wcbe.org/post/drillers-get-more-oil-and-gas-ohio <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Ohio energy companies extracted more than twice as much oil and gas from the Utica shale during three months last year than all of 2012. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 11:53:47 +0000 Jim Letizia 49001 at http://wcbe.org Local Deerkeeper Reaches Deal With State http://wcbe.org/post/local-deerkeeper-reaches-deal-state <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">A Mount Vernon woman who has been fighting for months to keep some injured deer in her enclosed back yard says she has reached an agreement with the Ohio Department of Natural Resources. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 17:35:34 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 48376 at http://wcbe.org Shale Drilling Permits For 2013 Surpasses Expectations http://wcbe.org/post/shale-drilling-permits-2013-surpasses-expectations <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">2013 saw more than twice as many drilling permits issued for the Utica Shale than first expected. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 01:07:50 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 48193 at http://wcbe.org Inspector General Cites More Wildlife Officers http://wcbe.org/post/inspector-general-cites-more-wildlife-officers <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The state watchdog is referring 18 more Ohio wildlife officers for possible criminal prosecution after a follow-up investigation into illegal hunting while on duty uncovered additional cases. Sat, 14 Dec 2013 00:59:40 +0000 Mike Foley & Associated Press 48079 at http://wcbe.org State Trying To Increase Population Of Hellbender Salamanders http://wcbe.org/post/state-trying-increase-population-hellbender-salamanders <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">The state is trying to bring back the population of North America's largest amphibian. The hellbender salamander lives in streams hard hit by water pollution in the 1970s. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 12:56:37 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 47443 at http://wcbe.org Dredging At Grand Lake St. Marys Exceeds Goals http://wcbe.org/post/dredging-grand-lake-st-marys-exceeds-goals <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Natural resource officials say they have exceeded dredging goals this year for Ohio's largest inland, which has been plagued by toxic algae outbreaks. Sat, 23 Nov 2013 00:04:13 +0000 Associated Press 46994 at http://wcbe.org