Heroin http://wcbe.org en Addiction Treatment Funding Becoming Political Battleground http://wcbe.org/post/addiction-treatment-funding-becoming-political-battleground <p><span style="text-transform: none; background-color: rgb(255,255,255); text-indent: 0px; display: inline !important; font: 13px/19.2px verdana, sans-serif; white-space: normal; float: none; letter-spacing: normal; color: rgb(0,0,0); word-spacing: 0px; -webkit-text-stroke-width: 0px">Politics are ramping up over the state’s heroin overdose crisis. </span> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 20:42:45 +0000 Ohio Public Radio 59615 at http://wcbe.org Westerville Man Sentenced For Causing Overdose Death http://wcbe.org/post/westerville-man-sentenced-causing-overdose-death <p><span lang="EN">A Westerville man was sentenced Wednesday to four years in prison for giving a friend a deadly dose of heroin. Thu, 15 May 2014 11:03:35 +0000 Jim Letizia 56027 at http://wcbe.org Child Welfare Advocates Tout Study In Seeking More Funding http://wcbe.org/post/child-welfare-advocates-tout-study-seeking-more-funding <p>First-ever data produced by the state shows heroin use skyrocketing in child custody cases. Thu, 15 May 2014 10:46:12 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 56024 at http://wcbe.org Child Welfare Advocates Tout Study In Seeking More Funding Marion Police Arrest 22 Suspected Drug Dealers http://wcbe.org/post/marion-police-arrest-22-suspected-drug-dealers <p><span lang="EN"><span lang="EN">Marion police say they arrested 22 people yesterday on drug charges. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 12:27:05 +0000 Jim Letizia 52593 at http://wcbe.org State Launches Anti-Drug Initiative http://wcbe.org/post/state-launches-anti-drug-initiative <p><span lang="EN">Ohio Governor John Kasich says although the state has made progress in fighting prescription drug abuse, it remains a problem. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 17:31:21 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press & Ohio Public Radio 49314 at http://wcbe.org 39 People Charged In Circleville Drug Ring http://wcbe.org/post/39-people-charged-circleville-drug-ring <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Investigators in Circleville and Pickaway County and the Ohio Attorney General's office say 22 people face heroin trafficking charges, and another 17 suspects are charged with trafficking crack cocaine, painkillers or methamphetamine. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 11:56:59 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 48346 at http://wcbe.org Conference Aims To Tackle Heroin Abuse Problem http://wcbe.org/post/conference-aims-tackle-heroin-abuse-problem <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Hundreds of medical and law enforcement personnel attended a day-long summit Thursday in Cleveland on the area's rapidly growing heroin problem. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 11:42:13 +0000 Jim Letizia & Ohio Public Radio 46936 at http://wcbe.org Heroin Sweep Nets 32 Gang Members http://wcbe.org/post/heroin-sweep-nets-32-gang-members <p><font face="ARIAL" size="3"><font face="ARIAL" size="3">Thirty-two people have been charged in a federal and state sweep against suspected heroin traffickers in lakefront communities in northeast Ohio. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 10:46:01 +0000 Jim Letizia 45299 at http://wcbe.org Authorities Bust Heroin Ring http://wcbe.org/post/authorities-bust-heroin-ring <P><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL><FONT size=3 face=ARIAL>Federal and local law enforcement officers have arrested sixteen people in a heroin-trafficking ring operating in Columbus and its suburbs. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 11:04:25 +0000 Jim Letizia 37921 at http://wcbe.org Heroin Killed Missing Pataskala Woman http://wcbe.org/post/heroin-killed-missing-pataskala-woman <P><SPAN lang=EN>The Delaware County Coroner's office says a pregnant woman found dead in her </SPAN><SPAN lang=EN>car last month died of acute heroin intoxication. Tue, 11 Sep 2012 13:30:00 +0000 Jim Letizia & Associated Press 22457 at http://wcbe.org